We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing little place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stay Central Hotel

Save Saved
You added Stay Central Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Stay Central Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off-Book Direct
Ranked #21 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Casper, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing little place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a great little hotel wonderfully located between the Royal Mile and the National Museum of Scotland. The rooms are very nice and clean. The staff is so friendly and helpful. The pub below has very good food, with a reasonably priced continental breakfast. I really want to come back some time!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hi hiccup1,

We are delighted to read such a lovely review about your visit to Edinburgh; thank you for taking the time to share it with all our future guests.

I will ensure all the staff see you kind comments about them being friendly and helpful, I am sure that it will make their day :-).

We look forward to seeing you again soon; don’t forget about our great returners discount!

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    69
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
27
70
15
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My friend and I are studying abroad in London and came to Edinburgh for the weekend. We booked last minute and wanted something pretty cheap but not a hostel. The hotel was very cute and in a great location. Central to everywhere you would want to go! The room was nice and the shower was great. It was during the world cup and the bar connected to the hotel (Three Sisters) was packed with people. Luckily we couldn't even hear them. The staff was very nice as well!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hi Carley H,

Thank you for your lovely review. It's great to know that you rate your experience with us so highly.

It sounds like you really made the most of our excellent location right in the heart of the city with so many famous attractions within walking distance!

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future, I promise there will be lots more to see!

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worb, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were lucky and got a room for 2 nights booked very last minute. It was World Cup Game Nights and we even had a view on the big Screen in the crowded Courtyard from our room. The noise did not bother us, we slept well as we were tired after much touring and sightseeing. Bed and sheets are very comfortable, the bathroom is quite spacious and the Rainshower just great. Safe in room. Elevator to floors. Built-in iPod-Dock with good sound system. Great, central location short walk to Royal Mile. Housekeeping should be more dedicated. Great stay, recommend it!

Room Tip: no window-to-courtyard room if you have a light sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hi streetrebel,

WOW - Thank you for taking the time to leave a top notch review. It is fantastic to hear that you would recommend us to others!

I am so pleased that you enjoyed all of our great design features such as built in iPod docks, comfy beds and Rainfall showers; I have to agree, they are amazing!!

Come back and visit again soon! Don’t forget to get in contact for our great returners rate,

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

First off, really nice and warm staff. Always a great first impression will leave a guest with an overall positive feel.
The design of the hotel and rooms was very rustic and very warm.
The location was great and the price was not so bad. Everyone was very helpful in giving me advice on getting to the airport the next day. I will love to stay here again on my next visit Edinburgh!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hi James W,

Thank you so much for your amazing review. It has made our day to hear such terrific feedback of your visit to Edinburgh.

I will ensure that all the staff see your kind comments. They will really appreciate that you took the time to mention how welcomed you felt and that you found them to be so helpful.

Ensure you stay in contact and book direct next time you are in town, we will ensure you receive our fantastic returner rate!

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights as we were attending a festival in Edinburgh. We booked last minute and we were really lucky to get such a good room!

We got a room at the back away from the busy pub courtyard, if you don't know this already this hotel is part of the Three Sisters bar, a very popular haunt for stag and hen parties and renowned for being a cracking raucous night out!! :)

Our room as I said was at the back, so it was perfect really and not noisy at all, the room was really nice and had a brilliant sound system with built in iPod Dock! Clean and comfortable, although the bathroom ceiling needs looked at..!

There was a hen party in the hotel on Sat night, they were pretty loud but we managed to block it out.

Breakfast was ok..

All in all it was a good stay! We'd come again! :)

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hi KatieKateWilson,

Thank you so much for leaving a fantastic review of your recent visit to our STAY Central Hotel, it is terrific to hear such amazing feedback of your time with us! I personally remember you and your partner; you were attending the magic festival just up the road!

I am so pleased that you enjoyed the built in iPod docks and found the room to be quiet, clean and comfortable.

It was a pleasure having you as our guests, I do hope that you come back and visit soon; don’t forget about our great returners rate when you book direct!

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stay Central is a gem in the centre of Edinburgh! It is one street from by the Royal Mile and everything is walking distance from the hotel. The hotel reception is manned 24 hours and the staff are very happy and willing to assist with your needs and direction requests.

The rooms are as advertised (we booked through Expedia and got the actual room we saw online). The room is spacious, clean and has a new, fresh feel about it - because the hotel is so central it is an easing stopping point during the day for a quick refresh, drop things back etc. we would recommend Stay Central to all travellers and have been thoroughly impressed during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hi NVN001,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our STAY Central Hotel, we are so flattered that you have named us as a ‘gem in the centre of Edinburgh’.

We are so pleased that you found our rooms to be stylish and you appreciate our location right in the heart of the city centre.

It is such a compliment to know that you would recommend us to all travellers and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Such a great hotel, loved the easy going vibe of the staff, the room was well appointed and comfortable. Location was awesome for nightlife and walkability around Edinburgh.

Only point of feedback was that we requested a 5:45am wake up call which we never received...good thing we set our alarm!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hi Priscilla R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us, it is fantastic to hear that you rate us so highly.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the vibe within the hotel and found the rooms to be well equipped and comfortable.

Please accept my sincere apologies that your wake up call was missed by the night porters. I appreciate you bringing this matter to my attention and have launched an investigation to ensure that this does not happen again.

I do hope that you are able to come back to Edinburgh and see us again soon.

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stay Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stay Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.