We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cloud-like pillows” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 High St. | The Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1TH, Scotland (Cowgate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Diss
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Cloud-like pillows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel stands majestically on the Royal Mile and has all the trappings of what you'd expect from a Radisson Blu. The one thing that stood out by a mile were the pillows. They may's well have been made of cloud they were that soft! They were the most comfortable pillows we've ever experienced.

Nice staff and large rooms. Oh and did I mention their feather & down pillows?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    815
    264
    93
    40
See reviews for
336
983
85
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Loved this hotel. I stayed here with my husband in first week of Jan -13. We stayed here for 2 nights and completely enjoyed our stay. the rooms are quipped with all the basic amenities that you would expect from a 5 Star hotel. All the staff were cheerful and friendly. The breakfast was a buffet with loads of variety to choose from. We managed to spend sometime in pool as well.
The best part of the hotel is that it is just in the middle of The Royal Mile.. so the surroundings are always buzzing. You get all kinds of cuisine in close vicinity with loads of options to choose from. Will defnitely go back :)

Room Tip: Ask for rooms which are Royal Mile facing if you like the liveliness of the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed here with my sister for her 3oth birthday. I contacted the hotel prior to my stay to ask to borrow a few items including a cake stand as I planned to have our other sisters visit and set up an 'afternoon tea' for us to share. these were delivered to my room literally 5 minutes after I checked in- we were both very impressed.

Rachel checked us in and she could not have been nicer. She was professsional throughout and offered all information on the hotel services and worthwhile sites in the city, including showing us a map.

On entering the room I was struck by its clenaliness nad the beautiful view we had of mountains. We checked out the pool and saua and thoroughly enjoyed whiling away our afternoon down there- all very high quality. The team were fine with the fact that I'd aranged for a beautician to attend the room and give us all facials as a birthday treat.

We were determined to order one of the room upgrades- the choclate fountain, but after our tea we were far too full. What a brilliant idea though!

parking was secure and check out efficent. Breakfast was out of this world, so much more than your normal hotel buffet with plenty of 'to order' options, incuding pancakes which I have to say were delciious. Itchycoo is a lovely bar, although we only had one drink here. We barely elft the hotel- we didn't need to. Overall, a first class to stay. Thanks to the team for everything :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Loved this hotel and I hope to stay again.

Located not far from the train station. However please note that if you are not very mobile or have a lot of of luggage, and depending on the route you take you could end up walking up a steep hill. However like I said it is close to the train station so a taxi should be fairly cheap.

I was upgraded to a business suite for free and I was more than happy with the room. It contained the following:

High quality toiletries
Good Quality Coffee machine
Slippers
Dressing gown
Trouser press
Iron
Fridge
Safe
Tea,biscuits and fudge
Plenty of magazines
A good bed
TV with freeview
Desk
Two leisure chairs.

The room was very spacious, had blackout curtains, and very good double glazing.

Every single member of staff from reception, to cleaners,to waiters were extremely friendly.

Breakfast was a buffet style and and plenty of variety and of good quality.

Unfortunately did not have the chance to use the leisured facilities, bar or get an evening meal.

Very very happy with my stay.

Room Tip: If walking from the train station plan your route carefully to avoid a steep walk.....or get a taxi
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

just stayed here as husband booked a break away for my birthday. was very impressed. the room was large with a huge bed and lovely covers/pillows etc (may be weird but was nice to sink into them, usually am disappointed with the quality at hotels). nice large bathroom with bath, very clean all over. husband had asked for a good view which we definitely got :) The breakfast was lovely, staff in the restaurant being friendly and efficient. location's great with nice restaurants (we loved Prezzo) and shops close by.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

After trying may hotels In the city one nights stay at this hotel has decided where I will stay in future. Good clean hotel with matching service. One of the few hotels in the city with a car park of its own actually next to the hotel. Not cheap parking but very convenient.

Breakfast in the hotel was excellent. Cannot comment on dinner as I ate at one of the many superb restaurants within easy walking distance. Good hotel well located for business or sightseeing in Edinburgh. The only negative would be that certain parts of the hotel get very crowded during the day if there are any business groups holding meetings. I had great problems fighting my way to the lifts during the coffee break for such a group.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife & I travelled to Edinburgh between Christmas and New Year and stayed at the Radisson for 2 nights. The location is brilliant, being very central and on the Royal Mile. However despite this we didn't experience any problem with noise. Our room (a business class) had amazing views of Arthur's seat and was very comfortable. Huge bed with a nice added extra of a pillow menu. Also coffee machine and super bathroom with lovely soap, shampoo etc. Breakfast is superb with so many options (of which my husband managed to try most of!) and didn't feel too busy or under pressure so were able to enjoy a leisurely meal. The staff deserve a special mention as everyone we dealt with were friendly and very professional - they really can't do enough for you to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible. Would definitely return and highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh

Address: 80 High St. | The Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1TH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Cowgate , Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#39 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Radisson Edinburgh
Edinburgh Radisson
Radisson Hotel Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.