We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive boutique hotel at very competative rates” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bonham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Bonham to your Saves list
The Bonham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland (West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% off Best Rates
Ranked #39 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
cumbria
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Impressive boutique hotel at very competative rates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

I stayed for 2 nights in one of the smaller double rooms and paid £90 B&B. I expected the room to be tiny, possibly quite dark and cramped. What I got was a lovely surprise, a very well sized room with a queen sized bed (larger than a double but not kind sized) and a fabulous view through the massive baywindow over the rooftops and down to the Forth. I loved the room and the view made the whole stay wonderful.

The setting is lovely, in a georgain square in the New Town opposite a gated park and is about 10 mins walk into town. The terrace is on a hill so if your room is at the rear the views are quintessential Edinburgh. The staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. I used the carpark and understood beforehand that it would be small and was just thankful that id found a hotel in the city that had one. I was asked to leave my key if I was blocking someone in, I think the previous reviewer either had an excpetional experience or the night staff need to be better informed.

I ate in the resteraunt and did find the menu limted though the food was very good. Its very very meat/fish orientated, not much for veggies and little veg is served with the meal. Having said that top marks from me, I don't think you would be dissappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    262
    94
    42
    10
See reviews for
55
508
35
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

I have just returned from two nights at this hotel. Having stayed at their sister hotel The Edinburgh Residence on a previous trip to Edinburgh I had no hesitation in choosing this hotel. First impressions count in a hotel so a receptionist who made no small talk or offered no more than a gruff hello wasn't good. It seemed that we were given the poorest room in the hotel, on the route out of the hotel overlooking the car park. On both mornings we were woken very early by loud guests dragging their luggage past our room. The bathroom was very small and old fashioned. Although offering Molten Brown toiletries is a nice touch, do they need to be bolted onto the wall? If the hotel doesn't trust it's guests not to steal them then they shouldn't be in the bathroom at all.
The service and quality of breakfast was poor. I asked for some semi skimmed because I don't drink full fat milk and the girl I asked seemed put out having to do some work. If you want hot food you have to pay extra for it. For a hotel which prides itself on it's restaurant it should have showcased it's ability at breakfast, I think more residents would then stay in for dinner.
Check out was also dismal. I think the staff could do with some interpersonal training as the hotel could be so much better if the staff tried a bit harder.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebonham, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review, July 31, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at The Bonham. I will be writing to you personally to respond to the comments that you have made.

Kind regards

Johanne Falconer
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

This is an excellent, relatively small, hotel. Staff throughout were cheerful, courteous and helpful. Nicely appointed quiet rooms - we had a competitive rate of £93.50 incl breakfast. A high quality dining room, albeit quite expensive with perhaps a limited choice for anyone preferring "good English cooking (or Scottish for that matter)". Nevertheless you shouldn't miss dining "in" on at least one occasion during a stay. Breakfast had a comprehensive buffet or choice of cooked fare. One fault only - as many others have stated - the rooms are warm and no air-conditioning.

Easy walking distance of Princes Street and on to the Edinburgh attractions. Take the City Tour bus (hop-on/hop-off) for a reasonable price with a good "live" commentary by a real person. None of those infernal headphones.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

My wife and I had a short break here.
Lovely hotel with old fashioned classy atmosphere. Close to the city centre.
Fantastic room with all you could need. Furnished and decorated to a very high standard.

Will probably go back which is something we very rarely do!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Maybe we have been totally spoiled as we view all hotels by comparison to the standards of the exceptional Manoir-La- Betoulle in Saint Claud – Charente – France, were we stay in their magnolia room for a mere 70 euros per night.

In comparison we paid £222.76 Bed & Breakfast at the Bonham.

Arriving at 11pm (24hour check in), the hotel is set in a beautiful crescent of local stone terraced properties overlooking a gated park. An Impressive looking building. Upon entering the hotel- the panes of glass in the front doorway were not clean the hallway carpet looked un-vacuumed, walking through to the reception area we noted the tired furniture. We were shown to our room which was no comparison to those on the web site - extremely cramped with a free standing cheap looking wardrobe in the corner which you had to move both the coffee table and the chair in order to gain access. The tall mirror outside the bathroom was frameless and cheap looking, the towels in the bathroom were worn and thin and the toilet paper was of the cheapest quality imaginable. There was a thick layer of dust on the bedside lamps, curtains and window. The staff on night duty both reception and porter were polite, warm and welcoming.

