We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A two night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Britannia Way, Ocean Drive | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ , Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #81 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A two night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

A handy hotel though a little out of the centre of Edinburgh. A bus journey away. The bus stop is in front of the hotel The number 11 or 22 takes you into the town for £1.30 or you can get a daily ticket for as many bus trips for £3 .80
The hotel was very clean and I changed my booking request from a double to a twin room with no problems.
The breakfast was great plenty to choose from , all self service which is fine.
Bedrooms are big enough and quiet
You are beside a large shopping complex and the Royal yacht Britannia . So there is plenty to see and do.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    397
    147
    32
    7
See reviews for
146
371
23
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Very clean. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Nice big comfortable bed. Lovely filling buffet style breakfast. Right beside Ocean Terminsl shopping mall and wasy bus access into Edinburgh centre.I would definately go back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Keep in mind that in the Edinburgh area there are two Holiday Inns. This location in Leith is right on the water and quite nice. We tried to take the bus there, but we did a poor job of that. We took the bus to the city center and thought we could walk to there, that's when we found that there was two Holiday Inns, and we had walked to the wrong one. After that we had to take a cab, which was difficult since we had ten people and all of our luggage, but two cabs later, we were there.
it was a nice place, close to the Her Majesty's Yacht Britannia, close enough to walk to, BTW, the Yacht entrance is located inside the mall, and walking distance from the hotel.
The hotel is quiet, a few blocks to the Tesco, but take the bus if you are buying drinks that you have to walk back.
There aren't any ice buckets, or fridge in the room, but ice in the sink was good for keeping our Bulmers cold.
One morning we had to leave early to go on a tour, we had to leave earlier than the breakfast was set out and at the desk they offered to get the cold stuff out early so we could eat before we went.
It was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Front Desk staff are very friendly and helpful, they overheard us discussing dining options for our first evening and recommended a pub that has me convinced they read our minds on what we were looking for. Decent bar in the lobby, though it lacks atmosphere it has decently priced drinks and good pizza in the evenings... great for a snack and drink before or after a night out. Rooms were average, seemed to lack the usual basic standards of a Holiday Inn Express. Furniture was hard, cold wood and better reflected what you would find in a university dorm than a mid scale hotel. Rooms appear to be far more dated than the rest of the hotel but the friendly hospitable attitude of the staff goes a long way in making up for shortcomings in the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Very good on all points staff are so helpful and polite. stayed on business with a colleague and would definately recomend this hotel for leisure and business. The rooms are spacious and well equipped holiday inn express deginately the best budget chain when u consider that for same price elsewhere you get a white box and none of the service or any of little nessesaties.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Good location, nice helpful staff and average rooms that could do with a revamp due to broken tiles in the bathroom and rusted lamps in the room. The bed was uncomfortable due to springs in the mattress digging in your hips and hard lumpy pillows, even though they said there was a choice of sort and firm they were all too firm. The room appears to be clean but on closer inspection there is a lot of dust in areas that may go unnoticed to some people, door frames and bathroom fittings.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear 509F_B,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. I am delighted you appreciated our location and the service you received from our staff. It is our goal to provide excellent accommodation to all our guests and we apologize for falling short of your expectations with the room you had. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel is lovely ,had a fantastic stay staff are lovely and helpful .
We stayed with our two sons who have special needs and were given two joining rooms which had a wet room as one of our sons uses a wheelchair and have not ever been treated so well ! Thank you holiday inn
The breakfast was nice the kids enjoyed the sausage egg beans and toast I don't understand how anyone can complain about this as it is complimentary !
I would definatley return to this hotel it was situated in a good place close to amenities across the road is a shopping centre .
So thank you for making our stay so comfortable and accessible for our son .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear MelanieH2,

Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely review of your recent stay with us.

I am glad to hear that we were able to provide rooms to comfortably accommodate your family’s needs and that our staff was lovely and helpful.

I hope that this will be the first of many fantastic stays that you have with us in Edinburgh.
Best Regards,

Fiona
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

Address: Britannia Way, Ocean Drive | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ , Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront offering free breakfast, free Wifi, air conditioning, great value rates, free parking (see Parking Information below) & a superb location for exploring this charming and fascinating city. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront is located next to Ocean Terminal, Edinburgh's newest leisure and shopping destination, the Scottish Executive, the Royal Yacht Britannia & close to all major business areas. The old port area of Edinburgh-Leith has many atmospheric bars, bistros and boutiques & is only 1.5 miles from the city centre. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront has good parking (see Parking Information below) & a frequent public bus service from the front door making it an ideal location for visiting all of Edinburgh's famous attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, the Royal Mile, Princes Street & national museums & galleries. Features of the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront include free parking (see Parking Information below), licensed bar, air conditioning and free WiFi, meeting space, excellent transport links & a warm welcome for our guests. Parking Info: 60 spaces available at the hotel on a first-come-first-served basis. Ample additional parking available at Ocean Terminal, opposite. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Leith
Leith Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.