We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jurys Inn Edinburgh

Save Saved
You added Jurys Inn Edinburgh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Jeffrey St., Edinburgh EH1 1DH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed over night in a triple room while on a visit to Edinburgh to see Lion King. Great location, five minutes from Waverley Station (where we parked car). Short walk to Princes Street and the Royal Mile.

Good sized room, spotlessly clean - no complaints at all. Friendly reception staff who arranged a taxi to the Playhouse.

Would certainly go back another time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Scotsgirl001,

Thank you for taking the time to share you recent experiences of Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

I hope you enjoyed the Lion King it has received nothing but wonderful reviews from our team and guests. It is great to read that you found out Hotel conveniently located for everything you needed.

Scotsgirl001, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    547
    307
    112
    63
See reviews for
226
418
76
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

It's clean, but basic, friendly staff and a good location - that is where my recommendation ends.
Maybe we good a bad weekend, but apart from street noise, the hotel seemed a magnet for anyone who was on a Stag or Hen Party, we counted 5 different ones.
We stayed a couple of nights and after eating buffet style in a packed canteen style restaurant the first morning, I walked to the train station on the second to buy breakfast and take it back to the room.
I would not go back, so my view may be biased to that of someone who got a very busy party weekend, but I think Edinburgh has better options on offer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear GingerCmg,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

We appreciate all feedback to enable us to continuously improve both our product and service. It was great to read that you found out staff friendly and the Hotel conveniently located. After the Edinburgh Festival the entire city does become a favourite destination for stag and hen parties. However, at Jurys Inn Edinburgh we pride ourselves on our guests Good Nights Sleep and endeavour to be proactive in preventing both internal and external noise disturbances. I am hugely disappointed to read that this was not reflected on your stay and for this I am truly sorry.

GingerCmg, I would love to welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh and should you find yourself in Edinburgh in the near future, please do contact me and I shall be more than happy to assist with any accommodation needs.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Sk
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Jurys Inn is located right across the street from Waverly Train Station, a 3 minute walk with luggage. We stayed in room 523 which was on the corner and had a nice view of Calton Hill and the Waverly Train Station. The room was comfortable and bright. We could hear alot of street noise being on a busy street and across from a train station. We stayed there for 3 nights, so the noise was not that bad. Wi-Fi was $12.00 per night, not a good investment. We found free Wi-Fi in front of Star Bucks on the Royal Mile. The is no room safe.

We selected this hotel because of its location, as it was within walking distance to all the sights we wanted to see.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Gunnar_OShea,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent experience of Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

I was delighted to read that you found our Hotel conveniently located and you enjoyed the views that this offers. At present we do not offer safes in the room, however we do have Safety Deposit boxes located at Reception complimentary with 24 hour access should you wish to leave any valuables - however, we are continuously listening to our guests and so this shall be considered for future improvements within the Hotel.

Gunnar_OShea, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Perfectly nice double room in the centre of Edinburgh. Excellent view over Carlton Hill and Waverley Station from Floor 7. Room could do with a fridge but other than that all you need is at hand. Free Wifi code also given without having to ask.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear David F,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

I was pleased to read that you found our Hotel convenient for your needs. Our Hotel does provide some spectacular views of Edinburgh City Centre, especially at sunset.

David F, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Jury's Inn for a few nights while visiting Edinburgh. We got into town off of the night train from London (around 7:30 am) and headed straight to the hotel to drop our bags. The lady at the front desk went out of her way to find us a room that was already free so we could settle in! It was great to be able to get a room right away. The location was also amazing - about half way down the Royal Mile and also close to the train station. Would stay here again if we came back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear AlbertaBound0,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind words regarding your experiences at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

We understand that our guests arrive at our Hotel after a long journey and want to head out and enjoy our wonderful city and so we always endeavour to check our guests in as soon as a room becomes available. It was also great to read that you found our Hotel in such an awesome location for your needs.

AlbertaBound0, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed in Jury's Inn last weekend for a break. Great location walking distance to all key areas and attractions. Clean, good size bedrooms, quiet although in a central location. Very friendly staff and good breakfast and value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Ann881,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

It was great to read that our Hotel provided the perfect location for your needs and that the team we warm and welcoming. The team always delighted to read when a guest has enjoyed there stay.

Ann881, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I highly recommend this Inn. We stayed at the Jury's Inn in mid-October with family and friends for a family function. The location just below the Royal Mile gave a beautiful view of the North Bridge and old architecture while also within walking distance of Princes Street shops. A walk up the close behind the Inn brought us to shops, restaurants, churches, and Edinburgh Castle. The manager who arranged for our group accommodations was always, yes always, available, helpful and cheery wherever we were. We still don't understand how she did it! The rest of the staff in reception, restaurant, housekeeping, were also great. With the exception of misguided advice from a receptionist over cab fare (cash only and they do not bill to your room), information and service was spot on. The rooms are well appointed, though showering had some problems with a narrow tub with high sides to climb over, and water that ran hot and cold during the shower.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Mrmkiddo1,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind words regarding your recent stay with us at Jurys Inn Edinburgh

The team here always endeavour to go above and beyond for our guests and are delighted to read when this has been reflected on their stay. I believe the lady you spoke of in your review was Linda, who was there to assist on your family's special day and was over the moon to read your comments.

Mrmkiddo1, I hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future and if you do find yourself in Edinburgh again in the near future please do contact either Linda or myself and we would be more than happy to assist with any arrangements.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jurys Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Edinburgh

Address: 43 Jeffrey St., Edinburgh EH1 1DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Edinburgh 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Edinburgh is located in the heart of Edinburgh's beautiful Old Town next to the famous Royal Mile and only a 2 min walk from Waverly Train Station. Princes Street and Edinburgh Castle are a pleasant 10-15 minute walk away. Whether you're looking for hotels in Edinburgh for business at the International Conference Centre, or touring Edinburgh Castle and the sights of historic Scotland's capital, our Edinburgh hotel means all your destinations are within easy and always interesting walking distance. The hotel features all day Costa coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 6pm to 10pm for dinner. If you arriving by car a nearby public car parking is available at Waverley Station car park. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. The rooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi - guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, our best price guarantee and can earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, JurysInn, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Jurys Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Jurys Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurys Inn Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.