We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Rock Hostel

Save Saved
You added Castle Rock Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Rock Hostel
15 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh EH1 2PW, Scotland (Grassmarket)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 177 Specialty lodging in Edinburgh
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Affordable Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

For our first stay in a hostel ever we were pretty impressed. The location was fantastic, and our room (an 8 bed dorm) had views of the Castle. The layout of the hostel was cool, with the rooms being a decent size and the bathrooms as well. The price for our stay was 12 pounds per person per night which we were pretty happy about! Each bed also has a large locker with plenty of space to stash your valuables; I could probably have put my whole bag in there if I wanted.

On the downside the major problem we had was the windows. As they are old they dont close properly so our room was freezing at night. The other problem was the lack of powerpoints. There was one set of power points on the other side of the room with an adapter to allow a few more, but Im sorry if this seems paranoid but no way would I plug my camera or phone in overnight on the other side of the room with complete strangers!

Other than that the stay was great :) the staff weren't the friendliest on reception, but no problems with our actual accommodation. Oh, and the beds were super comfy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal B, Manager at Castle Rock Hostel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have a charging facility at reception, you can leave all your valuables to be charged with us for free. We give you a little ticket, and all you need do is hand your ticket in to collect your phone/ camera fully charged :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    183
    42
    9
    16
See reviews for
12
53
139
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a really cool building in a great location. We had a room on the top floor, the window opened up to an awesome bird's eye view of the city! The downstairs common rooms were pretty loud at night, but we never had any issues with noise in our room. The bathrooms were small but were cleaned often. The location was awesome, we could walk right to the castle and Royal Mile, and the bus/train lines were not too far.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chidote, Tete, Mozambique
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed here last summer, this hostel has a great location, a great view, next to the Edimburgh Castle Rock. Prices are amazing, really affordable. The common room is really big, free internet, pool tables cozy. The staff is great really friendly and willing to help you with info and recommendations. Breakfast... expensive for what you actually get and there´s a person checking that you dont take more than one piece of bread. ome rooms are REALLY small, but whatever you ´re barely there. I strongly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Choose big bedrooms, have more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed at Castle Rock for my first trip to Edinburgh a few weeks ago. The hostel is huge and incredibly well run. It is very clean, it actually seemed like it was always being cleaned, a welcome change from the norm at most hostels. The staff were nice and fun, the facilities are really cool, big sitting rooms, lockers for each bed. The rooms were comfortable and spacious, beds were comfortable as well, depending on the room sleep was good, and the location is unbeatable. Would definitely recommend staying here. Make sure you do the Hostels Pub Crawl while you're in Edinburgh, it is really well done and a blast!

Room Tip: Single sex rooms were very quiet, mixed dorms less so but more fun. Choose corner rooms if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This place is literally in the shadow of the castle and footsteps away from the Royal Mile... the walk from the bus / train station is not bad either.. Had a two night stay in this wonderful city. We had one of the double rooms on the top floor and were very pleased. It was small but perfect for a couple of nights. The basin in the room was a pleasant surprise. The bed was comfortable and the sheets and room were all very clean. The toilets / wash rooms are very well maintained too and seem big enough. Staff were all friendly and all the lounges were nice too. I didn't use the kitchen facilities so can't really comment on that. Recommend 'Hula' for breakfast around the corner. Would certainly stay here again!... Just a side note, there was no form of window covering so if you like darkness then I would take an eye mask.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stopped in here and had a wonderful experience! Neal the manager showed me around the hostel and made my stay in Edinburgh awesome! It amazing how clean they keep it for such a large place! Definitely will return someday!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal B, Manager at Castle Rock Hostel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Was a pleasure having you guys, come back soon :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed at the hostel during the summer and though i have had experiences in other hostels and other hotels all over the world id say this tops the hostel market. Its right next to the castle and has amazing views over the city. I only stayed for 2 nights before moving into my place but it was fabulous. Clean areas, lots of things to do and just a short walk from old and new town. I recommend this hostel to all visiting Edinburgh looking for cheap acommodation for a few nights.

Room Tip: a 4 bed dorm will do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle Rock Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Rock Hostel

Address: 15 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh EH1 2PW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Grassmarket , Old Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 177 Specialty lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Castle Rock Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Rock Hotel Edinburgh
Castle Rock Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Rock Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.