We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Rock Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Rock Hostel to your Saves list
Castle Rock Hostel
15 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh EH1 2PW, Scotland (Grassmarket)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Turku, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed with my brother and sister there for a couple of nights. It is a very exiting hostel with lots to see and a great location. It was next to the castle and the royal mile. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal B, Manager at Castle Rock Hostel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Glad you guys enjoyed Edinburgh, be great to have you all back again sometime :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    237
    48
    12
    17
See reviews for
12
70
176
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Castle Rock is locally owned, and while I was there I saw either one of the owners or one of their representatives hovering around making sure things were running smoothly and training new staff, which was an encouragement.

Pros:
1) The place is generally clean with the exception of the main lounge floor which is a bit sticky.
2) Free (though abysmally slow) Wifi throughout the lounge area.
3) Computers for rent at a reasonable price
4) Snacks and drinks available without markup
5) Reasonably priced (though meager) breakfast.

Cons:
1) Social life is terribly cliquey - mostly long termers who don't care to get to know the transients. If you don't bring your own friends you're unlikely to make any here. Additionally people tend to stick with their own language and national groups - the Spaniards with the Spaniards, Italians with the Italians, etc.
2) Because the population is mostly long-termers, they go to bed extremely early - lights out in my dorm room was before 9PM.
3) People can't be bothered to follow simple posted rules like washing and drying their own dishes or not using laptops etc. in the social lounge.

On the whole, it's a good hostel run well, just a victim of the social atmosphere that has arisen in it unbidden. Probably also a significant victim of the economic downturn in Italy, Spain, and Portugal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
459 helpful votes 459 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hostel is right in front of Edinburgh Castle. You cannot ask for a better location.

It has big cozy common rooms with free wi-fi, a movie room, computers, a kitchen and friendly staff. The place is huge, the overall atmosphere is fun and light, yet peaceful and secure. There is a 24hr reception, breakfast for 1.80£ and also a Pub Crawl every Thursday. My only issue was that the wi-fi was quite spotty and poor, even going out of service for a whole day.

All the rooms have names. We had the Twin room (Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde) at 17£ per person, per night. Honestly, it is the smallest hostel room I’ve ever stayed in. It did not have any lockers or a safe, but had a lock on the door. It was super clean and the bed was very comfortable. Linens are provided and you can rent a bath towel for 50p. Not necessarily the place I would take my spouse, but a great base for a weekend in Edinburgh with a friend.

Be aware that the common bathrooms are co-ed, with separate shower sections. The bathrooms were probably the cleanest I have seen in any hostel. The showers are small, but have a hook behind the door for your clothes and a curtain to keep them dry.

If you take into account what a very basic hotel room costs in the same neighbourhood, this hostel offers excellent value. Despite the fact that our Twin room was über-small: Overall, the location, service, cleanliness and price make this hostel highly recommendable.

Room Tip: They only have one "Twin" room. It's very small, but good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal B, Manager at Castle Rock Hostel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thanks for your review, glad you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here for 2 separate nights, a week apart, in a triple private room. The first one was tiny and had very basic furnishing. It wasn't very clean and had only one wall socket which was blocked by the radiator and therefore we could not use it at all. The second one was slightly bigger and had nicer furnishing but reeked of sweaty feet. It looked clean though. This room had about 8 wall sockets! The hostel communal area itself was cool and the showers were hot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The location of this hostel is great, for one. You can look out a window and see Edinburgh Castle right next door, and it's right on the Royal Mile. The dorms offer lockers, and though they aren't big enough for larger luggage, they are sizable enough to fit most things you'd want locked up. The staff offer laundry services where they'll wash and fold your laundry and leave it on your bed. Also, they'll charge your electronic devices at the front desk for you as well. The lounge has free wifi, and there's a kitchen for use. Especially for the price, this hostel was a great choice for our trip! Even though the rooms are dorms, people actually didn't keep me up or wake me up like they have in some hostels I've stayed in. They have co-ed bathrooms, though they offer smaller female-only as well. The decor is quite ... interesting, as well, and is quite colorful and unusual.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed 2 nights on two separate occasions. The first dorm was great, up on the first floor. Bright, inviting and good value for money. The second time I was in one of the dorms in the basement, dark, not very nice. It was a 14 bed dorm, the same amount of money as the 10 bed dorm and absolutely no power sockets for the 14 people who were in the dorm. During my previous stay, each bed had two power sockets and the showers were cleaner and better.
For poorer facilities, you should not have to pay as much as a room with better facilities.
I would recommend getting a dorm on the first floor and definitely not one on the lowest level.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal B, Manager at Castle Rock Hostel, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
The 14 bed dorm on level one is very spacious, with big Victorian windows and high ceilings not sure why you found it dark? The room is also currently in the process of having power sockets installed, hurray! We do also charge phones laptops in the safety of our reception for freeeee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Excellent lodging in Edinburgh. The hostel is located right at the bottom of the castle, and you have a lovely view of the city from the rooms. The hostel was huge with may rooms and winding staircases and hallways, much like a castle on its own really. They had many common areas and lounge areas too. Each bedroom is designed with a particular theme, and the decor of the room was matched by that - pretty interesting really! Shower facilities were great : clean and had many cubicles as well. My only gripe was that the wi-fi wasn't strong enough, and having to use the connection while planning the other parts of the trip made it tiresome. Also, service from the staff varies from one to the other ; overall it was good, but it can be better.

Castle rock is situated in a good location 3 minutes walk from the royal mile and 5minutes walk to waverly station and bus stop.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Rock Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Rock Hostel

Address: 15 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh EH1 2PW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Grassmarket , Old Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Castle Rock Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Rock Hotel Edinburgh
Castle Rock Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Rock Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.