We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for the free Wifi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh to your Saves list
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Thanks for the free Wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Free WiFi and parking, excellent. The Leith is an alternate location to the city center. There plenty of excellent restaurants nearby. Ocean terminal is a short (7 minute) walk away.

The decor is funny. The corridors are painted very dark with minimal lighting, making them gloomy dark corridors. There is no view from the room. Only the front facing rooms will have a view. Room was quite big and spacious. Minimal in room amenities, but an iron was good.

The bathroom faucet was difficult to control and splashed a lot. This hotel gives you huge shower gel and conditioner bottles.

The staff was fine, nothing amazing nor bad.

Breakfast was included otherwise it is quite expensive for what was on offer. The service for eggs specially was very slow. The buffet choices were very limited.

To get to city center, take the #22 or #16 buses, a day ticket is 3.50 with unlimited use. The #22 takes you to straight to the Waverly and Princess street. Takes about 20+ minutes in traffic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    423
    206
    98
    26
See reviews for
79
611
27
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The lake District
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Edinburgh Malmaison hotel. We have stayed in a few of the Malmison hotels and actually got married in the Liverpool Mal in Feb. I'm afraid to say that so far this is my least favourite Mal. Check in was fine. Room was okay, great view but a little dated and it didn't really have a luxury feel to it. Evening meal was nice, made even better by fab service from a lovely waitress. Breakfast was just okay. The building from the outside is lovely. Location on a short bus ride from the City Centre. All in all just 'Okay'.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel looks stunning both at day and nighttime from the outside
The rooms are very modern, comfortable big bed and very spacious
The hotel has a great location, not in the hustle and bustle of Edinburgh city centre but not too far away from it to get to bars and restaurants
Hotel was very pricey so we ate and drank elsewhere
Great value for money :) would return

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend. We were pleasantly suprised on our arrival that for £25/night extra we'd been upgraded to a suite.

The room was fantastic - large and clean with great facilities including a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was large and modern with a great shower.

We were slightly worried about the hotels distance from town - it's a fair walk or £10 taxi ride. On account of the amount of food we ate during our stay we opted generally to walk! It's also a very short distance from the royal yacht Britannia, which is worth a visit!

I'd definitely visit the hotel if in town again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here for a friends 40th. We were eating at Martin Wishart, which is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Stayed in a suite which was nice and big, two TVs, only slight complaint is that the room was slightly dark.


Sunday Brunch is very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bebington and Bromborough, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I booked a one night stay for 2 people in a twin room, okay so it was bank holiday but £153 for one night bed and breakfast? The reason why I booked? I have stayed at this hotel in access of 30 plus times in the past. It has been around 3 years since I last stopped but I was VERY dissapointed! First of all a 3pm check in? That was never that late in the past! I had to beg to be allowed in our room at 2pm as we needed to be out for a meal in town at 3.30pm and needed to get ready!

None of the products in the bathroom you could take home, in the past their has always been a label saying you could, not this time and I was too scared to take them in case i got charged extra!

It just seems to have lost its luxury feel and I was really let down, I had a better night at a hotel in the Scottish Borders the night before for half the bloody price!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We decided to book this on a £99 deal that included set menu dinner and a free cocktail. On arrival staff were very pleasant and efficient and the room was pleasant, clean if maybe a little small. Went down for dinner, again staff lovely. I decided not to go for the set menu as I didn fancy what was on offer. The deal was that with the package you could go off the menu and I stead get a discount off the meal. the food was nice enough, well presented but no better than you can get from any number of good restaurants in leith. The bill for two of us with 3 courses wine and coffee was over £90. Do get me wrong, the food was excellent, just not £90 excellent. Cocktails were great too so really not much to fault apart from some of the prices.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#55 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.