We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, stylish - worth every penny” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh to your Saves list
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfy, stylish - worth every penny”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2008

The Malmaison is really a lovely hotel, the staff were very accommodating and gave us lots of info about Edinburgh and offered to do things like holding on to our bags on check out and ordering us a cab home from the restaurant - things we hadn't even thought about until they suggested it.

It's not right in the centre and we took a cab in the evening and a bus in the daytime - about 10/15mins to the Christmas market in the centre of town.

A stone's throw from the hotel is a lovely little fish restaurant called the Ship on the Shore. A-ma-zing. Fantastic food, fabulous atmosphere, medium-to-pricey though. We had a meal for two (starter, main, no desert, one bottle of wine) and it was about 80 quid.

Also our room in the Malmaison was a joke - I don't know if we got upgraded or something, but with two full size doubles in there we could have slept an army. Cosy.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    371
    186
    87
    21
See reviews for
74
544
27
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

Having stayed at the Malmaison in Leeds a couple of years ago and dined at the Mal in Edinburgh about 5 years ago, I was looking forward to my stay here. However I was slightly disappointed in that Malmaison no longer seems to be anything special. My partner described it as the "Easyjet" of hotels; this was due to the high level of Mal branding throughout the hotel which grated a little and wasn't that aesthetically pleasing.

Another "Easyjet" feature was the hotel deducting a "guesstimate" of what I would spend during my stay from my card and then refunding me the difference the next day, something I haven't seen before.

Overall, the hotel is looking a bit tired and could do with a lick of paint and a general overhaul. The room was nice and clean, with excellent bathroom toiletries and a well stocked minibar. The staff are quite friendly and very professional.

We had a D B&B deal so we ate in the brasserie. Food was acceptable but nothing to write home about. Staff very friendly and efficient. Not sure if I would stay at the Malmaison again if I was looking for something "special"; would probably go to one of the smaller boutiques in the city centre such as Ricks or Tiger Lily's.

  • Liked — Views over the river Leith, modernish feel
  • Disliked — Too much of a chain hotel to be considered a "boutique" anymore, needed a lick of paint
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

Having stayed in the Malmaison in Liverpool, I expected a lot from this hotel and it did not disappoint!!! It was the usual high quality cleanliness and service that I had received before. The food was excellent as always and I would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2008

1st time at this Hotel, first impressions were ok, but after a while problems started, 1st with the shower, couldnt get any hot water, after wainting for a while water was boiling hot, and couldnt level the water temperature at all, aslo lots of cracks and stained walls, was then moved then to "better room", 1st impressions were ok but then once again this didnt seemed righ, everytime we had to shower, we needed 2 towels on the floor to keep the water that kept licking off the bath, and water was slighlty discolored, left the room early the next day, left the card on the door to the room to be cleaned, came back at around 4.30pm and the room wasnt even touched, housekeeping didn't vacum, didnt dust, very poor service, overall a quite disappointed stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERBY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

We stayed here for our honeymoon last week

We were upgraded free of charge to a suite which was brilliant, and all the staff were excellent.

The menu although limited was faultless and the service was fine.

The room service was excellent each day. Even though we left our rooms sometime after 2pm on some day's, we always returned to fresh sheets and towels and a replenished toiletries as well as a cleaner room.

The decor was loverly and modern and we heard no noise from either guests or elevators or heating elements.

We were not troubled at any point by staff wishing to leave our rooms as all needed was required was a "i want to be alone" sign outside. And they did exactly that. They leave your fresh towels and toiletries in a gift bag outside your room.

The price was high end but this was our honeymoon and we were aware of this, but I believe that we got what we paid for.

The breakfasts were very filling and I thought the dinners were value for money.

I would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Liked — Location, service, staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INVERNESS
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

I have to say dissapointing, all style over substance and I'm not overly convinced about the style. Much better hotels in Edinburgh for less money. It's almost like they are trying too hard, although that said the majority of the staff very friendly, relaxed and efficient.
The room was OK, like an upmarket Premier Lodge (or equivalent) except with extra cushions arranged bizzarrely on the bed and toiletries than you are encouraged to take home - you might as well because you've paid about £75 for some shower gel. The room was cold, dusty and had rubbish behind the curtains. No bath just a rather tired shower. Pillows that disappeared after lying on and the most incredible creaking floorboards in the corridor keeping us awake most of the night. Food was on the whole good, however the chef managed to turn 'mash' into baby food, tends to be the fashion I know, but c'mon.

Can't really recommend the hotel, we may have got unlucky.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — value for money
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2008

I thought I got a great deal through laterooms which included dinner, bed and breakfast and my husband and I were really looking forward to our overnight stay. We arrived by train from Manchester at around 7:15pm so were looking forward to tucking into our 3 course dinner soon after arrival. We made a reservation for 8:30pm and when we got to the restaurant dead on 8:30pm the unfriendly waitress who greeted us gave us the impression that they weren't ready for us and pressured us into having a drink in the bar first. There were no other guests in the bar but the service was slow and it took about 25 minutes to prepare our cocktails! - by that time, we were starving, travel weary and grumpy - not a good start to the romantic evening I had hoped for. Our 3 course dinner turned out to be set menu - this would have been fine but the the main course I chose was one of the worst meals I have ever had!! The lamb tasted boiled and had a metallic taste to it which suggests that it wasn't of the best cut. My husband doesn't eat cheese so had to ignore the set menu altogether and select something from the main menu which was very expensive. Once again this wouldn't have been a problem had the food been of a high quality and good value for money but it wasn't. Overall, we could have had a much better meal at a top restaurant somewhere else. Our room was satisfactory except for the extremely noisy extractor fan in the bathroom which sounded like a petrol lawnmower! I've stayed at the Mal Edinburgh 3 times now and each time is goes down more in my estimation - I think I'll give it a miss the next time I visit Edinburgh.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.