The car park was impractical, totally inadequate for the number of guest rooms. We had no alternative but to park in an inappropriate disabled space which blocked other cars in. On awaking the following morning my Husband and I went to see if we could move our vehicle to a more appropriate parking space and were rudely confronted by a member of staff who without greeting barked are you 111 (our room number). My Husband said yes. The chap then said “you have been blocking my guests in” My Husband apologized and told the chap we had come to move the vehicle at which point he barked again “you should have left your keys with reception. My husband told him we hadn’t checked in until gone 11pm and the receptionist hadn’t requested us to do so. “Well that’s not my problem, it is 24 hour check in” the chap retorted rudely (there are ways and means of getting your point across politely. We feel this chap could make good use of a customer relations course).

In our opinion everyone no matter how small their role in a customer based organization needs to have the correct manner of dealing with people as this spoiled our time at the hotel.

The rest of the staff we encountered during are stay were polite and helpful.

We wouldn’t stay at this hotel again or recommend it to anyone as there were other establishments we looked at prior to our stay which we now feel would have afforded us a more comfort and a more pleasurable stay in Edinburgh.

The vast majority of people we met during our time in Edinburgh were lovely warm and friendly. The architecture of Edinburgh is beautiful.

The shops are excellent with a fine array of one off unique boutiques.

Although I researched Michelin starred restaurants prior to our trip, unfortunately we didn’t have the time to eat in any of them.

We ate lunch at Oloroso which was nice but not special. I ordered fillet steak which I asked to be cooked medium but was well done when it arrived. It was a fine cut of fillet, a shame it had been overcooked. The staff were exceptional.

The purpose for our visit was to see Rod Stewart perform at Edinburgh Castle. We paid £458.00 each for the tickets from GETMEIN.Com. On arrival they had a face value of £70 each. We hadn’t realized it was an outdoor event. The rain came down in buckets all evening, but Rod Stewart carried on like a true star and despite the terrible weather conditions soldiered on in his professional style with a cheeky smile bags of charisma and humorous chatter. He was amazing.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Bonham. The staff were friendly and helpful, with a genuine 'can do' attitude - nothing was too much trouble. We booked the 'petite' room and were expecting something very small - we were absolutely delighted to find that the room was not in the least bit small! It was beautifully decorated, the view of the city was stunning, the bathroom was lovely and the homemade sweets waiting for us when we arrived were a real treat. Free wifi in the room and lobby was a great bonus.

The Bonham is in a great location - it's a few minutes walk from Princes Street and there are a number of lovely bars and restaurants nearby. I can recommend The Witchery near the castle for a romantic and intimate dinner, and The West Room a minute's walk from the hotel for a pre-dinner drink or a deliciour morning coffee.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

We have just stayed at the Bonham for 3 nights and enjoyed a very nice stay there.
The hotel is based in a very quiet part of the city if you're staying at the weekend as its near to the financial area & the hotel was completely free of any stag/hen nights that seemed to be in high number in the city.
Check in/out was extremely quick and efficient, the rooms are very clean and well decorated, if perhaps a little on the small side.
It's just 10/15 mins walk from the main shopping and tourist areas and about 30 mins walk to the train station and about the same to the castle.
The cooked breakfast is very nice, you won't be hingry for hours. The service could improve a little however as each morning we had to ask for either milk for our coffee's or a spoon to stir it with, just little things really.
We used one of the tour buses as a means of accomodation, your ticket lasts for 24 hours so you can hop on and off all over the city, we did a 10pm ghost walk with mercat tours, this was very good providing a great historical account of the city and included a trip down into the historic and 'haunted' vaults underneath the city.
Would definately recommend to a friend...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bonham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonham

Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#55 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bonham is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham hotel in Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Bonham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
The Bonham Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bonham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.