We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel doesn't deserve 5* rating!!!!!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel doesn't deserve 5* rating!!!!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Just returned from weekend city break with my partner, arrived Friday night and left Sunday afternoon. Picked this hotel due to 5* rating and the wonderful looking One Spa. On arrival checked in without any hitches and received hearty welcome at reception. Parked in secure hotel car park which equates to £9 per night. On checking classic room No. 458 found initially it to be very well furnished and comfy. This changed however as only one bathrobe/slippers supplied and no shower gel, water pressure also an issue if you like a power shower. Washbasin tap loose and washbasin plug inoperable as fitting was loose under vanity unit. Reported these issues to reception on Friday night, however not dealt with and again reported them on Saturday morning. Bathrobe/slippers/shower gel issue sorted out but home now and still waiting for tap/washbasin plug repairs to be carried out!! Tried to open the mini bar (top of which was covered in dust) on Friday night, this is operated electronically, only to find there was IT issue, the system was unserviceable and under remit of contractor so wouldn't be available over weekend. Staff could override the system if you requested they attended your room, after requesting this and waiting for 20 mins, I decided I'd do without the general hassle/inconvenience again as believe me it was not the most romantic way to enjoy the weekend!! Ate in the Terrace/Grill Room (requires some freshening up) on Friday, excellent service from chef's and staff on duty. Monkfish was truly breathtaking and chef prepared us special stir fry to accompany it, special touch from talented /pleasant guy. My partner and I awoke early on Sunday to take in the Andy Murray ill fated tennis final, checked for my morning paper to find, well that's the point I didn't. Called regards this to be told there was issue with hotel supplier. Utilised the swimming pool on Saturday afternoon, nice enough clean/warm pool however if you want to utilise sauna/steam rooms you must pay to access the One Spa, this costs £30 per person per day. Hotel also offer upgrade to a club room, which is an extra £95 per day and allows you access to private club lounge with complimentary snacks/soft drinks. Utilised the One Spa on Sunday and it was very pleasant way to spend 3 hours. Also found it tedious having to walk passed 3 or 4 trolleys with bed linen/toiletries left in corridor up to 6pm each day. Overall it's a pity that such nice hotel was such a let down, particularly when it was booked for special occasion for my partner and I. I've been to 5* hotels all over the world but have never experienced such poor service, this genuinely took shine off our break. If you are looking for great Spa then I'd highly recommend it, if it's great hotel then I'd look elsewhere, this only equates to 3/4* hotel!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
Dear Guest

Firstly thank you for taking the time to email your feedback regarding your recent stay. We embrace feedback wholeheartedly and truly appreciate receiving it so we can continually strive to improve. I am disappointed to hear about the lack of amenities in your room and the issue you had with the facilities in the bathroom. There is no doubt that we did not live up to your expectations, or indeed to our own standards of operation, and you have certainly highlighted some shortcomings with our service levels. These are by no means reflective or our normal levels of service or training. Rest assured the necessary feedback has been given to highlight the implications of this isolated incident with the relevant Managers and their teams. We also had difficulties with our IT systems over the weekend and this had a knock on effect with the minibars and our TV system. This was due to an external issue that was outwith our control.

Our guests are extremely important to us and I personally value any comments which our guests make, as it enables us to review current procedures in place and make amendments where both appropriate and possible. I sincerely hope that we will have the chance to demonstrate this at some stage in the near future, and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    495
    146
    70
    33
See reviews for
199
826
79
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

In room 641 after being moved from 341 which had an adjoining room onto after asking via email 24 hours in advance not to get this.
The cleaner has left a trolley outside my room since 8am and its now 1.34pm and its not moved. every single noise he is making you can hear it every single door opening and closing you here it! I have the DO NOT Disturb card on the door, Now go away and place your trolley outside a room that doesnt have the sign on it!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Decided to slash out on weekend away for partners 40th. After finding/ booking in we had problem getting into room as key didn t work TWICE!! both times requiring trip down in lift to reception to wait in queue!!! Room really lovely and overlooked castle and very clean.Water pressure seemed to be a problem when getting showered and mood lights etc difficult to work out. Also bottle of drinking water in room was not free ( it came with label advising !!) bit much considering room price!!! First night had no sleep as "ladys" in adjacent room came in at 2am and put tv on and talked for hours (walls very thin as could here all of conversation ). Breakfast fine -but bit dissappointing as buffet style and some HOT items very unappetising as swimming in grease!! We tried the much hyped in literature italian in hotel (santini) - BIG BIG disappointment. Very overpriced - and small meals do not include veg /potatoes etc these are paid for separately. 2 starters/2 mains 1 bottle wine 1 water - £120 and left with partner still hungry!!! Within walking distance of hotel there are loads of nicer /better value restaurants.
Visited pool - again dissapointed to learn that guests only have free access to pool - not jacuzzi / gym etc!!!
Nice hotel but only if get at discounted price as not worth the full price!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback which I have shared with the team here. I am sorry that you did not receive our usual five star standard of service and have also passed your comments onto our Executive Chef who oversees all of our restaurants, including Santini.
Regarding One Spa, we offer guests complimentary use of the Fitness Studio, 19m Swimming Pool and the Cleopatra Baths. All other treatments are charged separately which include the Thermal Suite and Hydro Pool area (known as Escape at One) as these heat and hydro experiences are a treatment within themselves, hence the reason that there is a charge.
Thank you once again for taking the time to share your thoughts, we will act upon these immediately and ensure that other guests do not have a similar experience. I do hope your experience will not deter you from returning to the hotel as we would be delighted to have the chance to redeem ourselves in the near future.
Warm regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Excellent "One SPA" with rooftop pool to relax after a bitter winter day in Edinburgh! (for a small excess, but a very nice swimming pool is included in the room's price.)

