We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Prestonfield to your Saves list
Prestonfield
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

had a celabration meal here with friends .it was very good and we all enjoyed our time here.we thought the prices were a little bit over the top but other than that it was pretty good. I do not think that would stop me from going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    72
    26
    16
    11
See reviews for
95
403
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We recently held our Wedding at Prestonfield and from the outset I cannot fault the service we had which was both friendly and professional - the perfect balance. I wanted to particularly mention, events co-ordinator Ayesha who made all our plans run so smoothly and helped to make our special day so stress free. Nothing was ever too much trouble. All staff were charming and gave the impression that they loved to work there. Prestonfield is a fantastic mix of opulent luxury, combined with an old world feel. It was very hard to leave and we are both looking forward so much to returning and spending an overnight stay in one of the beautiful bedrooms in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just checked out from this fabulous hotel. The Prestonfield ticks all the boxes for beautifully decorated, charming country hotel within a few minuets drive from the centre of Edinburgh. The service is impeccable with the most friendly and attentive staff. The hotel is charming with beautifully well appointed rooms and wonderful common areas where you can loose yourself in comfortable lounge areas. The grounds are lovely with sheep, cows and peacocks roaming around and the imposing Arthur's Seat as a backdrop.
Our room was on the first floor at the corner of the house, large and sumptuous, with all the amenities expected.
Breakfast is wonderful and generous, with a superb buffet followed by a choice of hot dishes.

The only slight let down was dinner at the Rhubarb restaurant, but I believe his was due to functions being held around the hotel and the fact that they were fully booked. Food was not cooked as ordered and one of our parties meet was questionable as to whether it should have been served. However I would give the restaurant a second chance on a future visit. Most of our food was very good.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We cannot rate this hotel and customer service high enough!! Special thanks too to Ayesha, a true star!
Sumptious furnishings food, wine and beautiful touches in the room, fruit and chocolate.
Dinner in Rhubarb was amazing and breakfast, also in Rhubarb, was incredible!
Couldn't ask for more at all and look forward to returning!
Don't hestiate - book this place!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes,Fife,Scotland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We took advantage of a special offer emailed to us as former guests and we were delighted to return as it marked a special occasion for my wife. When you arrive the 5 star service starts from the moment the door is opened for you by the porter and your bags carried before being led through the hallway, passing the magnificent Rhubarb restaurant on your way to reception. We didn’t need the tour as we had stayed before. We were greeted by the delightful Emma at reception who instructed the porter to take our bags to the ‘Churchill’ Emma then explained we had a free upgrade to the ‘Winston Churchill Suite’ to mark the occasion!. A really nice and much appreciated gesture. The suite is magnificent, both the bedroom and livingroom have velvet maroon coloured walls adorned with numerous military artefacts from photos, cap badges, medals etc as well as memorabilia relating to Winston Churchill. The livingroom has a large comfortable day bed facing the unit which houses the large TV and mini bar. The bedroom features a large extremely comfortable bed facing the same ornate wooden unit containing the large TV. Both rooms have their own ensuite bathrooms.

We ate in the Rhubarb restaurant at night and the food was simply lovely, well presented and served efficiently. All staff members were very polite and unobtrusive. It was too cold to go and sit on the balcony on this visit but we enjoyed a drink in luxurious surroundings before retiring again to our lovely suite.

Breakfast was again very nice and plentiful.

We enjoyed our stay and thanks again Emma, a very professional girl and an asset to Prestonfield, for our upgrade.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Wonderful helpful charming staff - every single person I passed in the corridor, reception staff, waiters, housekeeping, everyone was smiley, chatty but not in an overpowering way. Room sumptious, fabulous furnishings, nice touches with chocolates, fruit & home-made biscuits in the room. Breakfast an absolute joy. Couldn't recommend highly enough

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

went to prestonfield sometime in mid june this year. it was one of our honeymoon destinations / stopovers :) and by far this has been one of the best hotels i've stayed in. loved and cherished ever single moment there. and yes also celebrated my hubby's birthday there at the "rhubarb restaurant" with food to die for :) :) the room was spacious, clean and well decorated... in fact the decor and the interiors of the entire hotel was out-of-this world. and the home-made cookies given in the rooms were "the best" i have ever had... baked to perfection. we are definitely coming back...:)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prestonfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.