We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Britannia Way, Ocean Drive | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ , Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #80 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“May 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Once again have just stayed. 5 nights at one of the best staffed hotels I have ever stayed in, friendly helpful staff who are all so natural in their surroundings, this has been proven as they have just been presented a cased pennant display by the ex-Royal Yachtsmen who stay there regularly when they attend the Royal Yacht Britannia . Excellent free breakfast included.. Bus services are second to none from directly outside the hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper then go for a room on the back away from the main door area as this can g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    358
    137
    30
    7
See reviews for
131
331
20
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night with work, the hotel is pretty standard for the chain, basic but clean, which is fine, it is in a good location next to the ocean terminal.

However the sound insulation was terrible, I was on the ground floor and when people were walking past talking it sounded like they we in the room itself, there were dogs barking in another room nearby.

I've stayed in other holiday Inn hotels and it has never been this bad.

I also think the price was rather expensive for the standard.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear James C,
Thank you reviewing your recent stay with us.
Please accept my apologies for the level of noise that you experienced during your stay.
I shall make a note on your guest history to ensure that you are not allocated a ground floor room should you visit the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed there recently with two children. room was VERY small and outdated (we got the family room). Breakfast was OK, staff was trying to help. Location is OK as well, not central but if you have a car it is fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear tfu555,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to hear that you found your room to be small. Our family rooms consist of a double bed and a double sofa bed. Our rooms are of a standard size for Holiday Inn Express in the UK but admittedly there is not a lot of space left for luggage if you are stopping here as part of a longer trip. To help with this we do have a luggage room where you can store luggage that is not required during your stay with us.

Thank you once again for your review.

Regards,
Fiona
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

we have stayed here twice now and it is still a lovely hotel very clean and welcoming. The hotel is situated in leith about a 20 min bus trip to the centre of edinburgh which we used frequenlty, the ocean terminal shopping centre is a 5 min waalk and is really nice and plenty of shops.

Our room was lovely and clean the sofa bed wasnt made up but they did let us check in really early so we didnt ind but when we returend later that day it was made up and extra towels so that was great.

It was quite busy when we stayed one moring at breakfast there wasnt enough tables as people hadnt cleared them and left them covered in dishes and food there was an tour group in at the time who i must say were extremlt rude pushing past my daughter who is 4 to get a banana but a member of staff got her a new 1 and made sure she was ok so thank you, they opened up the meeting room for people to have breakfast so at least we had a seat i didnt catch the managers name but he had glasses so thank you. The breakfast was ok would have liked to see more toasters or ones that work better we always got bread toasted better on one side n not on the other but apart from that there was a great variety good if you have children who like to have a bit of everythin for breakfast.

We would def stay here again and will be returin next may again so we will see you then

Many thanks to all the staff

Room Tip: away from the lifts much less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirriemuir
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel. At first glance this location might seem a little odd ( especially if you are a tourist) but the bus service to central Edinburgh is absolutely superb. Once again if you are a tourist you may be a little unsure of travelling on "public transport" but in Edinburgh it's safe, efficient and convenient. There's almost a conveyor belt of number 22 buses which go directly to Princes St, also you have the No. 35 which goes to and from Edinburgh airport. the bus stop is right on the doorstep of the hotel.
When we checked in, the first room we were allocated was unappealing. The room itself was fine BUT It was situated right next to the front door, and there was a "smoker's bench" very close. I don't personally smoke cigarettes and shout a lot of rubbish at 2 am but plenty of people DO ( especially at weekends) so we asked for a room change "as a precaution" and this was handled courteously and efficiently.
I found the staff to be pleasant and helpful.
For those unfamiliar with Leith, there are quiet a few good restaurants within a reasonable distance, including a really good Indian called Mithas. And of course you have the "Ocean terminal" shopping mall on your doorstep.
I

Room Tip: Proximity to the hotel entrance at weekends might not be such a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in May 2013. At first we thought it was too far out of the city centre but the bus service to and from the city is terrific. Several busses, especially the number 22 stops outside of the hotel. The Ocean Terminal mall is next door and has restaurants, shops and bus connections even for out of city tours.
The breakfast is complimentary and very good. It is a buffet and not "a la carte" quality so it is typical Holiday Inn food. Good but not high end.
Do not pay to use the lobby Internet computer because it is slow, slow, slow. No Internet in the rooms but it is available free of charge in the lobby.
The staff were wonderful, service excellent and overall an excellent stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront whilst on business in Edinburgh.
The hotel could do with a little TLC, the furniture in the bedroom has seen better days and the bathroom was a bit shabby.
The room looked out to the rear of the hotel, on the 4th floor, the window sound insulation was pretty poor and the air con unit made random loud noises even when switched off.
Room to room sound insulation was also poor, slept with ear plugs to drown out the noise.
At least there was free parking and was walking distance to the shopping centre for something to eat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Sunseekers-TRIP,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

Address: Britannia Way, Ocean Drive | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ , Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront offering free breakfast, free Wifi, air conditioning, great value rates, free parking (see Parking Information below) & a superb location for exploring this charming and fascinating city. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront is located next to Ocean Terminal, Edinburgh's newest leisure and shopping destination, the Scottish Executive, the Royal Yacht Britannia & close to all major business areas. The old port area of Edinburgh-Leith has many atmospheric bars, bistros and boutiques & is only 1.5 miles from the city centre. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront has good parking (see Parking Information below) & a frequent public bus service from the front door making it an ideal location for visiting all of Edinburgh's famous attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, the Royal Mile, Princes Street & national museums & galleries. Features of the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront include free parking (see Parking Information below), licensed bar, air conditioning and free WiFi, meeting space, excellent transport links & a warm welcome for our guests. Parking Info: 60 spaces available at the hotel on a first-come-first-served basis. Ample additional parking available at Ocean Terminal, opposite. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Leith
Leith Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.