Very friendly staff, willing to help and advice on good attraction in the city.

Would definitely recommend the very smooth week-end escape in Edinburgh. The Sheraton is the cherry on the top.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your comments and sharing your experience during your recent stay with us, and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to experience One Spa, where we offer guests complimentary use of the Fitness Studio, 19m Swimming Pool and the Cleopatra Baths. All other treatments are charged separately which include the Thermal Suite and Hydro Pool area (known as Escape at One) as these heat and hydro experiences are a treatment within themselves, hence the reason that there is a charge.
Thank you once again; I have passed on your comments to the team, and look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Edinburgh.
Warm regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Having stayed at Sheratons in the UK and overseas, i'm fairly used to the standards, and the Grand in Edinburgh is right at the top. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated. It's fair to say we stayed in a suite, but it was absolutely one of the nicest i've been in, with really lovely decor (just a hint of tartan), and the most comprehensive lighting controls I've ever seen. What stood out, though, was the general professionalism of the staff. My guess is there's a good management team in place, as staff had very polished skills, and a friendly, helpful attitude. The spa is also lovely (although it's very annoying for platinum guests to find they have to pay for anything other than the pool). Provided you arrive at the Lothian street entrance, and don't get lost in the concrete no-man's-land at ground floor level, there's nothing to fault.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. As one of our Starwood Platinum guests, I am delighted that you like our newly refurbished rooms and have shared your comments about our associates with them.
Regarding One Spa, we offer guests complimentary use of the Fitness Studio, 19m Swimming Pool and the Cleopatra Baths. All other treatments are charged separately which include the Thermal Suite and Hydro Pool area (known as Escape at One) as these heat and hydro experiences are a treatment within themselves, hence the reason that there is a charge. To get full benefit from Escape at One, one would spend from 1-3 hours in this area.
Thank you once again for sharing your experiences, and I look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Edinburgh.
Warm regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

A group of us stay at this hotel every year. we have done for 8 years. every year the service is better than the year before. this year was my 40th birthday. they treated me like a princess. upgraded me to a castle view suite. the staff were so accomodating. nothing was a bother. we had access to the onespa and club lounge. the onespa cannot be beaten by any other hotel. when staying elsewhere i always compare it to the Sheraton Edinburgh and to date i have never stayed anywhere else that comes close. location is fantastic too. just off Princes Street, straight across from the usher hall. the refurbished rooms bring the hotel completely up to date. so modern and all mod cons. really impressive. cleanliness is very high standard, absolutely spotless. we got our rooms at £200 per room which included the club lounge and onespa access. What a gr8 deal! oh, sleep quality? i always know i'll have a brilliant sleep at the sheraton and they never fail to deliver. Would i go back ? in a heartbeat. i could move in. lol. bring on 2012 for my return visit!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I am truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for being such a loyal guest.
I am glad that you took advantage of our Club Room package where this offers you a club room with full access to One Spa (use of the fitness suite, swimming pool, Cleopatra baths, thermal suite and indoor and outdoor hydropools) and our Club Lounge that offers complimentary continental breakfast, evening canapés and drinks and light refreshments and coffee throughout the day.
I will certainly pass these comments to the team here, as they will serve as encouragement and motivation to maintain such excellence.
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Warm regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Spent 2 nights here in this lovely hotel. Rooms have been newly refurbished and are very stylish. Good choice of restaurants on site and found the price and quality in the Terrace Restaurant to be excellent. Fantastic Spa, took advantage of the £30 deal for the thermal suite and spent a glorious 3 hours relaxing in the various rooms and hydrotherapy pool. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experiences during your recent stay here at the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa with the Trip Advisor community. I am delighted to read that you like our new rooms and enjoyed our Terrace Restaurant. I am also delighted that you took advantage of our discounted rate (from £70 to £30 for residents of the hotel) to use all the facilities at One Spa. We describe it to guests who have yet to experience Escape at One as a “hands off” treatment when you use the Thermal Suite and indoor and outdoor hydropools, as the benefits are that of a regular treatment.
Thank you once again for taking the time to post these comments which I have already shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Warm regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.