We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay 2 get 3rd night free
Ranked #13 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

It was a short 1 night stay. I arrived quite early in the morning, and Louis from Reception was very warm and welcoming, in fact he has been a great help throughout my stay.

The club castle view suite was ready for me by 1030am and thank you, Louis! I needed to see someone from events about an upcoming event in August and again he pointed me at the right direction and I spoke to Holly from events in the afternoon, she is superb and made some wonderful suggestions and also wrote to me the following day to follow up the next steps.

We finished the day with a very nice meal in the One Square restaurant for our group of 10, with the level of service we had, it was worth every penny we spent! Michal(I hope I spelt it right) is the best!

I travel around the globe and often stay with Starwood, this hotel in my view is one of the best, especially the people here.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for this amazing five star review of your recent stay with us. I am truly delighted that you enjoyed your time with us here in Edinburgh and thank you for the recommendation, it is greatly appreciated.
I will take great pleasure in sharing your very kind words with the team here, in particular Louis and Holly, and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Edinburgh.
Warm regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    427
    135
    66
    31
See reviews for
173
689
70
264
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Had a castle view room and was impressed with the staff, cleanliness, and location of the hotel. The castle, Grassmarket, Princess/Rose St. all within walking distance, and a fair amount of local pubs/restaraunts in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for this five star review of your recent stay with us here at the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa. I am truly delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for the recommendation, it is really appreciated.
Warm regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel is ok looking and the staff in the bar restaurant are very nice. My main complaint is the manager,the staff at the front desk and the concierge desk except the main concierge. We were given directions to a restaurant that first night which was no longer there by personel at front desk. We were also almost told to go to the wrong train station, but luckily the main concierge overhead the conversation and corrected the mistake.The first night we got there they upgraded us to a club room which was great. We have been upgraded to a club level numerous times and have never not been given access to the club room. But we found out that we were given a club room but not access to the club facility for breakfast etc. I talked to the manager and he would not budge and was somewhat arrogant about the whole thing. Although he did offer us points ,but wouldn't it have been nicer to given us access since we are such supportive starwood members.
I find that sheraton hotels staff are not given high level training on how to treat guests. I would think twice about going to another sheraton hotel and may even opp out to go to another chain if a higher level hotel is not available. Too bad.

Room Tip: Go if your a platinum level-and get a castle room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for review your stay with us, however I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and disappointed to read your comments. I would appreciate if you could contact me directly at rob.vaneyck@sheraton.com to discuss this further.
Many thanks and I look forward to hearing from you.
Warm regards
Rob Van Eyck
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Great hotel, beautiful modern rooms and bathrooms and great spa facilities. Highly recommended! We only stayed for a few days and the hotel location was great to explore the city and the Spa is a nice adition for a relaxing afternoon after a day walking around the city!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, ON Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Great location, clean rooms and very spacious. The shower had good water pressure and the room had free wifi access. We used the fitness centre 5 times during our stay and I was very impressed with the equipment and facility. Would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted at your review and will take great pleasure in sharing this with my colleagues. I am glad that you were able to use our Sheraton Fitness Centre whilst you were here.
Thank you once again for your recommendation, it is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We had three rooms at the Sheraton Grand - while we are SPG Platinum members, there is no doubt that Sheraton's can by highly variable in quality eg poor or very good. This Sheraton is very good.

The location is very good - very close to the castle and main streets, but not right in the middle of the noisy pub areas. The staff we're very good, they were both friendly and attentive.

The hotel is very clean and spacious, and has a good restaurant for on-site dining. The club lounge was good too, although could do with more hot food options for breakfast eg one day eggs, another would be bacon, but never more than one item.

We are quite fussy about our hotel choices, and we would not hesitate to return to this Sheraton.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted at your review and will take great pleasure in sharing this with my colleagues. I have also passed on your comments regarding the Club Lounge to our Executive Chef for consideration. Thank you once again for your recommendation, it is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We had reserved 4 rooms at the Sheraton Grand Hotel in Edinburgh. From the moment we arrived until the day we left, we were treated with the utmost courtesy in every sense of the word. All of our rooms were totally set up for wireless & internet, outlets for recharging the electronics we'd brought were capable of UK, US & European chargers, the concierge lounge staff was superb, the Concierges, the front desk, the housekeeping & the doormen were all wonderful. We'll always remember the hotel stay as being a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am truly delighted at your review and will take great pleasure in sharing this with the team here, especially the Concierge and Front Office Teams.
Thank you also for the recommendation, it is greatly appreciated.
Warm regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood EMEA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.