We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“19/12/2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stay Central Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Stay Central Hotel to your Saves list
Stay Central Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10% - Book Direct
Ranked #23 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“19/12/2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My boyfriend and I spent 3 days at the Stay Central Hotel at the beginning of the week. The location is the perfect one because you are really close to all the main attractions.
The room where we were staying was amazing: it's a big room with a really comfy mattress, tv and the bathroom is huge too. The only problem was that the room was quite cold and we had to ask for a little moving heater.
The staff was really nice!!
We will go back!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    129
    34
    13
    5
See reviews for
54
156
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Collonges-la-Rouge, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

stayed here couple of night with my GF and it was amazing...great modern rooms, clean and great sound system ;)
staff was very nice and helpful and the breakfast was really good too
and it's in the center so perfect to walk everywhere!!
best choice in Edinburgh !!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had a fantastic stay at the hotel, the staff made us feel very welcome and comfortable. The room was brilliant, different to your standard hotel so it felt like a special place to stay, even had double blinds on the windows to keep the light out. The three sister pub is attached to this hotel and they serve excellent food! The ribs are the best I have ever had, and the cooked breakfast was fantastic. We were staying because it was my girlfriend's birthday, and they even left a card and box of chocolates in the room for her. Overall, fantastic service in a beautiful hotel, at a brilliant price!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Booked this hotel for a few days in Edinburgh. Two of us in a medium room, which was from the first to the last day, luxury in a brilliant location in Old Town. Highlights were the amazing shower, the in room tea, coffee and water (restocked daily) and Sky TV for watching the news before setting out for the day. I really cannot recommend this place enough. The quirkiness was right up our street, with the cute names on the doors to the relaxed reception area and central location. We visited the castle every night to see it lit up and the beautiful views from the day are spectacular. Oh and last thing, such easy access to the airport. 10 mins walk from the station where the Airlink bus takes you 30 mins and runs every 10 mins. Thanks for a memorable stay in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: We went mid week so not too busy. I requested a quiet room so if you want to make sure, I recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I got this hotel for my trip to UK last year and I though I had reviewed it... anyway.
Walking on Cowgate to your left you reach the Castle and also Grassmarket that is an reference for some attraction.
The room I stayed was new and everything was perfect... tea pot/coffee and they offered breakfast on the next door pub called The Three Sisters. I had the chance to try haggis for the first time! I put it as 2014 but it was during Fringe Festival in 2013! It was GREAT!!!
Internet was offered at front desk not in room (at that time)

Room Tip: I was worth staying there and I would not mind be there again. I was afraid of the amount of people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hi Gilvam,

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review about your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh! It's fantastic to know you still rate your stay with us so highly after a year!

It is really appreciated that you have noted you found rooms to be perfect and I will ensure that your compliments are passed onto the chef for a delicious breakfast- I hope you enjoyed the Scottish Haggis!

We do hope you come visit again soon and make the most of our returner’s deals,

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Visited Edinburgh for a couple of days before Christmas. Hotel is easy to find if you got a map or gps on your smarphone. Rooms were clean and tidy. We loved the style. Perfect for couples who want a fairly priced hotel as close to the city centre as possible.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hi Christos K,

Thank you so much for the lovely review - it's fantastic to read such positive feedback about your time with us :-)

Our location really is an excellent choice if you want to stay in the heart of the city so it’s great to hear your comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you back with our great returners deals,

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Thoroughly impressed by our fleeting visit to Stay Central. Reception staff were most friendly, suggesting a number of local attractions to take in while in Edinburgh. Rooms were very well provisioned, with a few more in-room freebies than many higher rated hotels. Easy-going atmosphere where nothing seemed too much trouble. If travelling here by cab, ask to be dropped at the Three Sisters (adjoining pub), as it seems to be the better known landmark. Can't wait to return to Edinburgh and Stay Central again!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hi Daniel D,

Thank you so much for the top 5* review on your recent visit to our STAY Central Hotel; we really appreciate you sharing your experience with all our future guests.

All our staff have an in depth knowledge of Edinburgh and work really hard ensuring all our guests see the best the city has to offer.

We look forward to seeing you again soon with our fantastic returner rates,

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stay Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stay Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.