We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bonham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Bonham to your Saves list
The Bonham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland (West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% off Best Rates
Ranked #55 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent service?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

I stayed at the Bonham for 2 nights with my boyfriend.

The service on arrival was excellent, staff holding doors open for you every which way you turned and I was looking forward to the room as we'd booked a superior room. I wouldn't say that I was disappointed but maybe surprised by the room. It was very spacious and the bed was huge, the bathroom lovely and all was very clean. I know that it is an old building but the room overall seemed quite dated. I was really happy with it though.

The hotel is located in a lovely area of Edinburgh, really quiet but a short walk to the buzz of the city. We had two lovely meals out, the second at the Atrium (brilliant) as a birthday treat and then back to the hotel for a couple of drinks. This is where there was a problem....the staff were quick to take our drinks order but incredibly slow to deliver!

  • Liked — spacious clean rooms
  • Disliked — poor bar service
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    283
    105
    49
    10
See reviews for
60
536
36
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

We recently stayed four nights at the Bonham in early April, and were very happy with our experience. Located in the New Town, quite near Dean Bridge, it was about a 10-15 ride by taxi from Waverly train station, depending on the traffic. It's situated on a very quiet street that offers a little shelter from the hustle and bustle of the city. The lobby area doubles as a lounge; check-in was quick and professional, and we were shown to our room promptly. The place is nicely decorated, with some interesting lighting touches in the public areas.

The room was large, clean and very quiet, with thick drapes that foiled light and sound: when closed, we could scarcely believe we were in a large city. Even when the hotel filled up with traveling business persons and even hosted a conference during the week, it was a very welcome and relaxing experience after a very long transatlantic journey. All the furnishings were very comfortable, especially the full king-sized bed and the wheeled easy chairs that we could draw up easily to either the window or in front of the flat-screen television (which has a free web-TV feature that could be very handy for anyone traveling without a laptop computer, but it was not easy to navigate the web with it).

The hotel restaurant menu offered an interesting combination of traditional and modern, a welcome change from the usual Scots-French fare common throughout the city. We enjoyed dinner there once, and room service on several occasions. A word about the room service: impeccable, and quite possibly the very best we've ever had traveling anywhere in Europe.

Walking to Princes Street and the main part of the New Town was easy, about 10 minutes at most. Reaching the Royal Mile on foot was a little more challenging and takes longer. You could walk all the way around the west face of Castle Hill and up to the Mile from the south side, but a more picturesque route is to walk to Princes Street and either walk up the Mound or stroll through the Princes Street Gardens. Depending on whether or not you're a quick walker and get easily distracted, allow for at least a half hour by these routes (the same for walking to Waverly Station along Princes Street if you're carrying luggage).

Altogether we were impressed with the hotel and staff, and we'd be happy to return.

  • Liked — Location, staff professionalism, restaurant
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2007

having stayed in this hotel when it first opened in 1998, I was interested to see if it would live up to my memories of my previous stay. There is now on site parking, available on a first come basis, which was not available years ago and detered us from staying here as on street parking in Edinburgh is very expensive. The staff were very friendly throughout our visit and we even got free drinks from the duty manager as I had mentioned it was our wedding anniversary!
The bedrooms are very spacious, very comfortable beds, with clean well equipped bathrooms. We were on the 2nd floor at the back so had wonderful views over the city.
The restaurant is well worth a visit and has been recently been tastefully decorated- the manager told us that the rest of the hotel is getting gradually upgraded too.

  • Liked — spacious bedrooms
  • Disliked — no air conditioning
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2007

I stayed at the Bonham for three nights on a pre-Christmas break with my boyfriend.

We were really impressed with the hotel - the room was comfortable and stylish with loads of character and we had a fantastic Victorian-style bathroom. The reception, restaurant and lounge were also great, as was the breakfast. Room service was delicious but a bit over-priced.

The hotel was very quiet - the only problem we experienced was when the occupants of the room next to us decided to have a party at 3am, but we rang down to reception and they sorted it out quickly and discretely. The location is great - on a quiet square but within walking distance of the city centre and very near Haymarket station.

Overall the staff were very friendly - I had flu for most of our stay and they couldn't have been more helpful, directing us to the nearist pharmacist and providing complimentary Lemsip!

All in all, we would highly recommend the Bonham.

  • Liked — The fantastic rooms and great food
  • Disliked — A bit pricey, but great nonetheless
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2007

I stayed at the Bonham last weekend - it is located in an old Victorian House about 7 minutes walk from Princes street and easily accessible to all the attracions that Edinburgh has to offer. My room was not ready on arrival but the staff were helpful. I returned at about 2.00pm and got access to my room.
Hotel is marketed as being cutting edge and funky and while there are elements of this they are not enough to create a WOW effect in the Public areas or bedrooms.
Good things about the room were free wireless internet access and a good plasma TV but with very annoying controls. Batthoom was good with Molton Brown amenities.
Best thing about this hotel is the restaurant - I had lunch and it was one of the best I have had for a while - quality of food , imgination ,presentation,service were all excellent - well worth a visit.
Could definitley recommend this hotel if you are visiting Edinburgh

  • Liked — Food and Location
  • Disliked — Room Furniture
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2007

The Bonham is a decent hotel, but it is timeworn and a bit timewarped. It is a boutique and hip hotel -- for 1997, not 2007. The decor is psuedo post-modern, and even the swirly bench in the lobby which is featured on its web site has a sizable tear with stuffing sticking out. For this reason, I give it a neutral.

The positives: (1) helpful and courteous staff; (2) location that is decent, particularly if you like modern art, since the Scottish National Gallery and the Dean museums are within a five-minute walk.

One final note: If I were to do Edinburgh again, I'd try something four-star on the Royal Mile. This hotel is about a 25-minute walk from that particular tourist hub.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2007

I stayed in the Bonham over the weekend of 9th - 10th March 2007. It couldn't have been a better choice. The location was perfect - just 5 minutes walk from Princes Street, which meant it was quiet and peaceful but close enough to walk everywhere. It was certainly a better choice than hotels on the very busy and noisy George Street (where most of the bars and restaurants are) yet close enough to stroll there to eat and drink. The room was beautifully decorated with a very large comfortable bed, and the Molton Brown toiletries in the batchroom were an added bonus.

I can't understand previously posted comments about the service or the food. Staff at the hotel could not have been more helpful or polite, even noting that it was my birthday and giving us a couple of free drinks to celebrate, and the breakfasts (we didn't have an evening meal there) were excellent. The quality of the breakfast was amongst the best I have had in any hotel.

I would definitely stay at the Bonham again.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bonham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonham

Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#55 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bonham is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham hotel in Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Bonham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
The Bonham Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bonham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.