We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay 2 get 3rd night free
Ranked #13 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed with a group of mates for a weekend in Edinburgh. Great location in a lovely city. Rooms decent size, and great bathrooms, albeit the 'mood lighting' took a bit of getting used to. Friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your time here and pleased that you mentioned the service from my colleagues. I do hope that you will return to Edinburgh in the near future as we would be delighted to welcome you back.
Thank you once again.
Warm regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    428
    135
    66
    31
See reviews for
174
693
70
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

is like a Sheraton all over the world. The Hotel was fully booked and we had a classic room which is very small. Next day they changed our room to a bigger room with view to the
castle. As a platinum member we had access to the lounge and this place has the most
friendly and experience staff we ever had. Especially the young lady from Nepal.
As a Hotel guest you can use only the pool and you have to pay GBP 30 or 25 as a platinum
member for the spa, which we found a little too high.
The bathroom is not what we like, because there is no privacy if you use the toilet.

Room Tip: View to the castle. More quiet to the back, but without view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay, and I have shared your comments with the team here for review. Thank you also for commenting on the Club Lounge staff, namely Shiva, who is also pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back when next in Edinburgh.
Best regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

stayed here on a holiday touring round scotland. Rooms were what you would expect from the sheraton, no matter where in the world you are. Clean, functional and a bit of luxury. super location in the heart of the west end of edinburgh.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We took some German friends for afternoon tea. The Sheraton must have the most amazing pastry chef. Every single item from the little crostini with a long piece of cucumber rolled around a mouthful of Crowdie cheese, to the chocolate and lavender scone, to the tiny 'flowerpot' filled with chocolate mousse and with a chocolate 'flower' growing out of it, was obviously meticulously planned so that diners would have a delightful experience. We were gifted several different afternoon tea vouchers for a special anniversary and tried various well-known venues, but the afternoon tea at the Sheraton outshines them all. Don't have a big lunch and you certainly won't need any dinner!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your AfternoonTea experience here at our restaurant, One Square with us. I am truly delighted at your comments, as is our Chef and his team. I agree that the thought and presentation of the afternoon tea is superb, and of course extremely tasty. Thank you once again for these wonderful comments that I have already shared with the team here. We very much look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Edinburgh.
Best regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here for 7 nights for a business visit in Edinburgh.

Hotel and room interiors are very elegant. The view of the castle is great.

Thanks to the central location you have plenty bars / dinning options around.

The staff is very professional and committed to ensure you have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, Executive Assistant Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your wonderful five star review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us whilst in Edinburgh, and hope that you enjoyed the lovely sunshine that we have had recently. I am also pleased at the comments regarding my colleagues; I will certainly share these with them as they will serve as words of encouragement.
Thank you once again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us when you are next in Edinburgh.
Warm regards
Andre Brose
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just returned from a night away with my husband and literally couldn't fault a thing! It was perfect from check it. Everyone made us feel so welcome. We had a club room and it was beautiful. The room gave you club lounge access and it was fantastic. We got there early and just used the spa, which is a spa like no other. Stunning! We were fortunately there when it was 20 plus degrees so we spent the day in the outdoor hydro pool. We didn't use the restaurant as the club lounge had alchol and canopies from 5 - 7 so we were full from there. Gutted we could only stay for one night but can't wait to book our return trip! If your visiting Edinburgh, stay at the Sheraton!

Room Tip: Castle view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, Executive Assistant Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you sincerely for this superb five star review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Club Rooms, and that you enjoyed Escape at One and all the benefits of the Club Lounge. I have passed on your very kind words to my colleagues here who will be equally pleased.
Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you back at the Sheraton Grand very soon.
Best regards
Andre Brose
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

If you do anything at this hotel, do the spa. It is totally unique to any Sheraton we have ever stayed with. There are several steam rooms, saunas, showers, quiet rooms etc....11 stations that you progress through. The most amazing part was the roof top thermal hydro pool. While it looks nothing like the photos, it is still pretty great. There are tubes under the water that create a "seat" that little bubbles come up through - more relaxing than a traditional hot tub. And the water fountain neck massage does a great job of relieving stress as well.
I think overall, the room and food were a tad over priced. We ran into some glitches with reservations and details pertaining to Starwood Prefered status as well. It may just have been a lack of staff training. But it was just a little shy of the service level we were expecting.
The location is about as good as you are gonna get barring a youth hostel or b&b. Another oddity was the lighting system in the room. The chroma-therapy lights are nice, but the bathroom light switch is by the bedside table, outside of the bathroom? Couldn't get the tub to drain and the hair dryer is plugged into the desk drawer (other UK hotels did this too, but at least they had a sign so you didn't feel like an idiot calling down to ask where it was). So some things were just a little "off" at this property compared to other Starwoods, but you will be so busy exploring the glorious city of Edinburgh, you won't even care.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, Executive Assistant Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and loved One Spa, however I am very sorry to read that you were not completely satisfied with other aspects of your stay.
Thank you again for this important feedback; this will assist us to ensure that we continually strive to maintain high standards.
Best regards
Andre Brose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood EMEA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.