We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot fault it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian to your Saves list
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% off 3 night stays
Ranked #23 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cannot fault it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Very friendly hotel. Staff were superb. Nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were very comfortable and very well furnished. Called bar was lovely, bar man (sadly cannot remember his name but recently arrived from Poland) was a little cherub. Concierge as expected knew everything we needed to know. Maps on hand with with things pointed out. Breakfast was great, little slow with the the coffee delivery but all in all a great place to stay. Not cheap but very very comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear jostcjn,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. It appears that we have ticked many of the boxes for your luxury visit to Edinburgh. As I would expect, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and this is extremely pleasing for me to hear. Moreover, I do hope that you will have the opportunity to return to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    311
    119
    45
    15
See reviews for
228
568
31
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is an historic hotel in an historic location - newly refurbished and brought up to the standard you would expect in a Waldorf Astoria hotel. This means there are luxurious touches and flourished in the decor and the furnishing - all set within this old, listed building.

We parked ourselves in the car park around the back of the hotel. Reception was very efficient and welcoming. We were upgraded to a suite (Room 160) and were impressed with the spacious bedroom and separate sitting room. The only disappointment was the shower over the bath rather than a separate shower which you often get in suites at this level of hotel - but that is just a personal preference.

Dinner at the Brasserie was very good - with particularly impressive and efficient service from the delightful waiter - and delicious authentic Brasserie good which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Matthew L,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure for me to read such glowing comments on the hotel, and pleasing that we reach the expectations of a Waldorf Astoria hotel. Moreover, I shall certainly share your praise with our Galvin Brasserie De Luxe team, and hopefully you will choose to return to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We have just left after spending a fabulous weekend in Edinburgh. The staff at this hotel are a credit to the company, they were all very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful from the concierge through to the cleaners. A special ' thanks ' goes to Maite, Jose and Butch ( the A team) at breakfast, and Johannes at dinner, they made our stay even more enjoyable. The hotel itself was beautifully clean and comfortable. We will definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Book a castle view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Anji2512,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear of your fabulous weekend in Edinburgh, and I agree that my team at the hotel are a credit to the company. Rest assured the members of staff mentioned shall get the relevant recognition, and I am delighted to hear that you will return to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I decided to have a quick weekend break at the Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh was long overdue as I last visited this Hotel on the day George Best signed for Hibs FC one of Edinburgh's two senior SPL football clubs ..Then it was stuffy and overpriced and service was snobbish but poor ..so I was very interested in how the Hotel had changed over the almost 30 years since my last visit..
When we arrived the concierge politely took the keys of our car and our luggage away to our room and the car to where cars go at the Waldorf Astoria.The reception staff were disarming and very professional and on the ball with their duties and gently and impressively shepherded us to our newly upgraded Classic room on the top floor ..The room was freshly decorated in Laura Ashley type colours and finishings and was equipped with everything including an a well know brand of espresso coffee maker ..impressive ..the traditional bathroom had been upgraded and well set up for the purpose ..luxurious comes to mind ...
Time flew by as there is so much to do in Edinburgh whether it the Castle visit or a visit to Harvey Nicholls
Or tea at the a Dome it's full of enjoyable places to visit.
Dinner out at a favourite restaurant made me wait till breakfast to sample the catering hospitality and I was not disappointed ..it was excellent ..the new Tram System was being texted prior to hoping into public service and whilst it took a long time to organise it looks a fantastic project nearing completion.
A stay at the Waldorf Astoria should be on the visitors to do list as it is and excellent venue for traditional Scottish Hospitality in the Scottish Capital.
Excellent Traditional Scottish Hospitality .
HughS

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear HughS,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. You have certainly made the most of your recent visit, and many changes have occurred within those 30 years, including the successes of the senior Edinburgh football teams. I am glad that you have noticed the improvements since your last visit, and I shall share your positive observations with the team

Moreover, I hope that you do not leave it another 30 years until you return to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The hotel upgraded our room upon hearing it was our silver wedding anniversary. We had an excellent meal in the Pompadour Restaurant, where they also spoiled us on our special occasion. All the staff were excellent, but Hamish in the Pompadour, deserves a special mention, he made our stay even more memorable

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear anneg16,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read of your excellent experience in our Pompadour by Galvin Restaurant, and Hamish will be ecstatic that he made your stay even more memorable.

I do hope that you will have the opportunity to return to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We recently spent a week at the Caledonian. The hotel was re-branded as a Waldorf Astoria in 2012, but for me it is still very much in transition. Parts of the hotel look very smart and in particular we liked Peacock Alley, and the restored Pompadour Restaurant and the Grand Staircase.

Rooms have been refurbished but not always that successfully, and stylistically they are somewhat confused with mismatched furniture and outdated bathrooms. On the plus side are the Waldorf Signature beds and bedding, and the good quality bathrobes.

