We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 High St. | The Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1TH, Scotland (Cowgate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #42 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Great location plenty bars and restaurants around. Breakfast was excellent. Only fault I could say was the carpet in the room looked rather thread bare in parts even though we were upgraded to Business Class rest of room was fine and clean, bed very comfortable . Staff at this hotel were very nice and pleasant bar staff friendly as well. Enjoyed my overnight stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HA_Edinburgh, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Sandra

Thanks for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed breakfast and that the team looked after you.

Kind Regards
Graeme Gibson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    863
    284
    94
    41
See reviews for
359
1,036
91
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Chose this hotel due to its central location and the fact it has parking (at a price -but reasonable by Edinburgh standards). Not disappointed as the hotel was spotless with spacious room overlooking the royal mile. Lovely large comfortable bed with nice soft pillows. Good soundproofing to window so no noise overnight. The staff were excellent and ever so friendly. Breakfast was very expensive but the choice on offer was certainly very good, enough to keep you going most of the day. Minor niggle is limitations of leisure facility - smallish pool (with swimming lesson going on) and no shared sauna so my wife and I couldn't go together and chat. other minor niggle no biscuit in room to have with the tea/coffee. Staff helpful with parking and said we could leave the car and do a bit exploring after check out. Very handy for the mile/ castle/ Grassmarket/ museum and the theatre (purpose of our visit).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HA_Edinburgh, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Gordilindsay

Thanks for staying with us and submitting your review.
There should have been a biscuit in your room – for this I apologise.

Kind Regards
Graeme Gibson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. The hotel staff was so friendly and accommodating with everything we asked of them. The room was most excellent as well. I travel extensively and was very pleased. I will definitely stay here on my next trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HA_Edinburgh, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Cheryl

What more could we ask for – delighted you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh

Kind Regards
Graeme Gibson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We booked into this hotel for a weekend visit. We had a noisy neighbour in our first Rome but the hotel could not have been more helpful in sorting this out and moving our room.
The staff were the most friendly I have experienced in a UK hotel and went out of their way to make you feel special.
The location is ideal for public transport and sight seeing and the hotel car park is a bonus although I would caution against driving in Edinburgh during the trams transition. Far better to let the train take the strain.
The only very minor criticism is that the breakfast buffet hot plates need turned up a bit but that is being very picky

Room Tip: Upgrade to business class for the view over Arthur's Seat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HA_Edinburgh, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thanks for the review – great that the team looked after you. We are working on the temperature at breakfast.


Kind Regards
Graeme Gibson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tingwall, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I stayed in a twin room with my elderly Mother for one night. We were looking forward to a special treat in a luxury hotel (given the star rating and the price). We were disappointed. Our standard twin room was tiny, and the decor was dowdy. The shower was over the bath, which was difficult for my mother to access, and there was no bathmat in the slippery bath. There was no soap and no folder of hotel information in our room. The cooked breakfast buffet was adequate but not that great. On the plus side the staff were very friendly, the beds were comfy, and the location on the Royal Mile is great. The hotel we stayed in on the following night was so much nicer in every way but cost less than half the price of the Radisson Blu. I'm afraid I won't be going back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HA_Edinburgh, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Margaretgear

I am sorry we did not meet your or your mother’s expectations during your stay with us, if you contact me I would be delighted to discuss your stay with you. I can be contacted at Graeme.gibson@radissonblu.com

Kind Regards
Graeme Gibson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This hotel is well situated for central Edinburgh, on the Royal Mile in reach of all main attractions.
The hotel staff were excellent and the room was of the standard you would expect from a hotel chain of this standard. The only comment would be about breakfast, the room was very full and this was only the end of February, I can imagine during festival time it being pretty hectic.
Price was what you would expect to pay for Edinburgh City centre, would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HA_Edinburgh, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Tom

Thanks for the review – we do all we can to ensure that breakfast is served as quickly as possible during peak periods

Kind Regards
Graeme Gibson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This hotel could not have a better location right on the Royal Mile. I think it is basically a business hotel and caters to large groups. I often hold business meetings here because they have a great facility and it's right up the hill from the train station, but this was the first time I have stayed here. The rooms are quite basic and mine could have used a freshen up. All of the furniture was scuffed, the carpet was rippled and lamps leaned. The room in general was pretty dark, which was good for sleeping, but made for a difficult morning - was a bit frightened when I saw how I had painted my face when I entered the elevator, which has good lighting. Since I often stay in this area, I know you can get deals at nicer hotel for roughly the same price, so it is price a bit above the amenities. The staff are excellent and go out of their way to accommodate you.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a recently refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HA_Edinburgh, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Thatchersbusicuit
Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review of the hotel. I am pleased to see that the team looked after you during your stay and when you meet here at the hotel. Please do contact me to discuss your bedroom. I can be contacted at Graeme.gibson@radissonblu.com
Kind Regards
Graeme Gibson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh

Address: 80 High St. | The Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1TH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Cowgate , Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#39 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Rezidor, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Radisson Edinburgh
Edinburgh Radisson
Radisson Hotel Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.