We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stay Central Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Stay Central Hotel to your Saves list
Stay Central Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10% - Book Direct
Ranked #24 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

The location is good. The room is clean with modern design. There is also a bar on the ground. It was World Cup while we were staying there. We heard nothing while tons of people drinking and celebrating downstairs. The staffs are also very kind and helpful. It was a very pleasant stay there and definitely worth spending much longer next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Hi Marco1215,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review of your recent stay with us in Edinburgh; it is fantastic to hear that you would come and visit again for longer!

I am so pleased that we were able to allocate you a quiet room away from the vibrant atmosphere the world cup bring to bars in the city. It is wonderful you found the staff to all be helpful and friendly; I will ensure that your compliments are passed along to the team, they love when people acknowledge the hard work they put in.

Remember about the great returners discount next time you book,

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    129
    34
    13
    5
See reviews for
54
156
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

As avid fringe festival goers we found this location to be incomparable and the staff were wonderful - very helpful and accommodating. We were a little sad that we couldn't get the temperature in our rooms any higher than 21 and were told this is the highest setting available but other than that everything was pretty spot on. Do be aware that due to such a central location sound pollution can be an issue but if you are lucky enough to get a room at the back it won't be. And the staff are happy enough to give you earplugs if you need. It is not the most spacious of hotels but the location and staff as I said are absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Hi Elliot A,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at the STAY Central; it is wonderful to hear you had such a great time and rate your time with us so highly!

The Edinburgh Festival is one of the best time to visit the capital with so much to see and do; I have to agree we really are in one of the best locations with all the goings on right on our doorstep.

I am so pleased to read that you found the staff to be very helpful; I will ensure that your recognition is passed along as I know they will really appreciate it!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to visit in the near future; remember and use your returners discount when you book!

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

We are young late fourties!! Picked this hotel on our first trip to Edinburgh...the hotels staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful...we asked for a quiet room, got it...great trendy decor, very clean, extra warm touches in the room,tunnocks...mmmm, plenty of tea, coffee. Rain shower excellent, iPod Dock too,great place....BUT...the area where it is, is a tad dingy! Wouldn't like to be alone at night there..very close to the royal mile, but not in a nice place...I know it's right next to the pub...but noise wasn't a problem for us. We would stay here again. THANKYOU!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Hi LancashireQueenbee,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on STAY Central. We are delighted that you enjoyed your first trip to Edinburgh so much and really hope you do stay again soon.

It is fantastic to read that we were able to accommodate you in a quiet room and that you appreciated our unique design features such as iPod docks that play in both the bedroom and bathroom; amazing for a good sing song in the wonderful RainFall showers!!

Remember to make use of our great returners rates next time you book!

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

-the dj's bedtime. Lack of planning on our part, but we booked on the day of our errr... stay, so guessing we got lumbered with the last room, on the First Floor. This being the last weekend of the Fringe, and the Hotel's courtyard being one of the venues, we should have prepared ourselves for not getting any sleep until 3am, to be woken not long after by the crash of bottle bins being emptied. Not entirely sure if the sound source was the activity outside (and therefore am irrelevance outwith the Fringe) or whether it stemmed from the bar, at which point it will be a permanent factor.
A real shame as the room itself was very good, the staff were very friendly and efficient. Reception area was quite quirky, but common areas wearing prematurely. The breakfast room (that bar again) in particular looks really tired, and perhaps not the cleanest in the world, but this is yet to enjoy the much needed refurb.
-Very much a marmite place; go in with the appropriate mindset and you'll have a ball, if not then you'll get a better night's sleep with the ghosties next door.

Room Tip: Higher floors are further away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Hi Michael T,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our STAY Central Hotel; we really appreciate all feedback we receive to help us know what we are getting right and what is left to tweak.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed the unique design of our rooms and found all the staff to be efficient and friendly.

As you have noted we are located next to the famous Three Sisters bar that lend parts of their venue to the Fringe Festival. We do however have quiet rooms located at the back of the building that do not hear anything from the Fringe shows.

Hopefully we will see you again soon; remember to add a request for a quiet room and use your returners rate!

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

This hotel is a brilliant base within the city, close to many of the cities attractions. The staff were incredibly welcoming and were more than happy to look after our luggage whist we went to explore the city. Upon arrival back to the hotel to check in, we were impressed that the woman on reception was going to ring us to let us know the room was ready which was a very nice personal touch! The room we had booked was a 'M' however we were given an 'XXL' room which was a lovely surprise. The facilities were excellent, in particular the rainfall shower and the sound system, and the decor of the room was brilliant and finished to a high standard. Small touches such as the paper with a pencil and sharpener and the Tunnocks tea cakes were also appreciated! The only slight criticism was the air conditioning in the room was quite cool at times and we couldn't turn it up past 21 degrees, however, with the blankets provided this was not too much of a problem, and at times the WiFi signal was weak but again, this was not that much of a problem. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to explore the city!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Hi BeckyL,

Thank you so much for the lovely review - it's fantastic to hear such positive feedback about your time with us in Edinburgh and it is such a compliment to know that you would recommend us to others :-)!

I am so pleased that you appreciated the wee perks such as complimentary luggage storage and arranged an early arrival for you on check in giving you the freedom to go off and explore the city.

We look forward to seeing you again soon on our great returners rate,

Karen & The STAY Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Can't fault the hotel itself, the room was clean and had everything we needed for the two days we stayed, would describe as shabby chic, but the noise from the Three Sisters during the Festival was not something we expected. Music until 5am every day, not good when you have to get up at 6am to get to airport for flight home. The pub was very crowded, both inside and out. Outside was also dirty and spillage from drinks on the ground, although the rain helped to wash some of this away. However, we were out and about during the daytime. Be warned, the hill up to the Royal Mile is steep and it would be hard work if you were towing a suitcase.

Having said that, the girls in the bar made sure that we could have breakfast as soon as they opened on our last morning, and the girls in reception were helpful and arranged our taxi pick-up which arrived dead on time - so pats on the back for them.

Would we stay again? Yes, but not during the Fringe.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hi Dennis G,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review our STAY Central Hotel. It was a pleasure to read that you found us to have everything you needed for your visit to Edinburgh,.

I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed our unique design and found our staff to be fantastic throughout your stay, always on hand to help with any plans you were looking to make; I will ensure they all get a pat on the back!

As you have noted we are located next to the Three Sisters bar that also doubles up as a venue during the Fringe Festival; however we do have quiet rooms that are located away from the action so ensure you add a request next time you book.

We do look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Remember about your returners rate!

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

So impressed by this hotel. It was clean and also trendy. The staff were very friendly. Water and biscuits were left in the room at night and free wifi. It was also in a great location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hi PickyhotelGuest1212,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review on your recent visit to the STAY Central; it is great to know we impressed and you would recommend us to others!

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our trendy rooms and quirky touches such as Tunnocks Teacake bedtime treats and complimentary wifi.

We do hope you come visit again soon and make the most of our returner’s deals,

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stay Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stay Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.