We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely one not to miss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Botanic Garden

Royal Botanic Garden
The Garden | 20A Inverleith Row, Edinburgh EH3 5LR, Scotland (Stockbridge & Dean Village)
44-131-552-7171
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Royal Botanic Garden like an insider
Top Rated
$22*
and up
City Sightseeing Edinburgh Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #9 of 467 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Picnicking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: 70 acres of beautifully manicured lawns and flowers: a perfect outing for a sunny afternoon.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Definitely one not to miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a haven in the middle of a busy City. What a great place for some quality 'time out'. There is a restaurant upstairs if you need some food or a cuppa on arrival but otherwise there are a couple of coffee shops out in the grounds which I would recommend. The is access to motorised wheel chairs if required and well maintained paths throughout. Worth a trip to the information desk on arrival if you are interested on a guide to what shrubs or trees in the park but otherwise you will not need a guide to make your way around. They do have them but we found it nice to simply wonder. Not much to see in the winter but having been in the spring previously when we were blessed with colour.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,651
    638
    98
    17
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zonnebeke, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Super!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

When we visited the royal botanic garden it was rather cold, but we visited the green houses and it was warm in there. The flowers are really beautiful and the actual garden is also very nice. Make sure you bring some nuts for the squirrels, because they really like them.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great time to yourself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The gardens are a great place to relax and unwind. Such a big place, you can find that quiet space and be alone with your thoughts.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I went here with some friends from abroad, who were visiting Edinburgh, so I decided to take them along to our famous gardens. As my title states I have mixed feelings on the Botanics. On a positive note the actual gardens are quite wonderful, a lovely walk with an incredible selection of plants and beautiful bespoke seperate viewing areas. The information on all the flora and trees is also easily informative, so from this perspective it was a nice experience which we all enjoyed.

The negative is the cafe service. On first impressions it looked interesting, fresh and the decor in keeping with the plant life theme. However, the staff here are vacant, rude and unwelcoming. The food itself was average, but my main embarrassment was with the lacklustre approach from the staff. They made my party feel awkward, the dishes the food came in hadn't been washed properly, one of our drink glasses had a crack near completely around the top rim. And the staff just didn't seem interested.

Please Botanics, teach your staff how to smile and serve. It's such a lovely Botanics, such a shame your staff detract from this. An embarrassed local!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A walk in the park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Despite January being a bit on the cool side and non too many of the plants were in full dress, my wife and I had a very pleasant walk around followed by excellent coffee in the restaurant

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Botanic Garden also viewed

 

Been to Royal Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Botanic Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.