We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jurys Inn Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jurys Inn Edinburgh to your Saves list
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Jeffrey St., Edinburgh EH1 1DH, Scotland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kells, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Good location close to shops on princess st and princess mall,although the mall is quite small but good shops on princess st. Head out the back and up the steps and it brings you to the royal mile where there's plenty of bars or walk a few minutes further to the grass market for some craic agus ceoil in the irish bars. Breakfast in the hotel was good plenty of selection and the bar food was lovely too. Rooms fairly average nothing fancy but comfortable and warm. Staff very friendly especially Linda on reception and Norman in the bar. Would have no problem staying here again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire L, General Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review of the hotel, it's great to see that you were happy with our location and service. I've also passed your positive comments in on to the team here. Thank you for highlighting them I let Linda & Norman see your comments.

If I can ever assist with future bookings, please don't hesitate to contact me on claire_livingston@jurysinns.com

Kind Regards
Claire Livingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    778
    439
    149
    78
See reviews for
369
643
97
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Here for a weekend last may, great central location near the royal mile and princes street. Rooms were clean, self serve breakfast was fantastic - a mix of fruit/cereal/toast/full english - we definatley ate our moneys worth! Our room looked out onto the back of a few buildings but this didnt bother us as we were only there to sleep! The rooms to the front of the hotel would have a lovely view.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel have much nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just spent four nights at jury's inn in Edinburgh. Found the reception process and staff extremely helpful. Allowed into room as soon as we arrived at about 11am. The room was lovely and clean and warm. We had asked for a view of the station for our son and weren't disappointed. The breakfast was plentiful and very tasty with great choice. The hotel gave us everything we needed for our stay, which really is just somewhere to eat breakfast and sleep. All we ask for in an hotel is cleanliness with great staff which is what we got. Exit the station via the side exit and the hotel is less than 200yrds away. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Good views facing station, but quieter on opposite side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel location is fantastic. Less than 5 mins from the train station with excellent access to the Royal Mile, up the steps and less than two minutes walk. Princes Street is back towards the station, over the bridge and reached easily within ten minutes.

Check-in was quick and easy but finding the lifts was rather confusing – as you first have to cross an outdoor alley to gain access for the lifts to the bedrooms.

The room was a tiny bit tatty, needs redecorating but otherwise it was perfectly adequate, spacious and clean for the limited time spent there and the room was lovely and warm (so much so we had to turn the heating control down).

Breakfast was great – self service with a large selection of hot and cold food and drinks but rather busy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Literately yards away from Waverley railway station, location couldn't be better. You go out the back door up a few flights of steps and you're on the Royal Mile. About five minutes to Princess Street. It's not the best hotel I have ever stayed in but it's a long way from being the worst. The rooms were warm and spacious with everything you need. Breakfast were help yourself, hot or cold. The staff were very helpful. Can't understand how some people said they heard train noise. We never heard a thing. Overall if you're visiting Edinburgh you won't go far wrong if you stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gods Own Country
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Arrived by train to Waverley Station, walk to hotel approx. 5 minutes from station, easy to walk to.
Arrived at 12:50pm, but was able to check in straight away which was very quick and simple. Reception staff were welcoming and pleasant.

Asked for a nice quiet room with views, the views are to the front of the hotel, reception said would put us on a higher floor, 5th. Had to pay the bill on check in, though this was not a problem, we booked bed & breakfast. Was told that if the room was not acceptable (quiet) they would change to a different one, we kept the one they gave us.

2 swipe card keys were given, you have to use the swipe card to access the lift which was in the adjoining building through a court yard, in this building you can also find the breakfast room and bar.

Room to front of hotel, clean & tidy, overlooking Waverley Station and the town, Princess Street beyond.

The heating was not on in the room when we arrived, so put the radiator to full as it was January and cold, but luckily no snow in the town, the first night room felt cold as it took a while for the heating to come through.

Room: ~We were in a family room, double and single bed, although only 2 of us. Nice clean & tidy room, spare pillows and blankets if required. We did use the blanket, due to the radiator struggling to keep room warm, room was spacious with flat screen TV, internet connection, easy chair, 1 other chair, tea/coffee making facilities, & open plan wardrobe and shelves. 2 large windows in the room.

Bathroom: We were asked at reception if we liked a bath or shower, we opted for a room with shower. Large corner shaped shower, Gilchrist & Soames body wash/hair wash on wall in shower, hand wash above sink. No radiator in the bathroom, did not feel cold though. 1st time we came to use shower could not get it to turn on, so reported it to reception, they sent somebody up to our room within 15 minutes, so quick response, did get it working but admitted this was an old type shower, no problems after that.

Tea/Coffee: Was replenished each day, but no biscuits provided, we bought our own from pound shop in the shopping centre where - John Lewis's is, 2 packs of Cadbury's choc chip for £1.

After we had unpacked we went out for a walk to Calton Hill, you can see this from front of hotel, when we got back made a cuppa, just about to have our drink when fire alarm went off, so had to stand in street until fire engine came and gave the all clear, but this was very quick so not long outside. The hotel put on free tea/coffee & biscuits for our trouble, impressed with that.

As our room overlooked the train station, even 5 floors up you could hear the trains, but once we dropped off to sleep they did not wake us up at all. Rooms to the back of the hotel overlook other buildings so no view to speak of.

Breakfast: Breakfast is self service and very nice it was too. They take your name and room number on arrival, then you find a table and get tucked in. The usual cerial, jams, fruit, yogurt, bread, bagels, etc, then bacon, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, sausage, hash brown, grilled tomatoes and beans. You toast your own bread and there was individual small cheeses as well. Help your self to tea/coffee/fruit juices.

