We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart decor, good price and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay 2 get 3rd night free
Ranked #17 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Smart decor, good price and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Arrived late but to very helpful reception staff who upgraded me to a castle view. Smartly decorated rooms with mood lightning. Stayed for work so not really in the room long enough to comment more. Gd location though.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    404
    131
    66
    30
See reviews for
163
659
67
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I attended an Awards event in late March. the food was nice and was served very efficiently,the room that the event was in was a little cold and featureless considering the great and good of the cities business community were there. Overall my experience of the hotel was good however prices for such things as drinks from the bar & parking were far higher than an equivalent hotel in Glasgow.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

(adj. devoid of any distinctive or stimulating characteristics; uninteresting; dull). This dictionary definition succinctly sums up the Sheraton Edinburgh. It does not try to offend; on the contrary it tries hard to please everyone, but in doing it hasn't gained a soul. The corporate wasteland that is the reception is populated by staff that are eager to be helpful and please - which is no bad thing. But it all feels part of the going through the motions - a box ticking exercise.This is how the foyer should look and this is how the staff should act. In the room, or at the bar or in the restaurant or in the elevator or walking along the corridors I felt as if I could have been almost anywhere in any hotel. The hotel comes with the now standard, for this class of hotel, spa facility - I can't comment on it as we were on a weekend break in Edinburgh where there is more than enough to do in a limited time. Breakfasts are in the restaurant and there is the choice of freshly cooked from the kitchen or self service. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts - there is plenty of variety on offer and of good quality in my view. Unfortunately, we cannot say we enjoyed dinner at the restaurant as much. The variety and quality on offer was not the equivalent of the breakfast, nor any better than is available in some of the bars and restaurants in the vicinity. The service was also lacking on one of the evenings where we had a 40 minute wait between starter and main course. We did try to find out why we had to wait, but the staff manage to disappear for much of the time we were waiting. Overall the hotel is a pleasant and convenient (although expensive) place to stay for a couple of days in Edinburgh. Will we return? Unlikely, if there's a good deal then maybe, but more than likely to one of the other chain hotels, because basically they all look the same, only the price is different.

Room Tip: Many rooms overlook the inner quadrangle. If you want a view facing outward check at reception on ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great hotel with excellent Spa and Food. Personnaly I don't think its as grand as it was prior to the refurb. Whilst its very very nice, hip and trendy, its lost all of its grandure which made it stand out above the rest. Im also not too keen on the new bathroom set up in the rooms, a glass door on the toilet that doesnt fit too well.......? Other hotels I have stayed in with this type of bathroom had the toilet separate to the bedroom/bathroom. The service is still first class as is the food, top quality. The Spa... well what can you say, excellent value for money and the Hydropool just tops the lot. Location wise, perfect for central Edinburgh - Princess Street only two minutes walk away. All in all an excellent hotel but I personally don't think its worth the extra money compared to what other 5* hotels in the area charge now its lost its grandure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a modern hotel, which delivers what would be expected of a 5-star property, but is slightly lacking in character. On check-in, the staff were efficient but not warm. The car was parked for us for a price. We had booked a castle view and a standard room but my parents' castle view was a bit underwhelming on a low floor. The decor was a little bland. The hotel's location was fine but there are other hotels with similar or better locations.
There were, however, two standout features. The heated pool and spa area were delightful with lots of facilities for before and after swimming. Standard hotel guests had access to the pool only.
The restaurant was unexpectedly excellent (despite slightly weird service on arrival -- I was left wondering if some staff were lacking in English language skills). We only ate there because the weather was so cold but really enjoyed the interesting take on Scottish ingredients. It was a highlight of an otherwise bland hotel experience.
There was nothing wrong with this place but it was expensive so my expectations were high. If I went to Edinburgh again, I would look for something in a more interesting and historical building.

Room Tip: The castle does not seem to be lit at night. If you pay for a castle view ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was a very welcoming and warm property, with excellent service from the staff. From the front desk at check-in, to the concierge, I felt the staff really went out of their way to help.

At check-in, the front desk personnel were kind enough to accommodate a number of requests from me. They were also well-stocked on umbrellas, which was an absolute necessity given the weather during my stay. The concierge was also excellent in recommending good local restaurants.

Finally, the room was well appointed and new. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was elegant. I would definitely stay here again the next time I visit Edinburgh!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton for two nights over new year. We often visit the hotel bar when we are in Edinburgh, so it was lovely to have the full experience.

Check-in was the only area that disappointed us, when we arrived the chap was abrupt and somewhat surly - not the level we have come to expect at the Sheraton and not a great first impression.

We upgraded our room to a castle view club room and it was fantastic. The rooms are on the top floor and the view over to the castle is great. At midnight on the 31st/1st we had an amazing view of the fireworks display. The room itself was very well appointed, modern and extremely comfortable. There was a nice sitting area at the window, desk and massive flat screen TV. The bathroom was something else, with mood lighting, separate bath and shower and lovely toiletries. Bathrobes and slippers were also provided.

The Club room is a little small and is at the back of the hotel, so you miss any sort of view. But it is comfortable and the staff are attentive. We didn't really go in during the day, but between 5-7 in the evening hors d'oeuvres and drinks are served. A great way to start your evening. Complimentary continental breakfast is also served, which was pleasant.

One Square bar and restaurant as always was lovely. It offers great food, at reasonable prices for a hotel of this standard and it overlooks the castle. The staff here are excellent, always friendly and attentive.

The hotel is located on Lothian Road and is only a few minutes stroll to the west end of Princes Street - so everything Edinburgh has to offer is immediately accessible. Waverley train station is about a 20 minute walk away (Haymarket is around 10 minutes). There are bars and restaurants and some small shops in the immediate vicinity.

Overall we had a great stay and would highly recommend staying here. It is expensive, but worth it.

Room Tip: It is worth upgrading to a castle view club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.