We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Witchery by the Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Witchery by the Castle to your Saves list
The Witchery by the Castle
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   The Royal Mile | Castlehill, Edinburgh EH1 2NF, Scotland (Castle / Royal Mile / High St)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Glenrothes,Fife,Scotland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights in Guardroom for our 6th wedding anniversary on May1st and we were absolutely delighted with our choice, the famous Roxy showed us to our suite up the winding stairway. The suite was larger than I had anticipated and the classical music playing in the background was very appropriate. The kitchen area is discreetly hidden on your left as you enter the suite and into a small reception area (complete with ice bucket and champagne) and then the long corridor with breakfast/sitting room on your left, then bathroom and finally the bedroom. The room was quiet as it is at the back of the building but although you can see across the Forth towards Fife you are peering over rooftops. There are several uniforms to try on and have some fun with! The rooms are full of character, charm are all classically decorated and in good repair, just perfect for a weekend of what we had in mind. The breakfast hamper is delivered to the sitting room for you each morning and the champagne is replaced with fresh ice as well.
We ate in the Secret Garden on the Friday and although it was a bit pricey it was very good with the waiter giving appropriate level of attention to us, we both enjoyed our choices. Despite only living 30 miles away and myself being born in Midlothian I had never visited any tourist attraction on the Royal Mile (except the Castle) so we chose Mary Kings Close and it was excellent, if you intend to go take a small child doll or teddy to leave at some point during the tour, wont spoil it by saying why.
We spent as much time in the suite as possible, we already had tickets for Les Miserables on the Saturday and we thoroughly enjoyed our anniversary weekend, Margaret the housemaid was even good enough to show us inside the Old Rectory and it's huge. In all one of the best places we have stayed and will return but its difficult to get the Old Rectory though, still plenty more to choose from and there will be a new addition later this year as well, called the Heriot. What else could have made this weekend perfect? Oh yes Hibs 1 Hearts 2 LoL.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    86
    46
    45
    30
See reviews for
37
473
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Simply stunning. Stayed here to celebrate my partners birthday....felt like we were on honeymoon. Amazing, magical suite of rooms with four poster, antiques, champagne on ice on arrival, loads and loads of space....just like staying in a castle. The company's website does not do it justice.....

Very romantic and decadent....Yes expensive but worth every penny. Impeccable service and stunning food at the restaurant. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namest nad Oslavou, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

We stayed in the Guards Room. Very decadent and interesting furnishings and a lot larger than we expected. However, although beautifully firnished with antique chairs and couches they were actually not comfortable for sitting and its very dark. Surprised to find a kitchen in the suite. The DVD player did not work.

We had lunch in the restaurant which was over priced and frankly disappointing. Would not eat there again.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

this suite was like no other i've ever stayed in, when the website says book a "room", what they really mean is book an entire house with the most incredible decor.
we stayed in the sempill suite - on entry a bottle of champagne was waiting in the entrance hall, the kitchen was complete with everything you could need (not that we cooked!).
the lounge area had beautiful sofas facing a fire, with a table and chairs sat next to it and a guest book lying on the table opposite. in the morning, breakfast was delivered in a basket and set out on the table unless you wanted it just delivered and left in the basket (it had EVERYTHING a continental breakfast should and far too much of it to finish!)
the bedroom had a huge 4 poster bed, two "thrones" facing a big flat screen tv hidden in a cupboard, and an ottoman with old books on it. the bose sound system came with radio and cds as well as dvds to watch. there were also ghd hair straighteners and hair dryer next to the huge mirror.
the bathroom had lovely underfloor heating and a gorgeous big bath with curtain all around it, big enough for two. the molten brown toiletries were everywhere and the sink was put under a big lit mirror.

all of this was done in very historic decor and the service was faultless - roxy was there for everything from carrying bags to showing us round when we arrived. he was such a lovely guy with a fantastic sense of humour. we ate at the secret garden restaurant which was such gorgeous food, and at £30 for 3 courses, not expensive. the wine list was massive and the bottle of red we chose was delicious.

overall, right in the heart of edinburgh, this really was the most amazing place and needs to be seen to be believed!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

I read the review below and thought my partner must have written it as we also stayed in The Guardroom for Valentine's weekend. However we stayed on Saturday, 13th and checked out on Valentine's Day. The suite was exceptional with a large 4 poster bed, champagne on ice and a classical CD playing discreetly in the background. We have stayed in The Inner Sanctum and The Vestry and they all seem to have their own advantages. The Guardroom was spacious and a good shape with rooms off a long, narrow corridor. The hotel does not have it's own car park or valet parking but we just parked around the corner and paid from 3pm - 6:30pm on the Saturday as Sunday is free parking anyway. We went for dinner in The Secret Garden and must admit I was nervous having read mixed reviews however the meal, service etc was outstanding! We ate a la carte (which I would recommend) - the pre-theatre / £30 menu have limited selection so if you're going out for a special occasion I'd encourage you to spend a little more, as ultimately, you get what you pay for. My partner had the fish soup (excellent) and I had scallops (perfectly cooked and tender) Our mains were Venison and "3 Little Pigs" and once again, the meat was tender and melted in the mouth! Chips are a little extra but this is an award winning restaurant and a fantastic culinary experience and well worth the money. Our sommelier, Jeff, pointed us in the right direction of a complementary bottle of wine to go with our food. The bottled water is expensive but it beats Edinburgh tap water :)
I get frustrated at the poor reviews The Witchery gets as it is my favourite restaurant in Edinburgh. Give The Witchery a try, it is not cheap but it is worth it - you will not be disappointed! Staff are far from pretentious but rather, in my experience, friendly and accommodating! Thanks for a relaxing stay!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

After looking forward to visiting the Witchery for months we were very disappointed with our Lunch. Went for the 3 courses for £30 on Valentines Day. Staff were brilliant , very friendly and attentive and the surrounding were superb BUT the food was not great at all for the cost. I have the soup for starters, very very bland like hot water. My Main course of Goats Cheese Tart was marginally better but you had to order side dishes( £4 for 8 chips) as the portions were very small. The service whilst good was very very slow it took 45 mins for our starters. Very disappointing and not good value for money will not be going back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

We have just returned from a very romantic Valentines stay at the Witchery in Edinburgh.
We stayed in the Guardsroom which is absolutely gorgeous, staff were very welcoming and attentive, nothing was too much trouble. In the room there are guards uniforms dotted throughout the apartment very unique never stayed anywhere quite like this. There was a reception area, seperate kitchen, sitting room where we were served breakfast, seperate bathroom and large bedroom all within the suite. We had a continental breakfast which was lovely, very fresh and tasty. The location is amazing (just at the entrance to the castle) and the suite decor was out of this world. This is without question the place to go for a special occasion or an extra special romantic getaway. never tried the resturaunt due to mixed reviews, but next time we might just take the plunge as some people we spoke with thoroughly enjoyed their meal. Can't wait to try one of the other rooms in the future.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Witchery by the Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Witchery by the Castle

Address: The Royal Mile | Castlehill, Edinburgh EH1 2NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Castle / Royal Mile / High St , Old Town
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Witchery by the Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Witchery by the Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Witchery By The Castle Hotel Edinburgh
Witchery Edinburgh
Edinburgh Witchery
Witchery Hotel Edinburgh
The Witchery By The Castle Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Witchery by the Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.