We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Good position and nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Edinburgh Central to your Saves list
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33 St. Mary's St., Edinburgh EH1 1TA, Scotland (Castle / Royal Mile / High St)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Saver rooms available
Ranked #66 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Wigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Clean, Good position and nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed for along weekend in the Edinburgh Central just off the Royal mile, the Hotel doesn't look to appealing from the front but the inside is clean and tidy and doesn't have a bad smell, the rooms are clean and tidy if a little small but we were only staying for a few nights, the staff were very helpful and always polite, all in all an excellent budget hotel in an excellant position to visit Edinburgh

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    132
    51
    10
    9
See reviews for
106
117
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

From the moment of arriving at the travelodge I was greeted by Anne and what a sweetheart she is, nothing was ever a problem and always had a smile on her face. The other member of staff who was wonderful was Sam, going to miss seeing his cheeky little face.
Hotel clean, friendly so can't ask for better than that, also a little shop just up the road if you want basics.
Hotel was very central, literally a stone throw from the Royal mile so you can't get better than that when wanting to do the touristy bits.
Will defiantly return to this hotel very soon .

Thank you for a great stay.
Michelle green

Room Tip: If you want a bath then ask for a family room as majority of rooms have showers. Plenty rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methil, Fife, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nice gentleman on reception and lovely girl in the dining room to help us so staff nice. Family room was nice and spacious. Hotel in a really central location. Good that it comes with its own car park. Had breakfast at the hotel, yum . . . .the blueberry muffins a must!

Room Tip: family room was with a choice of 2 bed or 3 beds - choose 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This Travelodge is much like the rest of them. Clean, tidy and cosy.
My boyfriend and I booked 1 night at Edinburgh Central and we wouldn't hesitate to return.
Everything about our small trip was so easy. Our room was on the ground floor but even though the hotel was very central we weren't disturbed by any traffic.
The staff were friendly and the room was small but perfect for the one night.

I'd recommend for an easy and small getaway.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardrossan, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this Travelodge as it has a great central location. There are loads of bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. Edinburgh castle is also nearby as are many other tourist attractions. The staff at the Travelodge were very pleasant and even gave me a loan of a mobile charger when I realised I had forgotten to bring one. The king size bed was very comfortable and the tea/coffee making facilities were greatly appreciated!! We would most likely stay at this hotel any time we are in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly we arrived at the lodge arounf 2pm, the receptionist was happy to look after our bags until our room became available around 3pm. We went for lunch and arrived back at around 4pm when we were checked in, we arrived in room 333 were we first noticed all the bits of dirt on the carpet we decided not to walk around bare footed we then noticed under one of the chairs was a big clump of someones hair which had been left there! I found this to be quite disgusting!! it then came to the evening and we realised just how thin the walls are facing the outside of the building, our room faced the street in front of the lodge, everytime a car drove past it shook and vibrated the walls and windows and the sound was awful I would advise people to request a room further into the hotel rather than facing out as the noise will keep you awake at night.
next thing is the morning after which was a sunday (my birthday) it was 7.30 and i had already been awake all night due to the noise and the fire alarm went off, we were all ushered outside in our pjs while the fire brigade turned up, 10 mins later we were all allowed back inside, no apologies no explanations or anything, we werent even offered a complementary hot drink for having to stand outside in the cold at that time of morning, I still to this day do not know why we were evacuated for the whole of ten minutes! on the second day of our stay we left the sign on the door to have our towels changed and left them in the shower as requested but they werent changed so we were left with dirty wet towels.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Niki from Customer Services at Travelodge Edinburgh Central, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your feedback. We’re truly sorry to learn of that your room was not cleaned to a high level of cleanliness as we pride ourselves in delivering this exceptionally well to every customer every day. We expect your stay to be as comfortable as possible but should a fire alarm sound you will be evacuated for your safety. In the event of a fault with the fire panel the fire brigade are always called to come out to attend the hotel and fix any issues. We would like to investigate further so please use the contact us section on our website to provide your contact and booking details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On a short break to Edinburgh we wanted a reasonably priced bed for a couple of nights, well placed for central Edinburgh attractions and Waverley Station. This was ideal. Only a ten minute slow walk from the station, with a quick & efficient check-in and very pleasant reception staff. The bed was large and very comfortable, the breakfast "eat as much as you can" buffet and, although we did not eat any other meals in, a reasonably priced fast food type dining menu on offer. The location, a short way along The Royal Mile from the bottom of the hill, could not be better for exploring The Old Town, with plenty of places to eat within close proximity.

Room Tip: On checking in I overheard someone ask for a room at the rear as they are quieter. Our room was at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Address: 33 St. Mary's St., Edinburgh EH1 1TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Hotel Edinburgh
Travel Lodge Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Edinburgh Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.