We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jurys Inn Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Jurys Inn Edinburgh to your Saves list
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Jeffrey St., Edinburgh EH1 1DH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Stayed here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Have now stayed here several times on business , room are basic but comfortable , I am never disappointed , breakfast is basic but the location is good for a walk up the golden mile , don't expect a glamour hotel , but you get a standard room

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Deepcargreeks55,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

I am glad that you have decided on a number of occasions to choose our Hotel when you are visiting Edinburgh and that we consistently deliver to your expectations.

Deepcargreeks55, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager

Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    646
    374
    129
    68
See reviews for
289
507
86
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently with a few friends. Great location for train. Only problems were beds were quite hard and the noise levels from outside were bad. Out room faced station and was so loud. You could here traffic . People talking and even the noise in station. And dont use irons as they are useless. On other hand meals were lovely. Staff were lovely. Hotel is clean and well presented

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear jiclare,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experiences of your recent stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

I am delighted to read that you found our team lovely, they always endeavour to provide a friendly and welcoming service and always appreciate it when this is reflected on our guests stay. We have just completed checks this week on all our windows and this should now prevent any external noise disturbing our guests.

jiclare, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy Genral Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Came to Edinburgh for an evening as my partner had an interview at the university the following day. Staff were very friendly and helpful and recommended some sights for the afternoon as well as helping us locate the university on the map. Hotel was very clean and the breakfast had a lot of choice and was of an excellent quality. Conveniently located next to train station if taking rail.

Only complaint is from my rather sore bottom with regards to the toilet paper quality.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Phillip L,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experiences of Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our breakfast offering of high quality. We understand the importance of providing a hearty breakfast to our guests.

I do apologise for your rather sore bottom - I shall pass your feedback onto our Accommodation Manager and she can look at softer options.

Phillip L, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Excellent hotel, friendly welcome, clean & tidy, nice location. Breakfast was excellent. Just off the main drag of the Royal Mail within walking distance of castle, princes street, nice array of cafe and shops. Car parking is restricted on a first come first serve. So could be costly if you have to park on the street or local car parks.

Room Tip: Again limited parking spaces at hotel, so is first come first serve. Excellent location near to all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear celtic2inter1,

Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words regarding your stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

Our team endeavour to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable while staying with us and are always delighted to read when this is reflected on our guests stay.

celtic2inter1, this was your first time to Jurys Inn Edinburgh and I do hope it is not your last. I hope we can welcome you back in the not to distant future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My husband won a B&B stay at a Jurys Inn on Twitter and we picked this hotel to stay at. The location was really handy just off the Royal Mile. Not having parking is a bit of a problem in Edinburgh although there is limited pay parking on the street and the Omni parking not far away. Knowing Edinburgh we left the car on the outskirts and took the bus in.
We had to wait a few minutes to check in but although we were a bit early our room was ready. The receptionist was friendly and efficient. We had problems with the lift as you need to use your keycard and one of ours wouldn't work it although it worked the room lock fine. Our room was fine with lovely views of the city. The bathroom wasn't very big and the shower not very powerful but acceptable. We found the bedroom a bit noisy with outside noise from traffic and from Waverley Station but we did sleep OK. There is no free WIFI which is annoying. It was £5 for an hour or £10 for 24 hours.
We were pleased with our breakfast which had a huge selection of fruit, cereals etc and the cooked breakfast was nice. Everything was self service. The only criticism I had was the coffee machine which only seemed to have black coffee and I like a nice milky latte.
We found all the staff to be helpful and friendly. If you don't book B&B, breakfast was £10 per person while we were there.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear sheils6,

Thank you for taking the time o share you experiences of Jurys Inn Edinburgh and a huge CONGRATULATIONS on winning our Twitter competition.

We understand the importance of providing a hearty breakfast to prepare our guests for a day of exploring Edinburgh and our Head Chef is always delighted when this is reflected on our guests stay. As you stated we do not have a car park at the Hotel, but we do offer 25% discount at the car park across the road at Waverly Station.

