We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Rock Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Rock Hostel to your Saves list
Castle Rock Hostel
15 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh EH1 2PW, Scotland (Grassmarket)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed here for one night to see the city of Edinburgh. The hostel is about 5-10 mins walk from the train station and is situated right next to the castle! Rooms are big, plenty of locker space. Free coffee and tea in the social space was cool, nice and cheap breakfast in the morning. Nice chilled out hostel with good facilities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    236
    48
    12
    17
See reviews for
12
70
175
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Castle Rock Hostel was very pleasant, friendly staff and clean washing facilities. We did not take a look at the common room or the kitchen, there simply wasn't time for it. Our room was sufficient, there was nothing to complain about, it was a 4-Bed shared dorm. Also very convenient was the location of the hostel: situated in the Old Town and directly next to the stairs leading up to the Castle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Location is the best asset and its fun to live in a castle with an open fire in the lounge. Our small room was really clean. However the window let in a draft (someone did come and try and fix it) and individual bed lights didn't work. Communal areas look tired and sad, but it added to the charm of the place. Breakfast at an additional cost. I recommend trying Hulla Hulla cafe nearby. Really gross and dirty kitchen, don't use. Staff are really nice and helpful. Good choice for Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed two nights at castle rock thought this hostel was amazing! I've stayed in quite a few hostels before and this one topped a lot of them. The location of this hostel is amazing with a great view of the castle and within a five minute walk of almost everything! Staff were very friendly and I was able to get anything I needed. I didn't have a working adapter so they charged my camera for me behind the desk for no cost. My bed was actually extremely comfortable and I had a hard time getting up in the morning! There were several common areas for lounging around and using their free wifi, or you could use a desktop computer also for no cost. The only issue I had was that because the hostel was so big (my room was on the fourth floor I believe) I wasn't able to get wifi up there, so I had to go down to the common rooms to get online. Other than that I can't say anything bad about this place - I would definitely recommend!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very welcoming and helpful staff. Nice that each bed in the 12 bed female dorm had 2 power outlets. None of the rooms are ensuite though. Provided hair dryers for free and towels are 20p. Breakfast is charged separately...better off buying your own from the grocery store.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Castle Rock Hostel is in a great location - right at the base of the castle and a short walk to most of the main attractions and lots of decent pubs. There is also a Sainsbury's close by.

The hostel has two kitchens and a spacious lounge / dining area with a great atmosphere. There is also a movie room but we didn't try it out.

We stayed in a private (double) room with a shared bathroom. The bathrooms are clean and the everything works well. The only negative was that the room was quite small and cramped, and the walls were very thin so it could be quite noisy when people were coming back late at night or leaving early in the morning. Despite this, I thought overall that the hostel was great value and would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Esperance, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My sister and I stayed in several hostel on our trip through Europe and this was the best. We stayed in an eight bed dorm, which was clean, the beds already made, quite spacious, had lots of power points and USB docks and was comfortable. Each bed had a corresponding locker for your valuables. The hostel is in a great location, the breakfast is cheap, the staff are super friendly, you can hire towels for 80p, the showers are clean and you can get free wifi on the main floor. The hostel has a great vibe and we would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Rock Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Rock Hostel

Address: 15 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh EH1 2PW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Grassmarket , Old Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Castle Rock Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Rock Hotel Edinburgh
Castle Rock Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Rock Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.