We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a late arrival / early departure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Ingliston Rd | Edinburgh Airport, Edinburgh EH28 8AU, Scotland (Formerly Quality Hotel Edinburgh Airport)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #109 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect for a late arrival / early departure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel is very closely located from the Edinburgh airport, which makes it perfect for flights at inconvenient times. There is a shuttle that takes you to the hotel and back for 2,50 GBP (departs from bus stand 3). The rooms are very comfortable, with nice beds and a good bathroom. The breakfast is quite complete.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    27
    14
    9
    3
See reviews for
6
46
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tain, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Attended a conference here some years ago when it was a Quality Inn (complete misnomer)
Stayed there en route to Italy and found it much improved, Standard much the same as other HIEs but very handy for the terminal and excellent value. Possibly the closest of them all and so will use again. Staff very helpful and professional.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Previously stayed when it was the Quality Inn. It has had a big upgrade and is so much better. Friendly helpful receptionists, lovely rooms, a shower so powerful it made me believe I wasn't really getting up at 4am. I loved staying here, the comfort was all that was needed before an early morning flight. The shuttle to the airport was smooth and easy too.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We last stayed in this place about a year or so ago when it was in a real state being reorganised and building work was being carried out. This was again just a one night stop off before flying out on holiday, a sensible way of guaranteeing you are at the airport and nothing can hold you up. The impressiveness begins when you walk down the corridor to your room with that fresh carpet smell and a lush pile beneath your feet. The room was immaculate, as if they'd just taken the wrapping off it? Pristine double bed, very comfortable with pillows labled as soft or medium, a small recess with coat hangers, well you wouldn't need many for a brief stay and tea and coffee making facilities in another recess. I did notice there wasn't a hook anywhere, not that I needed it but I suppose it's one less thing to break off in time? Then we come to the bathroom which was breathtaking, a black tiled, shower cabinet with a shower control you didn't need a degree to operate and a shower head to feel like you were in a downpour. A beautiful, accessible, high sink area sat beneath a wide wall-to-wall mirror. A great size room, not too small or cavernous, just perfect. High quality shower gel and soap is supplied in dispensers not those icky little bottles they expect you to lift and then end up ditching because they stink? The bedroom has no view through the window but what would you expect in a one story airport hotel? All in all, a brilliant hotel room, and decent meals in the restaurant although the beer was at extortionate prices, but aren't they all in hotels?

Room Tip: Try and get the rooms that are located beyond the bar area. Quieter than at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The new management has definitely improved the place since its Quality Hotel days, but.... Is it really customer friendly to charge £2.50 a head for the "courtesy" bus to the airport? Perhaps the obligatory tour all the way round the Secure Airpark car park is supposed to add value for money? Get real and include the cost in the room rate, or even better, buy a bus of your own Mr HIE. While you are at it, hire a machine, buy 3 loads of sub base and fill in the gigantic potholes in the long stay car park

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIxEdiAirportGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Donald M

Thank you for your review.

Please note our Shuttle Bus cost is £2.50 for a return journey to/from Edinburgh Airport. We've had a charge for the shuttle bus for many years (5 or 6 years?) and it’s communicated on our IHG.com website (where you'll find always find the cheapest rates guaranteed). The nominal £2.50 cost (for a return journey) is due to increased Shuttle Bus parking cost allocated (and increased yearly) by the Airport.

Donald M, the holes in Long Term car park on the list to be filled in the next couple months. But don't forget we always have super valued airport Park Stay and Go packages available directly on our IHG.com website.

Thank you so much for the review and for the business.

Jason Dombrower
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have to say, this is a newly opened and renovated hotel not a new building. It was clean, and the menu was good. We were checked in (ground floor room) and kept noticing the room very warm and no air flow. My husband asked the desk clerk where the a/c unit was and this is when he was informed there are none, and to open the window. Well problem with this is that the hotel sits on the same property as a warehouse loading facility and the windows open ALL THE WAY OPEN, completely unsafe. So we had to open the window, turn on the bathroom fan to suck some air in the room as the 1st floor wasn't high enough to get any breeze. When we went to sleep we had to lock the window & back to no air at all. So for convenience to the hotel and shuttle it was prefect! But the no a/c issue was not great and made for a miserable night sleep with no air movement. And if you are driving there is not enough parking spots, it is VERY restricted parking available. Even the desk clerk was amazed that we found a spot when we arrived. We soon returned the rental car though and took shuttle back to hotel.

Room Tip: If you are going during the summer months make sure you stay above the 1st floor so you can utilize...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First visit as a Holiday In Express Hotel, the clue is in the name, so for dinner, bed, breakfast, flight, leave your car, this is the place. Friendly welcome from chatty reception staff, they no longer have the bar & large restaurant that the Quality Hotel had, these has been replaced by a smaller bar and restaurant area but still adequate. Room clean and modern sadly not much of a view we looked onto a loading bay type area, but your not staying in the area for the view, really comfy bed, modern bathroom. Food really good although not a large menu, for dinner, we were served by a really friendly waiter Chris, who was luvly and chatty, beakfast also adequate, pick up - return service to the airport excellent, also the 15 day parking deal is very handy, will return Thanks :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport

Address: 101 Ingliston Rd | Edinburgh Airport, Edinburgh EH28 8AU, Scotland (Formerly Quality Hotel Edinburgh Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport Hotel situated 1/2 mile from Edinburgh Int'l Airport with free WiFi and free breakfast with hot items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Edinburgh
Quality Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.