We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from Home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bonham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Bonham to your Saves list
The Bonham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland (West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% off Best Rates
Ranked #53 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Away from Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Can a hotel ever be as good as staying at your own home? I'm supposing that most people actually like their own homes. I don't think a Hotel ever can, and realising that and hoping that your fellow guests see it that way too makes for a relaxed visit. At home we don't have staff to do so many familiar things for us. A good hotel staff should be there to make the unfamiliar easy and I think those at the Bonham did manage to achieve that. Also, just as home has its imperfections, so do all hotels. Every room can't be the best room. Everyone's taste can't be accommodated. Again, I think the Bonham did pretty well. The imperfections did not really intrude on my visit, but was there a Wow Factor ? Almost, but not quite.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    284
    105
    49
    10
See reviews for
60
538
36
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We booked this hotel for a birthday celebration and couldn't fault it. Our room was on the third floor and had fabulous views over the Forth and the city. We ate in the restaurant from the Market Menu which gave us a choice of three/four dishes for each course and was excellent value. The restaurant service at dinner was first class. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a short break if you fancy treating yourself.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We booked this hotel for just one nights stay, primarily for its close location to the centre of Edinburgh and the free parking. The car park was great and easy to find. The walk into the centre was only a few minutes. The welcome at the hotel was pleasant. Our room was on the third floor, a reasonable size with lovely views across Edinburgh. It was very clean. There was a good selection at breakfast, would recommend the full Scottish breakfast - cooked to order, lovely and fresh. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie A, Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
I am delighted that you enjoyed your time at The Bonham. I will be placing your review onto our staff notice board for all of the team to see.
We are very fortunate to have our own private car park for guest use and pleased that you were able to use this during your time with us.
I do hope that i can welcome you back to The Bonham very soon.

Kind regards

Johanne Falconer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester,
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We booked this at quite short notice and were so glad we did. Everything was excellent. The staff were great, friendly and helpful, the room spacious, clean and comfortable, the food delicious, free parking a boon and the location ideal. What more could you need?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

An overnight stay at this hotel was made even better when we checked in and were upgraded to a suite - all the more special because it was a birthday celebration. The welcome by the staff was warm and the service throughout the stay was exceptional. The dinner was excellent and the choice very good. The breakfast - a choice of full Scottish or Continental - set us up nicely for our trip to the national museum which was a short 20 minute walk away. Our suite was wonderfully elegant and had a fire! The toiletries and bath robe were sumptuous too. I couldn't wait to tell everyone. I can't wait to go back. The hotel is so central and very near to Princes Street and George Street for shopping.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed with friends for three nights at the hotel. The staff were very friendly, professional and were always attentive to our needs. The rooms were very clean and had a king size bed as requested. The hotel has comfortable and quiet areas to relax and read a book or even fall asleep in the chair. It has free parking and is in a good location to walk to most of the sights in Edinburgh. If your not inclined to walking it's a short taxi drive to the Royal Mile which means you can leave your car at home (which I would advise if you are getting around the city). The intimate bar provided a very comfortable environment and was a lovely place to have a pre dinner drink or a night cap before retiring.

A tip for travellers would be to book early and try to get a room that overlooks the lovely Drumsheigh Gardens.

We thoroughly recommend this hotel to all.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My boyfriend booked us here for 1 night for my 21st birthday. The whole place was spotless includin the room. Big cosy rooms with the cosiest bed i have ever slept in. The staff couldnt do more for you especially reception staff. The meal was beautiful but portion sizes were quiet small but to be expected as its fine dining. Couldnt fault the place would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bonham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonham

Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#55 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bonham is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham hotel in Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Bonham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
The Bonham Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bonham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.