We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jurys Inn Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Jurys Inn Edinburgh to your Saves list
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Jeffrey St., Edinburgh EH1 1DH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edinburgh
1 review
“nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Found the hotel and room very clean,and found staff helpful and polite slight, only think should be that when you shower the extractors in bathrooms dont come on when you enter or have a separate switch and bathrooms can get very stemey, But apart from that found every area of hotel quite nice and would not hesatate stopping or recomending it to friends

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Nigel C,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experiences of Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our staff to be helpful and polite. The team here are always delighted to read that their high standard of service is relfect on our guetst stay. I can assure you also that I shall get our Maintenance team to check the extractor system as this should automatically start when the key is inserted into the power box.

Nigel C, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    644
    368
    128
    68
See reviews for
287
499
86
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had booked a weekend away in Edinburgh months ago. We booked Jury's and they took our money. We were called a week before to say that they were transferring us to another hotel as they could no longer accommodate us!!!!! We picked the hotel as it is close to the station. The move resulted in additional costs for taxi fares. We were at a show on Saturday night and 4 ladies sat next to us had had exactly the same thing happen to them - beware when you book here because, chances are you wont end up staying here. Very poor customer service, what would make us book with them again?????

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear askjan,

Firstly let me begin by offering my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. In an effort to honour all reservations we operate a very consistent method of managing all bookings and arrivals. On this occasion however, due to an error on our behalf, we were unfortunately in a situation where we were unable to accommodate your reservation. I can ensure you that this was an isolated incident and certainly not the norm for our hotel and I apologise again for the inconvenience this caused. I wish to assure you that our shortcomings in both your relocation and the failure to advise you of the problem have been addressed so as to ensure such a scenario does not happen again.

askjan, if you could email me directly as I would like to speak with you directly and welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh with a form of compensation for the inconveniences caused. Once again, I would like to offer my sincere apologies.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at the Jury's Inn in Edinburgh for a couple of nights in late October this year and had a good time. The hotel was nice with the room being average (nothing outstanding but clean and with all the facilities you would expect). We had a bit of a problem with the cold water tap in our en-suite when we came back from going out for a meal on the first night. We had left the room a couple of hours earlier but when we got back the cold water tap was blasting out water and it was all over the bathroom floor. We hadn't left it on when we left so we told Reception about it and they came and cleaned it up. They said they would send the maintenance man to have a look at it the following day, we never heard anything after that, but it didn't happen on the next night. Strange!
The bed was very comfortable but as the hotel is very close to Waverley Train Station, it was a little noisy at night as our room was on the front.
Breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice.
Altogether we had an enjoyable time away in Bonnie Scotland!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front will probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Denise M,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your recent experiences of Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

We appreciate all forms of feedback to enable us to continue to improve both our service and product. I was pleased to read that Reception were able to resolve the issue, however, I shall investigate the issue with the bathroom taps to ensure this does not happen again in the future. It was great to read that you found our Hotel conveniently located and that you enjoyed our breakfast selection. We are in the process of upgrading the windows in our bedrooms which will prevent any external noise disturbances in the future.

Denise M, should you find yourself in Edinburgh in the near future, please contact me directly and I shall be more than happy to assist with any accommodation needs.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel room was quite expensive for modest budgets. To be fair, the festival was officially over but actually still had spin-off events that we were not aware of, so that might explain the higher tariff and the lack of room availability elsewhere. The friendly receptionists were helpful, the rooms were clean and and provided basic amenities, but given the size of the hotel, the high price tag and the general location of this hotel, I would have thought that people on business trips often use it. Complimentary wifi is so often offered by even the most basic establishments nowadays. Not only does this hotel not offer complimentary wifi, or even reasonable rates for paid wifi, but it has an inconvenient system to get wifi in the first place. As I have to constantly stay connected when I travel, this marred my experience considerably. It worked in the end though, so not a complete write-off.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the property. The ones on the front, overlooking the street are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear A D,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

We appreciate all types of feedback to enable us to continuously improve both our service and product. I can ensure you that your comments regarding our WiFi will be considered for future improvements to our service. We do offer complimentary WiFi for our Jurys Rewards members, which is free to join as a future option should you decide to stay with us again in the future.

A D, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night weekend stay and had a lovely time. Hotel is in great location next to the railway station and a short walk to all the sights. We were on the 6th floor overlooking the front of the hotel. Our room was a superior triple which was very clean and adequate for our stay although the shower did go warm to cool and then warm again all the way through a shower.
Breakfast was lovely. You could choose from cereals, pastries, fruit, eggs, bacon, sausages etc which i was surprised with as i had expected a continental only.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Julie S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind words regarding your recent stay with us at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

Our Accommodation Manager prides herself in the cleanliness of her rooms and is always delighted to read when this is reflected in our guests stay. We understand the importance of a hearty breakfast in the morning also, to prepare our guests for a day of exploring our wonderful city of Edinburgh and so it is great to read you enjoyed our breakfast.

Julie S, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed over night in a triple room while on a visit to Edinburgh to see Lion King. Great location, five minutes from Waverley Station (where we parked car). Short walk to Princes Street and the Royal Mile.

Good sized room, spotlessly clean - no complaints at all. Friendly reception staff who arranged a taxi to the Playhouse.

Would certainly go back another time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Scotsgirl001,

Thank you for taking the time to share you recent experiences of Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

I hope you enjoyed the Lion King it has received nothing but wonderful reviews from our team and guests. It is great to read that you found out Hotel conveniently located for everything you needed.

Scotsgirl001, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

It's clean, but basic, friendly staff and a good location - that is where my recommendation ends.
Maybe we good a bad weekend, but apart from street noise, the hotel seemed a magnet for anyone who was on a Stag or Hen Party, we counted 5 different ones.
We stayed a couple of nights and after eating buffet style in a packed canteen style restaurant the first morning, I walked to the train station on the second to buy breakfast and take it back to the room.
I would not go back, so my view may be biased to that of someone who got a very busy party weekend, but I think Edinburgh has better options on offer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear GingerCmg,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

We appreciate all feedback to enable us to continuously improve both our product and service. It was great to read that you found out staff friendly and the Hotel conveniently located. After the Edinburgh Festival the entire city does become a favourite destination for stag and hen parties. However, at Jurys Inn Edinburgh we pride ourselves on our guests Good Nights Sleep and endeavour to be proactive in preventing both internal and external noise disturbances. I am hugely disappointed to read that this was not reflected on your stay and for this I am truly sorry.

GingerCmg, I would love to welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh and should you find yourself in Edinburgh in the near future, please do contact me and I shall be more than happy to assist with any accommodation needs.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jurys Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Edinburgh

Address: 43 Jeffrey St., Edinburgh EH1 1DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Edinburgh is located in the heart of Edinburgh's beautiful Old Town next to the famous Royal Mile and only a 2 min walk from Waverly Train Station. Princes Street and Edinburgh Castle are a pleasant 10-15 minute walk away. Whether you're looking for hotels in Edinburgh for business at the International Conference Centre, or touring Edinburgh Castle and the sights of historic Scotland's capital, our Edinburgh hotel means all your destinations are within easy and always interesting walking distance. The hotel features all day Costa coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 6pm to 10pm for dinner. If you arriving by car a nearby public car parking is available at Waverley Station car park. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. The rooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi - guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, our best price guarantee and can earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, JurysInn, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jurys Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Jurys Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurys Inn Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.