We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, tired, tired ...........!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Howard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Howard to your Saves list
The Howard
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Great King Street, Edinburgh EH3 6QH, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free butler service!
Ranked #22 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tired, tired, tired ...........!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Visited this hotel in my home city of Edinburgh at Easter 2015. Stayed here just after it first opened and we both absolutely loved the overall quality and presentation which was in it's day second to none in Edinburgh.

Move on a few years and guess what, lack of investement, DIY repair work and just generally poor overall quality of successive upgrading. We changed rooms after one night having been sent to the basement ("one of our best rooms") where there was poor light, no privacy from pedestrians walking past at pavement level and strangely, a external door to the outside basement area which made us feel less than secure.

Breakfasts were first class, staff attentive but not over friendly but oh dear, the hotel was a bit of a let down. As an architect, I tend to look for smaller boutique hotels and having stayed at the Howard previously we both thought standards would have been maintained. Bathrooms were the worst part of the hotel with cracked wall and floor tiles, mouldy tile joints, rusty screws holding the shower valve in place and cheap plastic surrounds to mirrors .... to name only a few things that we were very unhappy about!!

Half the room cost/night and we'd accept what we were offered. Unfortunately the longer this hotel achieves a 5 star rating (completely inexplainable) the more disappointed visitors there will be.

Please close this hotel now and employ serious architects/designers and tradesmen who can restore this hotel to it's former glory please.

Room Tip: Don't accept any basement rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    86
    30
    18
    9
See reviews for
56
289
33
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We highly recommend this hotel as nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they made our break a special one.. The freestanding cast iron bath was spot on.. Only had 2 nights there and wish we had a week.. Complimentary tea and coffee waitered to your room and a first class brekky.. 10/10 for the Howard

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brives-sur-Charente, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We arrived for our trip to the scottish Highlands and Edinburgh, we were thrilled with the level of service, the warm welcome such as is expressed to returning regulars, nithing is too much trouble for the well trained staff. This is the best hotel small or large we have ever had the good fortune to stay in. Lovely rooms, large, luxurious and sumptiously appointed, i feel like. Me,ber of the Downton Abbey family. This is how travel must have been and still should be, we will be back, and will shout your name loudly I cannot sing the praises loud enough. Too all the staff "well Done , thankyou"

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms both were fabulous , the fourposter the Abercrombie is a suite .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bietigheim-Bissingen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nicely situated, about a 20 minute walk from the town centre, the Howard is an old fashioned Hotel in the positive sense. It ouses charm and reminds you of a byegone age, when guests were served and looked after rather than provided with everything they require and asked to get on with it. Let's be honest, when was the last time you were served breakfast, rather than going up to a buffet. Not that a buffet is bad, it is just the norm these days.
If you like the large Coporate 5 star hotels, you might not necessarily find the Howard to your liking. However, if you want first rate service in a small, friendly hotel, full of charachter and charm, then the Howard will not disappoint.
The next time we are in Edinburgh, we will definately be staying at the Howard.

Room Tip: In the rooms by the stairs, you do hear noise fron the kitchen and dining room when breakfast starts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at The Howard for four nights. It is far away from all major atractions, restaurants e etc. Wi Fi is poor. The windows in our room did not open. There are only two power outlets in room and far away from bed. On the first day we have breakfast (a la carte) wich includes croissant. the next day we were told that they were out of croissant and have only toast (toast in a five star hotel????). Staff is ok but not very helpfull. We definitely don't recomend!!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a wonderful weekend we had here the place is a beautiful hotel and very near the city centre. The food was top class and the butler services were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble and they were all very helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be truly looked after.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECBen, Public Relations Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear David,

Thank you for another excellent review of The Howard! I will share your feedback and compliments with the butler and kitchen teams. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really glad to have spent our anniversary here at the Howard for 3 nights. We were upgraded to a junior suite at check in and stayed in the Abercromby room which was on the top floor and very spacious. Free parking at the rear which is a big plus for the location. Staff are all very friendly and will make a point to inquire about your welfare when passing in the halls in case there may be anything they can assist you with. The location is great but be mindful that the street that the Howard sits on is off Dundas street which is quite a steep hill to walk up and down, so for anyone in the not-so-fit column or mobility issues this might be an issue, however there are buses that run the street so all is not lost.

Only things that let the hotel down are the lack of Sky T.V, which after a long and tiring day walking around Edinburgh would be nice to have and relax to before setting out for your evening activities. Instead its freeview ready T.V with the same channels programmed into the T.V more than once. If you care about T.V in your room or not, it just feels a hotel of this standard should be covered in such a simple area.

Breakfast was fine, however on the second day we ordered crepes, one with lemon and one with maple syrup which we both found inedible. The lemon crepes, instead of being drizzled in said topping, were smothered in it and the maple syrup was just brown glue, slowly setting hard on the plate. Luckily, this meant there was extra room to eat food from around town which is a good thing because the places to eat in Edinburgh are great. Didn't eat breakfast on the final day.

Sleep quality was not great partly because of the lack of air con. Now I am aware it is Scotland and usually still a bit chilly in April (every local quick to point out it was snowing just the week before) but we stayed during this week of great weather and the room got way above our comfort zone. (Temps got higher than places like Italy this past week. )The only way to stop this was closing the curtains to stop the sun blasting in while we were out which helped a little. After a day walking round in the sun to come back to a red hot room was not pleasant. The bed could do with being replaced. Lets just say its seen more bare bums than a policeman's torch.

In all, Hotel was very good, staff were excellent, services cant be faulted. As said above, breakfast got a bit bad but this could have been just a one off. Would stay again and recommend but if i were to visit Edinburgh again, i might just look at other hotels first instead of instantly returning to the Howard just because a hotel like this deserves Sky T.V and more importantly, some control of the temperature in the room. Everyone is different and the ability to make a room warmer or cooler is just vital to any hotel, especially to one with the standards such as the Howard. I am aware that the building itself is of age and fitting air con to these buildings can be tricky if at all possible but some effort has to be made.

Thanks to all the staff at the Howard, You were great.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECBen, Public Relations Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Rob,

Thank you for taking the time to review with visit to The Howard. Great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, we will look at upgrading the in room entertainment we offer, as part of our ongoing enhancements to guest services and facilities.

Thank you for your comments on the friendliness and efficiency of our butler team, I am pleased to hear we made you feel welcome and relaxed.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Howard on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Howard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howard

Address: 34 Great King Street, Edinburgh EH3 6QH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howard 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard is a small and discreet hotel which occupies three Georgian houses. A classically elegant hotel both outside and in, it has just 18 luxury rooms and suites. Located by Waverley train station, situated just off Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Howard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Edinburgh
The Howard Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Howard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.