We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ongoing excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Prestonfield to your Saves list
Prestonfield
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scotland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Ongoing excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Another winter bargain db and b at Prestonfield. Sumptuous luxury in the bedroom. Wonderful welcome and attentive friendly service in the dining room before an excellent meal. Great wine list and some chateau d y quem with sweet. All good really. Breakfast seems excessive but you have to really.....and its very very good. .......again !

Room Tip: All excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    70
    25
    16
    11
See reviews for
91
387
11
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I am just about to book this fantastic hotel for the third time to celebrate my hubby's birthday, when it occurred to me I had not left a review re our last stay in December 2012. What can be said, suffice to say it is the most wonderfully indulgent and luxurious hotel, and the service is second to none! The staff cannot do enough for you, and it was nice that Ian the Manager, and the lovely girl at the reception desk (sorry.....cannot remember if it was Claire or Emma??.....but you know who you are!!), remembered us from our last visit a few months before. The food is wonderful and breakfast is huge and hearty and certainly sets you up for the day. It is our most favourite place to get away for a night, and remind ourselves what it was like before we became "mum &dad" !!!!! Looking forward to returning in March.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our 2 night stay here for my husand's birthday was perfect. The room was opulent yet cosy and relaxing and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept on! Staying here felt as though we were special guests at a friends house. We were made to feel welcome and relaxed from the word go. There was no "bowing and scrapping" as you might expect from a 5* hotel, which added to the relaxed, informal atmosphere but didn't take away from the luxury.

We ate in Rhubarb and which was fantastic, one of the best meals we've had.

We really didn't want to leave and that, for me, is a great indicator of how much we enjoyed our stay and how comfortable we felt here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Afternoon tea was lovely, just the right amount of savouries & cakes with, continuously topped-up tea pots served in a fabulous room by very friendly & helpful staff. Afterwards we were taken upstairs to have a cocktail by a roaring fire in another fabulous room and having had a laugh with some of the staff, free cocktails were offered - sadly had to turn down as driving - but it ended the visit on a welcoming note. I always enjoy my visits to this glamorous by friendly Edinburgh hotel in the country!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is an absolutely stunning hotel, but by far the best part is the service that they offer. From the moment we stepped through the door the staff were polite, courteous and attentive. I stayed for only one night but will endeveour to return as often as I can. Even when I returned home and realised I had left a pair of shoes behind the hotel were kind enough to post them back to me at no charge.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The 2 rooms I saw were equally beautiful, but room number 5 did have a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have just had a great relaxing time at the Prestonfield.The room was very luxurious and clean.As for the staff and I mean all the staff they could not do enough for us and nothing was too much trouble. If I had to make a nagative comment some of the food was not quite as good as we expected. But having said that we had a fab time, and would stay here again.Hopefully soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Linton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We visited Edinburgh's' oasis of opulence, as a party of 12 for lunch. Following an interesting tour of the public rooms, efficiently conducted by the charming kilted Gareth, we sat down to a lunch which did not disappoint in any way. The stars of the show were Pheasant Terrine starter and Ox & Veal main course, however none of of the dishes were a disappointment. The waiting staff were attentive without being intrusive. Already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prestonfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.