We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous room view to Edinburgh Castle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay 2 get 3rd night free
Ranked #13 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous room view to Edinburgh Castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Really good night stay with dinner which was excellent. My partner had steak ancient had mixed fish both were superb! Breakfast was delivered with a smile and the staff were great. In particular the chap (possibly manager) with the pink tie was very efficient and kept everyone on their toes.

Room Tip: Castle view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    429
    135
    66
    31
See reviews for
174
695
70
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for New Year. Booked the clubroom which gave free access to the spa on the check in day and the departure day. Also gives you use of the Club lounge which gives free canapes and drinks between approx 17.00 and 19.00, and a continental breakfast. The Clubrooms cost more, but this is off set by the cost you would have to pay if you booked into the spa separately, actually saving you money.

Check in/out was super quick and very professional. The room was lovely with lots of added extras, big bed funky lighting. The Canapes and drinks where quality, breakfast was extensive though you have to pay a nominal amount £3 if you want to have fully english. But the spa was fantastic, very relaxing with lots of different themes cubicles and an inside/out hot pool with lots of jets and massage water beds. I have been to a few spas and I really rate this one.
The hotel is fantastically placed with the benefit of parking on site, although you have to pay it is discounted and good value for the middle of Edinburgh.

All in all we would stay again, no doubt a real treat, some may think it is expensive but you get a lot for your money if you book the Clubroom.

Room Tip: Go Club and if you can afford it and do not come to Edinburgh often book the castle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We enjoyed a very nice buffet lunch with live music by Tom Finlay and Debbie Davies. Wonderful array of fish, parma ham, soup, etc followed by carvery beef or ham cooked to perfection with a good choice of vegetables. Wide selection of sweets followed by coffee and some interesting sweetmeats. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights and loved it. The location was amazing. Walking distance to most things you wanted to see and the staff was great in helping us plan our many golf and day trips. The breakfast was delicious.

The spa. You have to visit the spa. Totally worth it, Do not miss the spa! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stollhof, Austria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have been to Edinburgh many times but never stayed in this hotel mainly because of the cosy of accommodation. Last month I was in Edinburgh on business and decided to stay there. Well, it's worth paying GBP 150 (it's a cheapest rate without breakfast and internet) a night IF you can afford it. I was given a room with castle view even though I booked a room without it, I guess the hotel was half-empty, hence the better room was given. Location is very central, next to the castle, modern amenities, very professional staff, good bar/restaurant on-site. Is it worth the money? Well, if I go to Edinburgh on business next time, I will try staying in this hotel, if I go on holidays - then there are some other cheaper options available, which are better value for money form my point of view.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel for 2nights as we were going to the Scotland v Wales rugby international We expected it to be busy and pretty hectic.However the whole weekend was a relaxed and great experience.We were welcomed ate army at reception and everything was explained thoroughly.The hotel has been refurbished since our last visit and our King size castle view room was very comfortable and even had changing coloured lights in the bathroom! The bar staff went out of their way to accommodate us-6 friends who were staying in other hotels were meeting us and ended up spending the whole weekend in the Sheraton.We booked a table in the bar for the following day for 12 people and the table and food were perfect and served on time.After the match we again had great service in the bar and an excellent meal served at our table.There was a couple of weddings going on in the hotel as well.but the organisation of the staff was amazing.

Room Tip: A castle view room adds to an already brilliant experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you sincerely for taking the time to share your comments of your recent stay at the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa with others.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your weekend and enjoyed the Castle View bedrooms. We very much look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Edinburgh.
Best regards
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here during our first visit to Edinburgh. While we normally choose smaller inns or bed and breakfasts when we travel we chose the Sheraton Grand because of its central location and previous review. It's a 15 minutes walk to shopping, the Castle, and the Royal Mile...all musts when visiting Edinburgh. The hotel is modern and comfortable. The room mood lightening was very nice. The Spa experience was really appreciated after a long day of walking up and down Edinburgh's streets and closes on a wintry day. But the real stars were the friendly and helpful staff. Saruna with the concierge staff was especially helpful. We loved Brian's history lessons. Diego with the wait staff was informative and helpful. We highly recommend the Sheraton Grand when in this fantastic city.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood EMEA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.