We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury city break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Howard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Howard to your Saves list
The Howard
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Great King Street, Edinburgh EH3 6QH, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Gourmet Getaway
Ranked #12 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
london, england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Luxury city break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at the Howard mid February and had a truly lovely time- everything about the hotel was lovely. We were upgraded to the Marchmont suite and were two adults and our baby. The hotel were really accommodating, from providing a highchair for the duration of our stay, to Bringing tea and coffee whenever we asked for it. The room was lovely with an enormous jacuzzi bath and a shower in one bathroom, another smaller bathroom, and a huge bed with separate drawing room complete with working fireplace. Edinburgh is a beautiful city with lots to do and the hotel is perfectly located, just a short walk from the castle, train station and Princes Street. We were delighted with the hotel and would like to thank them for such a memorable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Another superb review and I am delighted that we at The Howard were able to contribute to this particular family having such a memorable time in our fabulous city!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    78
    24
    17
    8
See reviews for
53
261
32
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Even if you weren't thinking of visiting Edinburgh go there just to experience this hotel.

I booked this two night stay for my wife's birthday, through late rooms, and for the price of a generic chain hotel I discovered The Howard which already had impressive reviews.

On arrival we were made to feel extremely welcome and informed that we had received an upgrade to a junior suite ”Abercromby". This room was very impressive with a fantastic four poster bed a very nice sitting area and a large bathroom.

If you look hard enough you can find fault, like the road noise from the cobble street or the lack of towel rings next to the his and hers basins but it is the overall experience and service that sets this hotel apart from any other that I've stayed in.

From breakfast in bed to shirt ironing the butler service is outstanding but never intrusive. This really was a taste of luxury but never making you feel out of place.

If you really want to treat someone special then take them to The Howard they can't fail to be impressed.

Thank you to all the staff for making this a memorable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Not much I need add to another faulous review of The Howard , apart from to say many, many thanks for such kind words on the hotel and its unique team of Butlers.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Good morning Charles, I wanted to take the opportunity to thank you and your team at the Howard for excellent customer service.

As you know we have held 4 customer dinners at the Howard over the last month and the service, attention to detail and experience has been absolutely excellent. These dinners have been very important for us, as a growing business, to be able to spend quality time with our key customers, thanking them for their business and taking the opportunity to discuss our aspirations and future services that we will be able to offer. The environment to be able to have those conversation had to be linked to our aspirations for great customer service. The Howard provided a great atmosphere and service to celebrate where we are as a partnership with our customers and almost every one of our guests, indeed if not all, dropped us a personal thank you note after the dinner, which all made reference to how much they had enjoyed the meal and the setting at the Howard.

In this day in age it is great to be able to work with the Howard to be able to provide such an excellent customer experience.

I know and appreciate this is down to how you develop your people and run your business.

So please pass on our thanks and appreciation to :

Paul McMillan - Butler
Andrew Smith - Butler
The Wider Butler Team
The Chefs
And all the staff at the Howard.
Thanks again.
Bryan

Bryan Robertson
Chief Executive Officer

Lomond Lettings Edinburgh
1 North Charlotte Street
Edinburgh
EH2 4HR

Room Tip: The Charlotte Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Many, many thanks to Mr Robertson for taking the time to provide such postitive and detailed feedback on his recent events - he was kind enought to write in to the hotel and the team were thrilled to receive such encouragement! We look forward to being of service agin in the very near future...
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Howard Hotel is situated in the elegant part of Edinburgh. The New Town. What a surprise the interior decoration is. It really is like stepping back in time and best of all the place is always so quiet. I find it a very special place to enjoy lunch, afternoon tea or just to pop in for a glass of wine and read the paper. The staff are so friendly you just don't want to leave. I will be staying here ovenight next weekend and cannot wait to try out the bedroom and breakfast in bed.

Well done to all the staff at The Howard

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

What a lovely weekend stay. The service completely makes your stay in this fabulous hotel.
It is not large, rather small and unique. No flash bars and pools but intimate and quality. Quaint and comfortable drawing room which was a lovely reception after a hard day or night.
Our room was extremely spacious and contains all that you would need.
Although there is no tea and coffee making facilities in your room you can request them, but the butlers were so readily available at all times we felt that they weren't needed.
Breakfast was more than ample and supreme quality.
If you are looking for somewhere special and not at all ostentacious, this is the place for you.
Quality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Howard has a grace and elegance that harks back to a better time. The surroundings are wonderful and the staff are courteous and attentive without being intrusive.
I chose the Howard after reading previous reviews and I was not disappointed. I was treated to an excellent stay and will certainly be going back. Another reason I stayed here was the reputation of the restaurant and I can say that the reputation is well-earned and the meal I had would be difficult to beat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel, fantastic room and great extras available. One small gripe is that fire alarm went off at 7am on last morning and no one came to tell us it was safe to go back in room when alarm ended and no apology when we checked out for the alarm activation

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Howard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howard

Address: 34 Great King Street, Edinburgh EH3 6QH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howard 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard is a small and discreet hotel which occupies three Georgian houses. A classically elegant hotel both outside and in, it has just 18 luxury rooms and suites. Located by Waverley train station, situated just off Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Howard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Edinburgh
The Howard Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Howard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.