We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 High St. | The Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1TH, Scotland (Cowgate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed recently some ten+ years after previous stay under different ownership. What a disappointment...corridors were freezing cold (outside temps were -1C and worse) because of poor fitting sash windows through which a freezing gale blew; room and en-suite was somewhat tatty and in need of refurbishment as were most of the common areas; and room literature made no reference to the WiFi/ internet connection advising to go to central computer area for connection when there was a (subsequently- found) notice of hotel-wide WiFi unobtrusively displayed in the lobby.Room heating lacked and visible control and was a little noisy.

On the plus side the rooms and facilities were clean and beds extremely comfortable; room rates were quite reasonable for a "top hotel" but then we had only a side view of adjacent buildings; the hotel is well positioned with underground parking (extra) making it fine for a one or two night stay; check-in/out was efficient and friendly; bar was busy and lively.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,809 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    791
    687
    219
    79
    33
See reviews for
252
816
73
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Centrally located on the Royal Mile, less than 10 minutes walk from Edinburgh Waverley railway station and with car parking adjacent and accessible from the hotel, one couldn't ask to be nearer the action than at this hotel. All the staff I encountered were friendly, professional and efficient. The reception, lounge and bar areas are contemporary, bright and fresh. The bedroom and bathroom were both a good size and the in-room facilities good, however the room was super warm and even turning down the air con didn't seem to help. We weren't able to open the window to cool the room down, and I personally prefer to sleep with a window open. The lighting scheme in the room wasn't great either with quite a few dark spots, and I found it quite difficult to read in the room. I think a ceiling light or two would help. I didn't see any stairs to access the floors the rooms were on, and used the lifts, which were often slow to turn up, particularly at peak times. One of the 3 was out of order for the duration of our 4 day stay which didn't help matters. But overall, there was more right with this hotel than wrong, and I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Excellent welcome by the check-in team. I was very early and my room wasn't ready (I expected that) but they let me check in and leave my luggage while I went about my business. Very helpful indeed. When I returned I found I had got an upgrade to a suite, which was beyond all expectations! Very, very sumptuous indeed! They did this without making any fuss - terrific! The room overlooked the High Street and I expected a lot of noise from late-night revellers around the pubs opposite but the double glazing is excellent and although I could see that they were making a noise, I couldn't here a thing! Those view were much more entertaining that one of the large-screen TVs that were available. The food in the "Itchycoo" bar was excellent and not overpriced (although their notion of tapas is a bit strange - you don't need more than two!!) The breakfast buffet was simply first class! I was staying here on business, but would have been very happy to pay myself to stay here, and probably will.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

this was a treat for my husband's birthday travelling with daughter son in law and two grandsons hotel perfect location to get to anywhere easily. rooms were good, ours had a fab view looking at arthurs seat and the firth of forth beyond . could not close window so room drafty but maintenance man arrived within minutes and solved the problem, rest of family had a huge family room opposite which suited them very well. breakfast was lovely recommend the porridge may have to wait for table at busy times but not for long and the choice of food was very good didnt eat here other than breakfast but the Mitre opposite has great food As daughter had mentioned special birthday had a bottle of bubbly and juices for grandsons delieved to room with birthday card a very nice touch All members of staff vety friendly and efficient

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Excellent 3 night stay in the Radisson. Very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely room with tea and coffee facilities. Delicious and wide range of breakfast, anything from the usual bacon and eggs to smoked salmon and haggis if you like !
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

high just been to edinburgh with my wife to celebrate our anniversary.
5th time we,ve stayed in edinburgh over the past few years.
the radisson blu is a nice hotel quite stylish and modern and also good price wise.it is in the old side of the city royal mile so very close to shops and bars etc..paid for room only so cant comment on breakfast but our room 537 was smart , a fair size and clean. i have only 2 negatives for the hotel firstly a small one when checking under the bed for my sock i found a sock obviously from previous visitors so not as clean as first thought
secondly the noise outside the room from local bars was very loud and lasted well past 3oclock,
then between 6&7 oclock the bottle bins were emptied so not the best sleep.
all in all this is a smart hotel, great service a great location (APART FROM NOISE) and for this reason only i wouldn,t go back which is a huge shame..

Room Tip: if staying try to make sure not facing side street running off main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh

Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh Hotel
Radisson Edinburgh
Edinburgh Radisson
Radisson Hotel Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh Scotland
Address: 80 High St. | The Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1TH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Cowgate , Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Otel, Venere, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.