We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Modern Hotel with Great SERVICE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay 2 get 3rd night free
Ranked #16 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Modern Hotel with Great SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We were traveling for a special occasion and the staff took excellent care of us. What a wonderful job on the renovation. The rooms are truly state of the art with all the comforts one could want presented in a cool but welcoming atmosphere. The bellman who greeted us upon arrival was so hospitable, taking charge and helping us with luggage and parking the car. The front desk agent was very professional but warm and engaging. We were amazed when we got to the room and the view of the castle was spectacular (we are Americans, anything historical is). We found all the sights to be a short walk from the hotel and really enjoyed exploring the city without the need for our car or public transportation. I would highly recommend this hotel for tourists. A quick but very important acknowledgement for Stuart at Concierge, he was so charming and helpful, making sure we had a great time and will local insight.

Room Tip: Everything is great here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you sincerely for your superb five star review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in our beautiful city. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future, as a warm welcome awaits you.
Best regards
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    396
    129
    66
    30
See reviews for
162
652
67
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Sheraton Grand Hotel was a wonderful experience. The hotel is located close to the old town, and certain rooms are able to see the Castle itself. Its an easy walk to the Castle, the shops on the Royal Mile, and the GrassMarket area. I wasn't very impressed with the choice of restaurants around the hotel, but, the breakfast in the hotel was decent (although expensive). This would also probably be a good hotel if traveling on business as it was easy to grab a cab, and there is a bank ATM right outside the entrance to the hotel. I would stay there next time in Scotland for sure.

Excellent customer service from the front staff. Upon checkin, I asked for free internet as a SPG gold customer. They were out of the passes, so, I was told to just purchase the internet online, and they would reverse the charges at the end of my stay. They reversed the charges with no questions asked at the end.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our first stay since the full refurbishment, last year it was aprt way through. Theyve done a very stylish job and the rooms still look like they were installed yesterday.

The staff are really friendly and the slight issues we had were swiftly resolved to our complete satisfaction. The spa is in need of sprucing up though, they say 10 years young but its in a dire need of refit in places, especially come of the sauna type rooms.

Food at breakfast as excellent although the selection has reduced compared to a few years ago and I dare say I'd go so far as saying not worth the £18 per head.

Location wise its excellent with everything within walking distance. This was also our first visit with a baby and we were well looked after with cribs offered, etc.... (even though we didn't need it)

I'd definitely say keep an eye on the club rooms - they are more expensive but with free spa access (usually around £30 per person per visit), free wifi, club lounge access and continental brekkie (full scottish upgrade is £3 per person) then it can often work out cheaper than a standard room with the extras paid for separately.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us again and I am delighted that overall you had another enjoyable experience, this time with the new addition to your family.
Thank you once again for the kind words and I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, as a very warm welcome awaits you.
Best regards
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here for one night and wished we had booked to stay longer. The service from start to finish was excellent (better than the service we received at Gleneagles the previous night). We had a club room and the club room was lovely - served soft drinks during the day and then wine etc in the evening. It was incredibly busy in the evening so make sure you arrive early to get a seat. We also decided to have a full breakfast in the main restaurant which was very good. There is an All Bar One next door to the hotel if you want a change of scenery. Shopping is excellent and only a 5 minute walk away from the main area. Castle Terrace restaurant is also just a 5 min walk away and was exceptional.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girvan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

First time back since refurbishment finished and very impressed. Feels much more modern but still classic. Like new restaurant and bar. Staff very attentive and friendly. Had champagne afternoon tea at 4.30 and didn't need any dinner, so excellent was it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

As the title states, this is different for everyone. My friend and I go to the Sheraton each year for relaxation and to recharge our batteries before winter sets in properly. As this is our 3rd year visiting this Hotel, what makes it special for us is the fab Spa, the location, handy for both shops and sightseeing, the modern state of the art room with the comfiest hotel beds ever, all topped off with excellent service. Worth paying the extra for a Club Room, this entitles you to have breakfast, coffees and teas throughout the day and canapes and wine and spirits between 5.30 and 7.30, this also gives you free access to the Spa which is in the region of £50 upwards per day, so pays for itself. Hotel is immaculate and loved the new revamped modern Reception and Lounge Area this year. Nothing is any trouble for the staff and it is encouraging to see the same faces each year. For those who have been before but not recently, Santinis Restaurant has disappeared since refurb and is now a Conference Facility, did miss Santinis this year. Things I would recommend the Sheraton Grand Edinburgh to change, the bath towels and robes are rather neat if you are a plus size, please remember Sheraton not everyone is a standard size. Even if they were to pin a note to the robes, "please note other sizes available on request". Also Spa Treatments although wonderful are a bit on the expensive side, if treatment prices were more realistic then people would have more.

Room Tip: Check the offers on the Sheraton Website before booking ie we got buy 2 night get 1 free. However we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

First visit to Sheraton the hotel has been nicely refurbished,stayed on the forth floor room was very nice the bathroom is a glass surround job,might not suit everybody but never the less a very nice room,breakfast was excellent,bar service a little slow,the bar staff seemed happy chatting to his colleges,never the less on both nights are bar bill was incorrect in our favour after we checked are bill at home!
We would revisit although the city seems to suffer with numerous beggars and a litter problem and fag ends everywhere,it is a problem the council needs to address before it puts visitors off coming to this beautiful city.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you sincerely for sharing your comments of your recent stay with us. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope we can welcome you back when you are next in Edinburgh.
Warm regards
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Starwood EMEA, Tingo, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.