We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous! If you go to Edinburgh, stay here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh to your Saves list
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Surrey, UK
1 review
“Gorgeous! If you go to Edinburgh, stay here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

The hotel is beautifully decorated, situated just a taxi ride away from the centre of Edinburgh's clubs and bars. The staff were so accomodating, friendly and added several little touches that made our stay even more special and memorable for our bride-to-be. We had no troubles getting to and from the city centre, there were regular buses and taxi's were around £6.

Breakfast was delicious, the bar had a great atmosphere and served fantastic cocktails and we truly had a weekend to remember.

I will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    372
    186
    87
    21
See reviews for
74
545
27
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

Lovely hotel in Leith, an up and coming area of the city which is close enough to the centre to be viable for a visit. Nice old building, good location surrounded by docks, pubs and restaraunts. (Try the pub next to Fisher's on a Sunday afternoon for live jazz and a real fire.) Fantastic rooms with a massive, truly massive comfortable bed. Fantastic bistro food and good hearty breakfasts. Impeccable staff and service. Malmaison offers a treat, a little gem that punches well above it's price bracket. I felt a valued guest but not smothered in any way.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

We booked this hotel for our wedding night and had explained that we would be arriving late because of the wedding.

We had troulbe finding somewhere to park as the hotel does not have any parking. The receptionist was very rude and we were not shown to our room but left to find our own way. The lights in the room did not work and we had to wait before anyone came to fix them.

As we got into bed we discovered that the sheets were torn and covered in mould stains. The staff made little effort to put things right and were off hand and surly.

As we checked out next morning we made the hotel manager aware of the problem and he promised to phone us but never did. We contacted him and instead of apolagising he offered another night at the hotel, as if we would want to return. We had to contact the parent holiday to get redress.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

This hotel is Edinburgh's best kept secret! Just 5 minutes from the town centre this hotel is a real treat!
Service from check in to check out was faultless and we could not have asked for more!
The Brasserie has a great offer of locally sourced food, a fantastic winelist and swift service!
We wanted to go out into town, but did not feel the need for it and decided to stay in throughout our stay.
We are already planning another trip to Edinburgh and do not wish to stay anywhere else than in the Malmaison!
Great value for money and a fantastic product!
Amazing!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

I'd booked a DBB rate on Laterooms for Valentine's night for my bf & I back in December. Had a bit of a drama before even checking in!!!
I'd been left two voicemails regarding making a booking for the restaurant. The hotel was pretty hard to get in contact. I had called the number which I'd received the messages from, which turned out to be the Birmingham hotel. I asked the lady on the phone for the Edinburgh number, which she kindly gave me. I called up the hotel and a foreign sounding lady answered. I explained to her about the messages and asked to be transferred to reservations or whoever may be dealing with the dinner bookings. She transferred me to a guest's room! At 9am, the poor lady was in her bed and I had woken her. I apologised and hung up. A few days later I went on the website and on the contact us page sent a message basically explaining that I was struggling to get hold of anyone at the hotel and could they please contact me. I think I sent 3 messages, to no avail. I phoned up the hotel AGAIN and asked to be put through to the restaurant. The man was very polite and booked me in for 7pm. The week before checking in, I thought I'd query about upgrading my room. I emailed the hotel and very clearly stated my name to then be emailed back Good afternoon Lisa ( my name isn't Lisa!!!) to which I simply replied that wasn't my name and thankyou for emailing me back. No reply or apology. I work in a hotel myself and understand what it means to use someone's name correctly, it's basic manners! I understand when you are busy, names tend to slip your mind, but not when it's written in front of you. This carry on left me a bit anxious about my stay.

The hotel itself is lovely! Beautiful old building, right at the water. Nice old fashioned cobbled streets and surrounds. The girl on the desk was very polite and efficient, telling us all the info we needed and no more. We were running late so the quick check in was greatly appreciated. The room was lovely, a bit bigger than expected. Massive comfy bed with what appeared to be .. CLAW MARKS!! On the head board. Nice!!!

Dinner was okay, I feel everything was overpriced and there were too many staff members faffing about, didn't really create a very relaxed atmosphere - although that was probably myself feeling all harassed because we were running late! My main course was pan roasted chicken, which to my horror had a bright red vein in it. I asked the waiter if this was supposed to be like this and he checked with the chef. The chef cut the vein out and said it was fine to eat. But seeing the vein totally put me off my meal.

Overall I wasn't really impressed with the service prior to my stay, it's enough to lose business as I nearly cancelled my room. Definetly wouldn't stay again, which is a shame because it's such a lovely hotel and area.

My opinion obviously will differ from anyone else, but I just thought I'd share it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

This was a surprise 50th Birthday treat. The hotel was fine but very different when compared to Glasgow which we stayed in last year.
We were offered a choice of rooms on arrival which was nice and opted for the four poster bed !!! Lovely room but it certainly needed more lights when it got dark. Couldn't see a thing !!! Maybe that is to do with the age !!! We ate out at Fishers next door - fantastic meal - however when we returned to the hoel at 10.50pm the coffee machine in the bar had been switched off which was a bit disappointing. Overall quite pleased with the hotel. Not sure what it cost as I wasn't paying !!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

We've stayed in two other hotels in the Malmaison chain and have been very pleased but this one was very disappointing.

At check-in we were told the lift was out of order but no help was offered with our luggage up the stairs. The public areas are getting a bit tired and shabby.

Our room was uninspiring, with need of an update. There was insufficient usable hanging space in the wardrobe, the oldest telly I've seen for a while, no wi-fi and the bathroom was a bit tatty with brown water.

We had to get out of bed to make it properly on the first night. The next day we returned from Edinburgh to find our room still not cleaned at 4.45pm, just when we really wanted a lie down we had to sit in the bar for an hour. Though there are worse places to be!

The big Mal breakfast was lovely, but the restaurant staff tried to close breakfast 30 miutes early.

Leith has a good selection of drinking and eating establishments.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.