:Wifi in room costs £5 for 1 hour, or £10 for 24 hours
:Bottle of water left in room - £3.45 if you drink it
:Late checkout is advertised in lifts, as of Jan 2013 was usually £20, now £10 for early evening
checkout
:Upgrade room from £20 per night, ask receptionist
:No fridge in room
:No safe in room

There is a cash dispensing machine in reception - there is an additional charge of £1.75 for every transaction you make.

Evening Meal: There is a bar in the hotel where you can get your evening meal, we decided to dine in the 1st night, we ordered meat & ale pie, potatoes & veg. I think it was £8.99, not expensive, however, not a man's meal. The pie came with a flaky pastry top hat, 2 small new potatoes, and 1 small piece of broccoli and cauliflower, we did not dine there other nights.

To the back of the hotel you come to Chalmers Close, walk up there and you come out into the Royal Mile, we dined at Bella Italia one night and at The No 1 Royal Mile pub the other, but there is every type of eatery you can think of all along the Royal Mile.

We enjoyed our stay in Edinburgh, would we stay at Jury's again -YES - reason being it is so handy to the train station & The Royal Mile being just up some steps to the back of hotel, not far from Princess Street, clean, tidy room, staff very pleasant, and cost per room reasonable £68 B&B for 2 people per night when we stayed in January. The only thing that let our room down was the heating, cant blame the hotel for not having heating on in empty rooms.

Room Tip: You can upgrade room at an additional cost, would look into getting an up graded room next time if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My views are much the same as the other reviews I have read, though it wasn't quite as bad as I had pictured.
Arrival was poor, queues and a surly curt lady who checked us in. I was booked in to the Jurys on a trip with my work and stayed on for a couple of days sight seeing with work colleagues.
So a cold and frosty check in and a cold room, as with the other reviews, on entering the room it was freezing cold, the radiator had been turned off. Doesn't the hotel manager read the reviews?
Even when turned on the radiator is only lukewarm.
The room has a kettle, iron, tv but has stained carpets. Once a 4* now a 3* it obviously sees its competition as Premier Inn.
The bed is comfortable enough. The water was at least hot but the shower curtain sticks to you in the shower and there was some black mould in the bathroom. Cleanliness average.
No hint of Scottishness here, the staff are eastern euro, the drinks in the bar generic Jury's
Breakfast average too, juice from an industrial machine. The eggs, difficult to say if poached or fried had hard yolks, if you want a runny yolk its not the place for you. Breakfast staff moaning and groaning, saying they could do with more staff. The breakfast dining room only just coping with the numbers. The breakfast reception much happier than the main reeption.
Due to its £70 a night price tag it attracted lots of stag dos, holes punched in the walls in the morning near the lifts and lots of noise. incidentally my room was at the rear and the bins from the kitchen made lots of noise from early hours... as did the noise from the corridors... as did the noise from adjacent rooms, the walls are not well soundproofed.
There was a queue of 60+ for the lifts at one stage too.
Location very good... on the Mile and close to Princes Street.
Cheap enough but not scottish, no friendliness and £10 for internet. Coupled with the cold room and the noise, I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have the view and no kitchen noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire L, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review, we always appreciate guest feedback on the hotel and I apologize that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Although I would like to point out that we have always been a 3 star hotel – the hotel has not at any point been downgraded. We strive to provide Exceptional Everyday hotels with a consistent product and friendly genuine service and as you can see from other reviews most of our feedback is positive.

As an environmentally friendly hotel we do not leave lights switch on or the radiators turned up in the bedrooms when they are empty, to maintain our gold status as a green hotel we are obliged to save energy when rooms are not in use. The radiators are easily controlled by the thermostat and we are happy to provide additional heaters on request. I would however like to apologize for the mark in your bathroom; we strive to ensure all our rooms are kept to a high standard of cleanliness so will have this room treated immediately.

I am also sorry if you didn’t feel the staff were particularly welcoming, we regularly get positive comments about the levels of service offered by the staff so I am disappointed we have let you down in this instance. Although I am sure you understand we are not allowed to racially discriminate against foreign staff to provide a stronger “hint of Scottishness”

Also just to inform you that while we welcome anyone who would like to stay in the hotel, we do however have a strict policy towards disruptive behavior. We had a stag party in this weekend who were fined & given a final warning for being disruptive and causing damage to the wall on the 6th floor at 5am and asked to leave that morning. I would like to pass on my apologies if you were disturbed during your stay, and I can assure you that we repaired the damage that same day.

Please contact me on the e-mail address below if you would like to discuss any issues you experienced further.

Kind Regards
David Seed
Deputy General Manager
On Behalf Of Claire Livingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jurys Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Edinburgh

Address: 43 Jeffrey St., Edinburgh EH1 1DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Edinburgh is located in the heart of Edinburgh's beautiful Old Town next to the famous Royal Mile and only a 2 min walk from Waverly Train Station. Princes Street and Edinburgh Castle are a pleasant 10-15 minute walk away. Whether you're looking for hotels in Edinburgh for business at the International Conference Centre, or touring Edinburgh Castle and the sights of historic Scotland's capital, our Edinburgh hotel means all your destinations are within easy and always interesting walking distance. The hotel features all day Costa coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 6pm to 10pm for dinner. If you arriving by car a nearby public car parking is available at Waverley Station car park. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. The rooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi - guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, our best price guarantee and can earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, JurysInn, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Jurys Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Jurys Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurys Inn Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.