Also many of the rooms suffer from noise disturbance as they overlook the extremely busy Lothian Road as well as a glorious view of the castle. Our first suite was very spacious with high ceilings, but again a rather eclectic mix of furniture, and a somewhat basic bathroom, with a very narrow bath, and shower over. It was however quite clean, although there were a couple of long hairs. The windows were single glazed and thus unfortunately we did not sleep at all well on our first night.

The hotel did very kindly offer up us a smaller suite on the 5th floor, which was darker as it had smaller windows and lower ceilings but was a lot quieter from the point of view of the road noise. We were however disturbed by housekeeping staff and hotel guest ps banging doors. I do wish hotel's would institute a system of putting a soft cord on the door, or a door stop to prevent the door from banging.

The bedroom was spacious, but had a queen sized and not king sized bed, which was a shame. The bathroom was large but due to grubby floor tiles looked well a bit grubby! It was also very cool as it only had a very small radiator and no other heating. The lounge was small and cosy, and was furnished with good quality items.

The windows were in a very bad way and urgently need replacing, as they do not match the quality of the rest if the room. The windows were dressed with good quality roman blinds and nets - the latter wing totally unnecessary as they windows were so small and not overlooked.

The food at the hotel was generally of a very high standard although breakfast on the morning was very poor, mainly due to the chaotic nature of the service, but also the lack of choice as no menu was offered. We breakfasted in the suite the rest of the week and the food and service, especially when Duncan was serving, was a lot better.

Personally I did not like Galvin's Brasserie de Luxe (not sure where the 'luxe' was) and both times we dined we were seated at uncomfortable and cramped tables. The bar in the restaurant is nice, and staff were friendly and professional and the food of a generally good standard although a steak I had was quite gristly and not worth its £27 price tag! Prices were on the high side, and in terms of value for money, I did not always think this was the case. I had three langoustine which were priced at £22.00 and there were hardly enough meat to fill an egg cup.

Pompadour's on the other hand is a very attractive space, and the food (we had a seasonal menu, which consisted of three small courses, but at £30.00 for the three courses represented very good value for money. Service was quite good, although slightly lacked attention to detail with regards to refilling water and wine glasses, and the coffee was served very cool and was extremely bitter.

We noticed that one of the only two lifts in the hotel was out of order all week, which given how busy the hotel was, was not good, and needs fixing urgently.

With regards to the staff, we found a number of them to be very friendly and wishing to provide good service. Others lacked attention to detail, and in my opinion needed more training. On a couple of occasions I asked for some specific information and it was not provided. As the stay was for an anniversary the Guest Relations team had placed a lovely welcome in our room together with a greeting card, which was a really thoughtful touch.

Therefore, overall whilst we enjoyed aspects of our stay we felt that the hotel was not quite up to the standard I would associate with a Waldorf Astoria and feel that the hotel's owners still need to invest more money in the infrastructure of the hotel to ensure it is of a consistently high standard throughout. In particular I do feel the rooms that are facing to the busy roads need secondary double glazing so that guest can continue to enjoy the wonderful views whilst having a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side of the hotel overlooking Lothian Road are affected by noise but do have the best v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear HOTELCONNOISSEUR1966,


Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your four night stay with us at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh – The Caledonian. We are grateful that you took the time to share your observations not only via this forum, but personally with us during your stay as we constantly review our guests’ feedback and rectify any issues as they arise.

I apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay, in particular the noise disturbance on the first night, from your luxurious One Bedroom Suite that you were kindly upgraded to. Due to our prime city centre location, and being a listed building, it is at times possible to experience noise of a higher level, especially during busy periods such as the weekend or school holidays. Rooms facing our private courtyard and car park may be more comfortable for guests with a higher noise sensitivity. Once you reported this issue, different options were suggested, but as your preference was to maintain the complimentary upgrade to a Suite with a castle view, one on a higher level was made available for you. I was glad to learn that you found this quieter and more appropriate. Of course, all our Rooms and Suites are different and I am sorry that this particular Suite did not fulfil your personal preference for a King size bed.

I would like to thank you for your kind words about the staff in both our restaurants, as well as Duncan from our in-room dining service. We all made ourselves available daily to respond to your numerous emails and suggestions, including our General Manager’s office as well as our Director of Operations, Nitin. We were under the impression that we had managed to overcome your original disappointment with a number of gestures that were extended to you. We were further reassured by the lovely card that you left upon your departure, and that we have shared with all the staff in the hotel, where you thanked us for “making your stay so special”. I am sorry now to learn by your negative review that this may not have been entirely the case.

Nevertheless, we thank you for your feedback and suggestions which we are already working on.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Two 5-star reviews in one week - weird - maybe it's Edinburgh:
stayed 1 night for business
decent price (ca. 45% of price of equivalent place in London)
EXCELLENT shower
excellent service (lobby and breakfast room)
mediocre view (who cares?)
good bedding and pillow
interesting architecture
good location

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Kanaschwiiz,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Such wonderful comments are a joy to hear, and our team will be delighted by your positive feedback.

I have no doubt that we will see you back at the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dake MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walforf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.