We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Prestonfield to your Saves list
Prestonfield
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Redondo Beach
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Recently spent 2 night at this property, early January. Loved it, the service, the grounds, decor, location, everything. Managed to get a very good price which helped. The decoration was outstanding, the attention to detail throughout the property was first class.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    77
    28
    16
    12
See reviews for
103
416
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, Scotland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I was treated to afternoon tea here, and everything about the experience was stunning. The peacocks strutting about, (with two of them up a tree!) the very opulent furnishings, the superb service, and the really wonderful afternoon tea. The scones were fantastic but - to be fair - so was everything else. We enjoyed it so much, we are returning next month to do it all again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briercliffe
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Firstly I have to say how impressive this hotel is right from the moment you park up and see the peacocks walking around the grounds, and then upon entering the hotel itself is amazing. The rooms, hallways and lounges have been designed and furnished beautifully. From having a drink in the lounges to a full on 3 course meal in the restaurant you really notice and feel the attention to detail.

The food is divine and tasty with plenty of choice.

Our room (no.3) was wonderfully decorated, and again all the little finishing touches make a real difference (fresh homemade cookies & chocs). We took our dog and she was made most welcome by all.

Only feedback I would provide is:

1) change the mattresses! They are incredibly hard and quite uncomfortable. Would also have liked to have had a duvet when staying in a 5 star boutique hotel

2) some more exciting cocktails on your menu please - really nothing too adventurous presently

3) on both mornings at breakfast staff did not clear our cooked breakfast plates. In the end we left to read our papers in our room as this is a pet hate of mine, don't like dirty plates left in front of me

Having said the. Above I would stay here again in a heart beat as it truly is a magnificent hotel where the staff are friendly and very helpful.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

A most beautiful hotel, with exquisite furnishings, I would have happily awarded a 5 but the wifi signal didn't make it into the room (number 17) and there was nowhere to sit near a mirror and a socket to dry my hair, not the end of the world, but a bit of a pain, ... the bathroom was very well lit although a little 'ordinary' in contrast with the amazingly furnished room. Service and staff were excellent and attentive and breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Hogmanay ball at Prestonfield was wonderful. The setting was gorgeous, the food delicious and the service impeccable.

After a few rather disappointing Hogmanay experiences in Edinburgh this was a perfect way to see in the New Year. Being welcomed by a piper before dancing the night away to music from a very good ceilidh band made this a celebration to remember.

I look forward to returning to the beautiful Prestonfield Hotel next New Year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
212 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Had an absolutely amazing start to 2013 in the Stables at Prestonfield. The atmosphere was fantastic the place was beautifully decorated and entertainment was great. Nowhere in Edinburgh can do a function like this to this standard. Everything seemed to go like clockwork. The food was very good and was served beautifully by well trained staff. Well done Prestonfield and thank you for a great night

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have been meaning to write a review for ages on the prestonfield. I have visited her for lunch and dinner numerous times. Its up there with the best in edinburgh for eating out, only had one place come close and that was 21212, but they are completely different types of venues. The grounds and decor are simply stunning. I actually got engaged here too as my fiance and I had our first date here so its special for us. Would love to stay over and get the full experience. The afternoon tea is also amazing, such special little creations every time. A great way to spend a lazy sunday afternoon sitting on the balcony in the summer months.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 146 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 1,427 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#6 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 2,423 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#5 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#8 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prestonfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.