We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Howard

Save Saved
You added The Howard to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Howard
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Great King Street, Edinburgh EH3 6QH, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Gourmet Getaway
Ranked #21 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Our favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Howard is very welcoming and the character of the place is evident as one settles in the lounge with tea or coffee as the formalities of checking in are sorted. Our room, the same as on previous visits, was at the front and although there is some traffic noise (cobbled street!) it was very comfortable and spacious. Dinner in the Atholl room was excellent with service to match. Plenty of choice at breakfast. We dined out on our second night but the hotel was happy to make arrangements and book taxis. The attitude of the staff was excellent throughout our stay, helpful, pleasant but not intrusive. We're already looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: A room at the back is quieter but the front rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
It's always wonderful to hear from our regular guests and my thanks to them for taking the time to sing the praises of The Howard - we look forward to seeing them again soon.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    305
    69
    23
    17
    8
See reviews for
46
243
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, booked last minute and got a great deal!
Room was great, staff couldn't be more helpful, breakfast was divine!
Fluffy robes and slippers, tea on coffee served by butler, lovely decor.....highly recommended!
Will definitely be back for our anniversary.

Thank you The Howard.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I booked the Hotel's Sunday Saver offer and felt it was excellent value for money. Our room was to the back and (as others have said the furniture is old but fitting), and very quite. There are no tea/coffee facitlities in rooms, but even better fresh tea/coffe is brought at request; and their 'Earl Grey' is divine. The evening meal was delicious, and having to have Gluten free they were very accomodating. I would say that the ratings for the hotel and it's general relaxed manner are a slight juxtaposition. The 5* rating & 'butler' gives the impression that it very posh (and this may put a few people off booking) and it is far from this. The 'butlers' did everyting from looking after you to waitering and they were very down to earth and chatty. Even the official photo is a little off putting as the butlers wore white shirts & waistcoats and not full tails. The hotel is a short walk into the heart of Edinburgh. We had a problem with our bill, but it was quickly dealt with. I would certianly look at booking again. We only had one night away but it felt like two or three we were so relaxed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We arrived at 1pm and our room wasn't ready but was offer refreshment until we could check in. The butler firstly tried to put us off the walk up to the town and said we would need taxis there and back but really that was not the case as its just a 10 min walk and after a 5 hr drive it was quiet pleasant however it is uphill but not all the way.
Our room the Heriot, a luxury double was light and airy, quiet a large room with a large bathroom : ) and you do get a seperate shower. The room overlooks Great King Street.
For a five star, the carpet was quiet dirty and the sink plug in the on suite was really mucky.
We ordered a taxi from the reception and it had arrived within 2 mins.
Overall a nice hotel but not really a 5 star but a 4.5 I would say with nice decor...however it does require a little TLC as the furniture is looking a little worn. The butler service is second to none and the staff make up for the lack of love spent on the old girl.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here in December 2012 in the Abercromby junior suite. We were met at the door by one of the butlers. Check in was straight forward and we were taken up to our room, which was huge and overlooking Great King street. The hotel is very nice and quite well appointed, large double bathroom that is marble with twin vaneties. However, the hotel is showing its age and is in need of several million spent on it just to refresh some if the furniture in the rooms and public spaces. Now I'm very aware it's an old building, I lived in Edinburgh for years, but I think there may be a few structural problems that need fixed as well. I'm fairly sure there was a bit of a camber in the flor of the room. And the could probably do with putting in some secondary glazing in to deaden the sound from the road. Having said that the butler service is amazing,very attentive and they make an effort so that it doesn't feel awkward. We had dinner in house, the Chef is very very good. The food was amazing. Breakfast was also pretty good, the guy can do a good egg.
Overall, it's a good hotel but you can't help notice that the old girl is getting a bit frayed around the edges.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I was looking to book a night in Edinburgh for my partner's birthday and spent a long time researching hotels. I was a little nervous booking The Howard as it is not as well known to me as some of the other hotels I was looking at. However, I was convinced by previous reviews which consistently focused on the hotel's outstanding customer service. Well, it was an excellent decision!

The room was lovely and very clean. It was a good size, had a comfortable bed, dressing table and a luxurious bathroom. However, the service really was the focus point. Rather than provide an iron for my partner to do his shirt, hotel staff insisted on doing it for him (we were running late for dinner and a butler appeared almost instantly to take care of ironing). Fresh tea and coffee is brought to your room whenever you request it, it's really tasty and they even prepare hot milk to serve with it!

Breakfast the next morning was fantastic, and arrived very prompt. Everything was delicious, generous, and very fresh. I had emailed prior to arrival and mentioned that it was my partner's birthday so they brought two glasses of champagne and a little cake with a candle alongside breakfast. After checking out, we were able to keep our bags at the hotel as we took a walk about Edinburgh. When we got home, I realised I had lost the pendant from my necklace. Staff at the hotel found it and posted it out without me having to ask them to do so!

We didn't have dinner in the hotel as we had made plans elsewhere but the dining room looked lovely, and we would like to eat there at some point in the future. The hotel is about 10 minutes from Princes Street and is on a quiet street. We had a very peaceful sleep and could hear no noise at all.

The Howard really is wonderful! There's a wee something special about it, and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone, particularly for special occasions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We are just back from the Howard. What a great stay, the hotel is really old world and has a real touch of luxury. It is about a 10 minute walk to Princes St but it is uphill for most of it. But location is good. The room we were in was the Heriot and it was lovely and spacious. Lovely big bathroom with seperate shower and bath. Staff were very helpful without being intrusive. We decided to eat in the hotel one evening and found the experience great. We had the restaurant to ourselves and the food was fantastic. Cant fault anything and we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Howard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howard

Address: 34 Great King Street, Edinburgh EH3 6QH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howard 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard is a small and discreet hotel which occupies three Georgian houses. A classically elegant hotel both outside and in, it has just 18 luxury rooms and suites. Located by Waverley train station, situated just off Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Expedia so you can book your The Howard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Edinburgh
The Howard Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Howard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.