We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay at this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 High St. | The Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1TH, Scotland (Cowgate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #41 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“great stay at this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2006

as the kids grow older, and we travel more and more, to us there are three factors to rating a hotel: cleanliness, location and how they deal with problems, and on all 3 factors this hotel rated 10 / 10.

as per previous reviews, this hotel is brilliantly located, although because of our late arrival and early departure we didn't get much chance to take advantage of this.

the hotel is spotlessly clean: bedding was crisp and fresh, and the bathroom was lovely and well supplied with toileteries.

the problems the hotel dealt with for us so admirably were: on arrival, room allocation for us and our friends was for rooms well apart - we wanted to be near each other, and, despite the hotel apparently being very full, the receptionist pleasantly re-allocated us to rooms next door to each other. perfect.

unfortunately, despite being on a non-smoking floor, the previous occupant of our room had obviously been a 40 a day man, because despite the best efforts of the house keeping staff to mask the odour, the room smelt like a vast stale ashtray. absolutely awful.

back down to reception, and the same receptionist together with the duty manager were apologetic and exemplary in finding another suitable room on the same floor.

we had a brief drink and some snacks in the bar; nice but pricey, but no surprise there.

parking is free in the hotel's own car park; the reception will validate your ticket.

all in all, an outstanding hotel; its outrageous and certainly not the fault of the hotel if guests smoke in non-smoking rooms. it would be nice if they could find the culprit and charge him for an intensive clean of the room.

  • Liked — cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — get free car parking by getting your ticket validated
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,017
    859
    279
    94
    41
See reviews for
357
1,029
89
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2006

What a great location, right on the Royal Mile and an easy enough walk from the rail station, provided you have not too much luggage. The hotel has an old style façade that melds in well with the surrounding buildings but inside it is thoroughly modern. The rooms are spacious and well equipped but no flat screen TV! That would be a bonus. Importantly the bed was very comfortable and we had a sound sleep. In fact, there is room for more than two if that’s your fancy. We had an extra bed put in for our 3 year old who, as usual, found her way into ours but you’d not have known she was there. The standard of cleanliness was good and the quality of the sheets and towels is high and there is a selection of soaps and stuff. Located as it is in such a busy area you might expect street noise but the windows are sound proofed and despite the fringe festival being in full swing below us we heard nothing. The air-conditioning worked well and there is a trouser press and iron with board though this is small. The lifts make an audio announcement “doors opening” and “doors closing” which, should you have a room near the lift well, could prove irritating.

We didn’t eat in the hotel as there is a plethora of interesting places in easy walking distance, but the restaurant looks fine and the menu reasonable. Although we travelled by train some advice on car parking; I overheard a guest talking to customer services about car parking and I understand that the hotel has an arrangement with a local car park, so I should enquire with the hotel about the where and how. The staff were courteous and efficient and mostly not Scottish. But it is the location that sold it to me. We were lucky to catch a piece of the action from the fringe festival street entertainers who were great and indeed some are very talented. From the hotel you can step right into the heart of the Old Town, with all the tartan, haggis and American tourists you can manage. Sneak a peek down some of the alleys in the area, though avoid those that smell of urine and have resident drug addicts, who, despite the police presence, still cause an unsightly blemish on an otherwise attractive and vibrant place. The Radisson will certainly be on our list of places to stay when next we visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2006

I and my family stayed at the Radisson SAS in Edinburgh for 2 nights in July 2006. The Radisson is an above average hotel that is very well situated for sightseeing in the Old Town and the Royal Mile.It looks like an old building, but the medieval look is only a facade on a new building--an effect that looks very cool. We booked a Junior Suite that was very spacious. The beds were excellent. The bath was topnotch. We had a great view of the Royal Mile from our windows. Breakfast was included and it was very complete. Also, if you have a car, the hotel has a large indoor car park that is conveniently connected to the hotel--a rarity based on our 2-week jaunt through Ireland and Scotland. Likewise, the hotel had excellent (and free!) WIFI in the rooms. The staff was very helpful, efficient and friendly. When we checked in, there was no bellman about, so the desk clerk that checked me in went out to our car with a luggage cart and unloaded the luggage himself! Very unusual and very welcome. When we return to Edinburgh, we will defintely stop at the Radisson again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — It was all good.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

I stay in Edinburgh on business occasionally and have settled on this hotel as a favourite. I've stayed here about ten times so far and never had any problems. Rooms are spacious and spotless, location is great. Can't really comment on value for money but I think this is a good choice for business travellers, and probably hard to beat for tourists due to the location. It really is right in the middle of everything. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2006

The Radisson is situated on the Royal Mile, close to the train station (with express buses to the airport), the Castle etc - the location is difficult to beat. Our room had been fairly recently refurbished and was spacious, stylish and immaculately clean. We had a great time in the new bar/restaurant, where the service was friendly and helpful. Really good value and recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2006

If you are looking for comfort and convenience and a reasonable rate, you cannot do better than this hotel, which is located right in the middle of the Royal Mile in the heart of the old town. Our room was very spacious for our family of four, fully modern and air-conditioned. They have a parking garage located below the hotel, although this can be difficult to find. The staff was very helpful, although not particularly knowledgeable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2006

We recently stayed at this hotel with our two small children, and it was a very pleasant experience. Our suite was very spacious and overlooked the Royal Mile. You could easily walk to the train station, shops, restaurants, etc. Customer Service was excellent! Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh

Address: 80 High St. | The Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1TH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Cowgate , Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Radisson Edinburgh
Edinburgh Radisson
Radisson Hotel Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.