We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Scotch Whisky Experience

The Scotch Whisky Experience
354 Castlehill | The Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 2NE, Scotland (Castle / Royal Mile / High St)
+44 131 220 0441
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 156 Attractions in Edinburgh
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Factory Tours, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Shopping, Drinking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Take a barrel ride as you actually become part of the whisky making process. Experience for yourself our regional whiskies and whether you like fruity, sweet or smoky flavours our experts will help you select your perfect dram.Enter the vault containing the world's largest collection of Scotch Whiskies and enjoy a special tutored nosing and tasting. Explore Scotland's whisky history from the very beginnings through to the global success of today. *Important access information* We are delighted to announce that our lift is currently being replaced, with a brand new facility available in the new year. Please be aware that from now until a proposed mid-March finish date for this extensive project, our lift will be closed. This will mean that our tour is inaccessible to wheelchair users, as it takes place over two levels. Our restaurant, Amber will also not be accessible, as it is situated on the lower ground floor. Our specialist whisky shop is at street level so will be unaffected
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

The experience is very nice with a film showing the process of the whiskies before a lady explain the difference between five scotches and offered us one - we were doing the Silver tour. After that the visit to the largest collection of whiskies was also very cool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotchWhiskyExp, Manager at The Scotch Whisky Experience, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed the silver tour and visiting The World's Largest Collection of Scotch Whisky!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    791
    563
    128
    46
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, kent, England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Very informative, but will stick to beer !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a great visit here, we chose the silver tour which took about an hour, as Southern softie shandy drinkers !!! we did not known anything about the process, and learnt how whiskey is made, different types, we also had a sniffter of our favourite of four types (we also kept the glass). If you are a novice like us then well worth a visit, (longer tours/tastings are availble for whiskeys expects) very enjoyable.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotchWhiskyExp, Manager at The Scotch Whisky Experience, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing us. I'm glad you enjoyed the tour and learnt about the different Whisky producing regions in Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent guide, very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Our guide, Rory, was excellent. A doubt of knowledge and overall really good. We did the platinum tour which we'd recommend. Excellent place and should definitely be on your edinburgh 'must-see' list.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotchWhiskyExp, Manager at The Scotch Whisky Experience, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review of our Platinum tour! I will pass on your kind comments to Rory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fun, and I don't even like whisky!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Really fun, and interactive. We were a group of four, and had a lot of fun, the collection is worth the price of admission alone. We did the silver tour (50 minutes, 10.25 for students) and it was great! definitely interesting to learn all about the process, and definitely the thing to do in Scotland!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotchWhiskyExp, Manager at The Scotch Whisky Experience, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed the tour and found it to be value for money and that you found it fun! I hope we found a Whisky that you liked?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very interesting session”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I enjoyed this 50-min introduction to the scotch whisky. We tasted also one of the 4 different type produced in Scotland.

Well worth the visit to the biggest collection of scotch whisky in the world.

Silver tour is recommended - if you then really want the extra 4 glasses of whisky you can always upgrade at the end of the silver tour!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotchWhiskyExp, Manager at The Scotch Whisky Experience, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Many thanks for reviewing us and posting your photo! I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and tasting the different regional Scotch Whiskies. I hope you are enjoying your Whisky tasting glass back home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Scotch Whisky Experience also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Scotch Whisky Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scotch Whisky Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.