We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Street Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added High Street Hostel to your Saves list
High Street Hostel
8 Blackfriars St., Edinburgh EH1 1NE, Scotland (Cowgate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was very impressed with High Street's accommodations and services. I would definitely stay there again. The staff were all quite friendly and helpful. The location is ideal. The bathrooms/showers were very clean for hostel standards

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    84
    35
    17
    10
See reviews for
7
31
50
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very good location. Bathrooms and showers always clean. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, free lockers. But the main highlight for me was the staff. Very friendly and accommodating, very knowledgeable about Edinburgh. I had just come in from an all night bus ride and I was able to check in early and have a whole room to myself to recover. I would absolutely recommend this hostel to everyone. The strong smell that people are complaining about here is not a toilet smell, but the smell of carbolic soap which was used in schools (which this hostel used to be)!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pressignac-Vicq, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have never felt so at home at a hostel before. The rooms were very clean as were the showers and toilets. The location was perfect. Everything is within walking distance from the hostel and it doesn't matter at what time you come back, there's always somebody there. Free use of the kitchen was a big plus because going to dinner every night wasn't feasible for our budget.
I will definitely go back one day! Edinburgh is fantastic and so is the hostel!
Couldn't have asked for anything more!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

To me, when I'm staying in a hostel, the biggest thing to me is the cleanliness of the bathrooms and if the showers have enough hot water. The High Street Hostel hits these two points dead on the nose, so the fact that the room my boyfriend and I shared was miniscule wasn't something that bothered me much. And, yes, our room was tiny - the bed took up about half the space. But, hey, I was in town to see things, not to hang out in the room, so I didn't mind at all.

Location is great - you're literally right off of the Royal Mile, and you're fairly dead-center on the length of the road, so things such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, and Real Mary King's Close are within easy walking distance.

The hostel had a good atmosphere - the folks at the desk were helpful and willing to answer questions about where to eat, what to do, etc. I stayed on the top floor, and most nights it was fairly quiet; there was no partying going on in rooms that we knew of. And, like I said, the bathrooms were clean and there was plenty of hot water. I'm sometimes a bit leery of mixed gender bathrooms in hostels because I'm not interested in just having a shower curtain between myself and male strangers, but the shower stalls here have doors that fit completely into the cubicle wall and lock, so there's no chance of someone bursting in on you suddenly.

The room we stayed in was a private double, and it was absolutely cheaper than staying in some budget motel miles from the city center. On a daytrip to Stirling on the train, I saw from the train a couple of the budget motels I'd considered booking, and it would've been such a hassle to get from there to where things actually were!

I will note, though, that if you or someone you're traveling with has any mobility problems, you should book elsewhere, as there isn't an elevator on the premises. One of the folks at the desk helped me with a bag when we checked out, but if someone has trouble with getting upstairs, its going to be difficult to stay here.

Would definitely stay again, and really hope I get to!

Room Tip: floor seven was really quiet when I stayed there; I stayed for about a week and the hostel was prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I recently spent two weeks at the High Street Hostel. It was my first time staying in any hostel anywhere, and it was much better than I thought it would be! :) The staff was friendly and helpful, and there's always someone at the front desk. They dealt very quickly with late night noise issues, and it was TOTALLY worth it to pay them to do my laundry before I left. The hostel is less than a block off the Royal Mile, and within a few minutes walk of drugstores, grocery stores, pubs, restaurants, Princes Street, etc. There are also plenty of social events and ways to get involved for those who want to, but there's no pressure.

On the flip side, there are no electric outlets in the rooms, and wifi is only available in the lobby. This wasn't an issue for me, but it is for some. Also, the room I was in (Aquarium) got incredibly hot and stuffy at night when it was full, although that wouldn't have been an issue if my roommates had been willing to leave the window open. :P The showers and toilets are coed, which can be awkward, but the stalls are very private.

As long as it's a financial option, I WILL choose to stay in places where I can have my own room. If I ever need a hostel in Edinburgh again, I'd definitely stay at High Street again!

Room Tip: I like the option of sleeping in a female only room....there was a guy assigned to mine briefly, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

-Great location near South Bridge, 3 minutes walk to Waverley Station
-I was in female dorm called "Aquarium", the room was quite dark, but clean.
-Mixed gender of shower room and toilet seems not so good idea, even they are clean & ventilated.
-Helpful staff with a small bag of Christmas gift for everyone.
-No any plugs in the rooms, charging mobiles or cameras are only at the lobby!
-Free wifi is also only at reception.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Friendly staff, amazing location. Our trip was end of November, and the first night we were there, there was a sign telling us to leave the window open, and we had no heat! That was quite brutal, but the second night they brought a space heater.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Street Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Street Hostel

Address: 8 Blackfriars St., Edinburgh EH1 1NE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Cowgate , Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your High Street Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Street Hotel Edinburgh
High Street Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Street Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.