We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fond memories” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Murrayfield Ice Rink

Murrayfield Ice Rink
Riversdale Crescent, Edinburgh EH12 5XN, Scotland
131-337-6933
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #158 of 270 Activities in Edinburgh
Type: Sports Complexes, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Want family-friendly entertainment that won't break your budget? Try ice skating at this rink.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fond memories”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This place was a big part of my childhood, week in week out I would come here with my friends and clubs to the discos. Was so much fun, was great place to meet new friends and have lots of fun on the ice, I came recently and it is run down quite badly, looking a little tired and could do with being spruced up a bit, however staff are pleasant as ever really helpful, prices still good and still enjoyable on ice. Had great time and this place will always remind me of being a wee girl, love it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    8
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Excellent ice hockey catch it when you can!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The current coach at Edinburgh has his players playing an exciting style of ice hockey just now, catch it when you can! Admittedly the ice rink at Edinburgh has maybe seen better days, but I can't fault the action on the ice, also the staff are friendly and pleasant too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A bit run down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Whilst this is good for a plain old skate, the place is looking a bit run down. The changing area for your skates looks dirty and the skates and lockers themselves are a bit tatty. It does however allow you to skate round with nothing else, and is big enough to cater for a large amount of people including children. Toilets also need a lick of paint.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Family time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

good family afternoon out does what it says on the tin have fun and a laugh, staff very helpful needs a bit of money spent on toilets but still good

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnyrigg, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“OK, but dated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Been a while since I was last in, but the facility was in real need of some TLC and not particularly well suited to absolute beginners

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murrayfield Ice Rink also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Murrayfield Ice Rink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murrayfield Ice Rink, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.