With regards to Wi-Fi, we at Jurys Inn are endeavouring to remove all our guests annoyances, Wi-Fi charges being one of them and so, by the end of March 2014 we shall offer complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the Hotel.

sheils6, I do hope that we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel is in a perfect location for sightseeing in Edinburgh but you expect that the least the hotel could manage is to have your room cleaned for you when you get back after a long day of walking. The hotel is a bit dated anyways but you could get over that as long as the place was clean and provided good service.No towels were changed for us even though we put them on the floor like they advised us to if we wanted them to be changed. My friends pillow had a blood stain on it on arrival and that was also left on the florr but the "cleaning staff" just put it back on the bed again. We had to call reception and ask for clean towels. The room wasn't once hoovered, the blood stained pillow case kept making an appearance even when it was taken off the pillow an left again on the floor. From the first day there was seriously long personal hair on the floor of the bathroom and they were still there when we left. The morning we were checking out a maintenance man walked into the bedroom at 8.30am....he said he was told that we had checked out, check out was at 12pm! We put a do not disturb sign on the door after that but again at 9.30 the maintenance man walked into the room! We went for a walk before we checked out and all out cards wouldn't work for the elevator nor the room. The receptionist said that we had been checked out when we asked for access to our room. It was 11.30am! Very bad customer care and service. And as for the Costa Cafe downstairs, terrible! The people working in this hotel act as if they have never worked in a hotel before. No clue in customer service nor hospitality. The only person who deserves a bonus is Tomasz, I hope I have spelt the name right, he checked us in the night we arrived. He was very pleasant and helpful and any time we saw him he was very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Cailleachain,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

We appreciate all feedback to enable us to continuously improve both our product and service. I can assure you that I will be investigating each and every point you raised in your feedback as I can promise you that this is not the norm for us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh. I would extremely appreciate it if you could contact me directly and provide me with your room number so I can identify the correct team members.

Cailleachain, I would like to welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh as my guest to allow you to experience our Hotel as our guests have come to expect. I can assure you that our Hotel is known for its excellent customer service, which is so evident in all of other guests feedback and I am hugely disappointed that this was not reflected on your stay for which I am truly sorry.

I do hope to speak with you soon.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights on a recent trip to edinburgh.

Brilliant location less then 5 minutes walk from the Waverley bridge airport bus stop and very close to railway station.

All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and check in was quick and efficient.

Our room was fairly large and very clean, had a kettle, tea and coffee (replenished daily) a hairdryer and a bath with overhead shower. Toiletries provided were basic but of good quality.

We ate and drunk in the bar and prices were reasonable and the food was very nice.

We had the breakfast buffet one day (as had paid for room only) and there was a great selection of hot and cold options and it set us up for the day.

The hotel felt safe and was relatively quiet (although we stayed during the week it might be noisier at weekends or in peak season. )

We got a very good price per night as booked as part of a package with our flights through BA.

Overall we were very pleased with the hotel and the location was perfect - close enough to walk to the majority of sights and near bus links for attractions further away (such as the zoo.)

Next time I go back to edinburgh I'd definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear loulou123666,

Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words regarding your stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

Our team always endeavour to ensure that our guests are made to feel welcome and comfortable while staying with us and I was delighted to read that this was reflected on your stay.

Our Head Chef also prides himself on the quality of his food and understands the importance of a hearty breakfast to ensure that our guests are fully prepared for a day of exploring Edinburgh,

loulou123666, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh and should you find yourself needing accommodation please be sure to contact me directly and I would be happy to assist with any arrangements.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager

Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jurys Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Edinburgh

Address: 43 Jeffrey St., Edinburgh EH1 1DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Edinburgh is located in the heart of Edinburgh's beautiful Old Town next to the famous Royal Mile and only a 2 min walk from Waverly Train Station. Princes Street and Edinburgh Castle are a pleasant 10-15 minute walk away. Whether you're looking for hotels in Edinburgh for business at the International Conference Centre, or touring Edinburgh Castle and the sights of historic Scotland's capital, our Edinburgh hotel means all your destinations are within easy and always interesting walking distance. The hotel features all day Costa coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 6pm to 10pm for dinner. If you arriving by car a nearby public car parking is available at Waverley Station car park. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. The rooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi - guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, our best price guarantee and can earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, JurysInn, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jurys Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Jurys Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurys Inn Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.