We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for what it is” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Edinburgh Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 St. Mary's St., Edinburgh EH1 1TA, Scotland (Castle / Royal Mile / High St)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Beijing
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fine for what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Check in fairly smooth, no frills hotel but clean and comfortable room, new beds heavily advertised and they were indeed the highlight of the room, our room faced the road and we could see people's heads as they passed by, so ask for a high floor room, traffic noise as expected, room very hot so no option but to open window, location is great for city centre attractions. Would recommend it if you get a good price.

Room Tip: Higher floors, and if you can get a room facing the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    74
    23
    2
    5
See reviews for
61
60
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in Edinburgh for 2 nights in May . We chose Travel Lodge for its location and also because of many good reviews.We went with no expectations as it was a budget hotel.We got a big spacious family room which slept 4 of us.The room was clean,beds were comfortable and the Bath was clean too.The staff were helpful.
The hotel itself is just off the Royal Mile so it is wonderful ! We didnt eat breakfast in the hotel so cant comment.There are plenty of restaurants and cafe's close by.We had yummy Baked potatoes in a place close by called Tempting Tatties.
Only one sad part was that I had forgotten a pashmina shawl in the hotel on checkout and upon calling them the next day -they couldnt trace it ...but they were very helpful though!
Also they had half an hour of free WIFI per day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is very well located, just off the bottom of the Royal Mile - It also has good value rooms if you book early.

The rooms are clean and comfortable - The road outside can be a bit noisy due to it's cobbles : so take ear plugs if this will worry you at night.

The in house catering is none too special - but there are lots of good restaurants within five minutes walk where you will get better food for less money.

Staff very helpful in my experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is rubbish in the whole. The staff were not friendly the chap from Poland i think struggled checking me in. The rooms are all the same size even although i booked a family room. I was not offerred a cot for my baby or travel cot. The car park does not give you access to the building and you need to go round carrying all your stuff to the front and are not even offerred help. The room was dirty the main bed was slanted and not level. There were no tolitries even for mu wife. The outside windows rattled all night keeping the kids up. The noise outside the room was terrible. Go to the premier inn its much better

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Reasonable and cheap accommodation in a great location - 5 minute walk to Waverley train station and 30-second walk to the Royal Mile.
Everything clean but basic as you'd expect.
Bed fine, pillows quite hard. The biggest drawback is the noise outside - even from a 5th floor room. No air conditioning means you have to open windows when it's warm and this means several noisy interruptions through the night.
Fine for a cheap one night (I paid £59) but any longer, consider paying a little more.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I always go for a short break in 2nd week in June every year to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. We both love Edinburgh so though we would check out Tripadvisor, having submitted several reviews I thought I would see what is recommended. This budget hotel seemed to tick all the boxes, just off the Royal Mile all tourist attractions close at hand and loads of restaurants to choose from. I have to say it was a great choice and well recommended. However you must remember, this is a budget hotel so there's bells and whistles, but what you get is a room with comfortable bed, toilet and shower and I have to say one of the best best breakfasts i've ever had (bar orange juice which was a bit watery). Staff were very friendly and only too willing to help (more than can be said for some up market hotels). And to crown it all off , reduced parking fees in the near-by John Street multi-storey car park - 2 days for £20.00. All-in all a great place for a visit to the center of Edinburgh, Will we go back?? Most Certainly. Thanks to all the staff for a great stay.

Allan and Jane Forrest

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I visit Edinburgh a couple of times a year and usually stay in a 'nice' hotel, as I don't do 'cheap'. I was invited to a girls weekend and the hotel of choice was this Travelodge, mainly for the cost and location. I must confess I was not really looking forward to the weekend, not knowing what to expect. It was therefore a pleasant surprise to find a good budget place to stay in the city. The rooms were basic, no nice toiletries, but who cares I was in Edinburgh, in June, the sun was shining and I managed to get a great nights sleep due the the double glazed windows. All in all it was so successful that I've booked to return to this hotel at the end of this month. I wouldn't normally visit Edinburgh in the summer because of the high rates, but the Travelodge has made this possible. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Address: 33 St. Mary's St., Edinburgh EH1 1TA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Hotel Edinburgh
Travel Lodge Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Edinburgh Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.