We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, reasonable but with a few issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jurys Inn Edinburgh

Save Saved
You added Jurys Inn Edinburgh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Jeffrey St., Edinburgh EH1 1DH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersBronze level
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good location, reasonable but with a few issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went there for the Fringe and a walk up the steps behind the hotel brings you right onto the main street which is great. The other side is the station, which was a little noisy as without air-con the window needed to be open. Staff at the front desk very good, although our 3 rooms weren't ready at 2pm. One of the lifts wouldn't go up to the 7th floor for 2 days and then didn't work at all so this meant a wait for the lift up, there are stairs for down anyway. Breakfast was busy but the selection and quality pretty good. It would have been nice if there had been some attempt to locate us a way of 6 sitting together which there wasn't, being told there aren't any tables of 6, so we did it ourselves, 2 out of 3 days eating in the bar area which was nicer anyway. Felt a bit pricey for what it is but I guess during the Fringe everything is able to be more pricey than it should be.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Mike C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

The Edinburgh Festival is a vibrant time for the Hotel, particularly breakfast where all our guests are eager to get out and enjoy their day. We do always try and accommodate large parties in breakfast, however, sometimes this is not possible.

Please do accept my apologies for the lift been out of action, this similar to home, was out of order unexpectedly but I am pleased to report is back up and running.

Mike C, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager

Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    567
    332
    120
    64
See reviews for
242
440
80
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Late arrival so cannot comment on dinner food. The breakfast was poor. There was plenty of variety to suit all tastes but the bacon and sausages were barely warm, the eggs were hard due to being kept under heat lamps and the plates were very cold. Consequently, by the time I was part way through, all items were stone cold. When will all hotels realise that a good breakfast has to be served on HOT plates? I stayed during the festival, I know, but £199 for bed and breakfast in a non-air conditioned hotel is exceptionally high in my opinion for an average hotel with few facilities.
On the plus side, the location is excellent - just a few metres to the Royal Mile. The staff were excellent in all respects

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear dickparris,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy our breakfast, we usually receive such fantastic feedback and I am truly sorry this was not reflected on your experience. We check our rates daily to ensure we are competitively priced against other Hotels of a similar standard of ours.

I was pleased however, to read that you did find our Hotel conveniently located for your needs whilst in Edinburgh.

dickparris, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager

Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I stayed at Jury's Inn, Edinburgh for 2 nights, staying on the 7th floor in a "superior" room. Unfortunately, the stay was overshadowed by one of the 2 lifts being out of order the whole time, so waiting for the lift dominates my memory of the stay. I did complain, and after an initial resistance they did give me a 9% discount on the room rate. Even so, the tag superior room wasn't how I'd describe the pretty average room - though there's no doubt that the price was superior, even after the discount. (Being during the Festival probably didn't help, but even so the rate was at the top end of other hotels listed when advance booking using Trivago.)

But the bed was comfortable, and the facilities OK. The location just a two minute still from the side entrance to Waverley Station was great. It was convenient for all central locations and the Fringe venues I went to.

The hotel has no reason to be proud of its breakfast - a mediocre self service buffet (though with a poorly advertised offer to meet special requests and no one obvious to request). I particularly disliked the lack of any teapots for tea - at an upmarket hotel, I don't expect to have to make tea in a mug with a teabag! I'm not sure that many guests had ned of the jugs of mint and cucumber water though.

And a final note both highlighting their good service, but thoughtless attitude to facilities. The room came with a bath with shower over, but the shampoo and body wash were firmly fixed to a perch 5' up the wall - ideal for the shower, but useless for sitting in the bath. This is indicative of a complete failure to think about the guest's needs. However, I mentioned this to reception and a second free standing pair of bottles were provided ready for the second morning, so full marks to the reception staff.

Room Tip: Coaches and the refuse truck stop outside the front of the hotel, so rooms there suffer noise early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear TheSciolist,

Thank you for taking time to leave feedback regarding your stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh. We appreciate all feedback to enable us to continuously improve both our product and service.

Unfortunately, similar to home things do break unexpectedly and indeed our lift was out of action for a while due to unforeseen maintenance, I am pleased to report that this has now be resolved however, please do accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused. I was disappointed to read you found our breakfast mediocre as we do normally receive excellent feedback. As you stated Edinburgh is very popular during the festival and we take extra care to ensure we are competitively priced compared to Hotels of a similar standard to ourselves.

I am pleased to read thought that the Front Desk did do their best to resolve the issues you raised, they do indeed always try and make our guests feel welcome and comfortable while staying with us.

TheSciolist, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager

Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights on our trip to the UK & Ireland.
The location of the hotel was excellent. Across the road from Waverly train station, easy walking distance with wheeled suitcases. One street off the royal mile. The royal mile is easily accessed via a walkway from the hotel. Although quite a steep walk as royal mile area is not flat. Anyone with mobility issues should take note.
The breakfast at the hotel was quite good. Usual hot buffet english style breakfast. Didn't eat any other meals in hotel so can't comment.
The standard of the room was quite good. Clean, quite modern and not cramped with heating which was useful for drying the handwashing overnight. Would definitely stay there again and have no reservations in recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: We had a room away from street and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Fred B,

Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words regarding your recent stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

The team here always endeavour to make our guests fell welcome and comfortable while staying with us and I am delighted that this was reflected on your stay.

Fred B, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager

Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Excellent location !
Just across the street from the railway station.
Spacious rooms, very clean !
There is an acess to the Royal Mile in the back of the hotel. Very convenient!
Excellent breakfast!
Cofee and tea machine in the room

Room Tip: front rooms with a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear maria jose r,

Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words regarding your stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh. We were delighted to read that you found our Hotel conveniently located for your needs whilst in Edinburgh.

maria jose r, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager

Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Paid over £200 a night for overpriced shabby unwelcoming entrance only one lift working for hundreds of rooms. Not even a shower cap in bathroom. Very poor menu choice too. Curtains not wide enough for windows - all in all a very basic hotel - very disappointing!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Nilam3,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

We appreciate all feedback to enable us to continuously improve both our product and service. Unfortunately, the frontage of the Hotel is actually protected by Edinburgh Council preventing us from addressing this matter. We carefully monitor our rates on a daily basis to ensure we are competitively priced with other Hotels of a similar standard to us.

We do have extra amenities such as shower caps available at the front desk. From time-to-time, similar to home things break unexpectedly and the lift was down for a few days for unforeseen maintenance, but I am more than happy to say this has now been fixed. Please do accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Nilam3, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager

Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Very handy to railway station and right in centre. Easy walk up hill to castle. Galleries and museums nearby. A bit pricey considering the amount of maintenance needed in rooms.
Comfortable and large entry with friendly,helpful staff. Child friendly rooms(extra bed) included in price.
Views of historic buildings are interesting but come with intermittent noise even late at night.

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side and higher is usually better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear FossilInfinity,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

It was great to read that you found our Hotel conveniently located for your needs whilst in Edinburgh. The team always endeavour to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable while staying with us and we were delighted to read this was reflected on your stay.

FossilInfinity, I hope you enjoyed your trip back to New Zealand as much as you enjoyed the Haggis and hope to welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager

Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jurys Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Edinburgh

Address: 43 Jeffrey St., Edinburgh EH1 1DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Edinburgh 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Edinburgh is located in the heart of Edinburgh's beautiful Old Town next to the famous Royal Mile and only a 2 min walk from Waverly Train Station. Princes Street and Edinburgh Castle are a pleasant 10-15 minute walk away. Whether you're looking for hotels in Edinburgh for business at the International Conference Centre, or touring Edinburgh Castle and the sights of historic Scotland's capital, our Edinburgh hotel means all your destinations are within easy and always interesting walking distance. The hotel features all day Costa coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 6pm to 10pm for dinner. If you arriving by car a nearby public car parking is available at Waverley Station car park. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. The rooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi - guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, our best price guarantee and can earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Jurys Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Jurys Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurys Inn Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.