We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Save Saved
You added Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% off 3 night stays
Ranked #22 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The hotel upgraded our room upon hearing it was our silver wedding anniversary. We had an excellent meal in the Pompadour Restaurant, where they also spoiled us on our special occasion. All the staff were excellent, but Hamish in the Pompadour, deserves a special mention, he made our stay even more memorable

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear anneg16,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read of your excellent experience in our Pompadour by Galvin Restaurant, and Hamish will be ecstatic that he made your stay even more memorable.

I do hope that you will have the opportunity to return to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    300
    111
    44
    13
See reviews for
217
545
29
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We recently spent a week at the Caledonian. The hotel was re-branded as a Waldorf Astoria in 2012, but for me it is still very much in transition. Parts of the hotel look very smart and in particular we liked Peacock Alley, and the restored Pompadour Restaurant and the Grand Staircase.

Rooms have been refurbished but not always that successfully, and stylistically they are somewhat confused with mismatched furniture and outdated bathrooms. On the plus side are the Waldorf Signature beds and bedding, and the good quality bathrobes.

Also many of the rooms suffer from noise disturbance as they overlook the extremely busy Lothian Road as well as a glorious view of the castle. Our first suite was very spacious with high ceilings, but again a rather eclectic mix of furniture, and a somewhat basic bathroom, with a very narrow bath, and shower over. It was however quite clean, although there were a couple of long hairs. The windows were single glazed and thus unfortunately we did not sleep at all well on our first night.

The hotel did very kindly offer up us a smaller suite on the 5th floor, which was darker as it had smaller windows and lower ceilings but was a lot quieter from the point of view of the road noise. We were however disturbed by housekeeping staff and hotel guest ps banging doors. I do wish hotel's would institute a system of putting a soft cord on the door, or a door stop to prevent the door from banging.

The bedroom was spacious, but had a queen sized and not king sized bed, which was a shame. The bathroom was large but due to grubby floor tiles looked well a bit grubby! It was also very cool as it only had a very small radiator and no other heating. The lounge was small and cosy, and was furnished with good quality items.

The windows were in a very bad way and urgently need replacing, as they do not match the quality of the rest if the room. The windows were dressed with good quality roman blinds and nets - the latter wing totally unnecessary as they windows were so small and not overlooked.

The food at the hotel was generally of a very high standard although breakfast on the morning was very poor, mainly due to the chaotic nature of the service, but also the lack of choice as no menu was offered. We breakfasted in the suite the rest of the week and the food and service, especially when Duncan was serving, was a lot better.

Personally I did not like Galvin's Brasserie de Luxe (not sure where the 'luxe' was) and both times we dined we were seated at uncomfortable and cramped tables. The bar in the restaurant is nice, and staff were friendly and professional and the food of a generally good standard although a steak I had was quite gristly and not worth its £27 price tag! Prices were on the high side, and in terms of value for money, I did not always think this was the case. I had three langoustine which were priced at £22.00 and there were hardly enough meat to fill an egg cup.

Pompadour's on the other hand is a very attractive space, and the food (we had a seasonal menu, which consisted of three small courses, but at £30.00 for the three courses represented very good value for money. Service was quite good, although slightly lacked attention to detail with regards to refilling water and wine glasses, and the coffee was served very cool and was extremely bitter.

We noticed that one of the only two lifts in the hotel was out of order all week, which given how busy the hotel was, was not good, and needs fixing urgently.

With regards to the staff, we found a number of them to be very friendly and wishing to provide good service. Others lacked attention to detail, and in my opinion needed more training. On a couple of occasions I asked for some specific information and it was not provided. As the stay was for an anniversary the Guest Relations team had placed a lovely welcome in our room together with a greeting card, which was a really thoughtful touch.

Therefore, overall whilst we enjoyed aspects of our stay we felt that the hotel was not quite up to the standard I would associate with a Waldorf Astoria and feel that the hotel's owners still need to invest more money in the infrastructure of the hotel to ensure it is of a consistently high standard throughout. In particular I do feel the rooms that are facing to the busy roads need secondary double glazing so that guest can continue to enjoy the wonderful views whilst having a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side of the hotel overlooking Lothian Road are affected by noise but do have the best v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear HOTELCONNOISSEUR1966,


Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your four night stay with us at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh – The Caledonian. We are grateful that you took the time to share your observations not only via this forum, but personally with us during your stay as we constantly review our guests’ feedback and rectify any issues as they arise.

I apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay, in particular the noise disturbance on the first night, from your luxurious One Bedroom Suite that you were kindly upgraded to. Due to our prime city centre location, and being a listed building, it is at times possible to experience noise of a higher level, especially during busy periods such as the weekend or school holidays. Rooms facing our private courtyard and car park may be more comfortable for guests with a higher noise sensitivity. Once you reported this issue, different options were suggested, but as your preference was to maintain the complimentary upgrade to a Suite with a castle view, one on a higher level was made available for you. I was glad to learn that you found this quieter and more appropriate. Of course, all our Rooms and Suites are different and I am sorry that this particular Suite did not fulfil your personal preference for a King size bed.

I would like to thank you for your kind words about the staff in both our restaurants, as well as Duncan from our in-room dining service. We all made ourselves available daily to respond to your numerous emails and suggestions, including our General Manager’s office as well as our Director of Operations, Nitin. We were under the impression that we had managed to overcome your original disappointment with a number of gestures that were extended to you. We were further reassured by the lovely card that you left upon your departure, and that we have shared with all the staff in the hotel, where you thanked us for “making your stay so special”. I am sorry now to learn by your negative review that this may not have been entirely the case.

Nevertheless, we thank you for your feedback and suggestions which we are already working on.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Two 5-star reviews in one week - weird - maybe it's Edinburgh:
stayed 1 night for business
decent price (ca. 45% of price of equivalent place in London)
EXCELLENT shower
excellent service (lobby and breakfast room)
mediocre view (who cares?)
good bedding and pillow
interesting architecture
good location

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Kanaschwiiz,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Such wonderful comments are a joy to hear, and our team will be delighted by your positive feedback.

I have no doubt that we will see you back at the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dake MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We started our Scotland trip with traditional Afternoon Tea in Peacock Alley. From the doorman who guided us the right way to the hostess and the waiter in Peacock Alley, the service was just fantastic, so friendly and professional.

We were seated in comfy lounge chairs and since I'm a vegetarian, were allowed "altercations" to the traditional Afternoon Tea menu. They have a good selection of teas and the pastries are to die for. Everything was set up so beautifully and tasted so good. I would recommend anyone on a visit to Edinburgh to stop by the Caledonian for Afternoon Tea. It should be a must! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear mallafri,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to Peacock Alley. I certainly agree that the afternoon tea experience is beautiful in this wonderful are within the ‘Caley’, and I thank you for your recommendation.
Moreover, I do hope that you will have the opportunity to return again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We've stayed at the Cally a few times but not since the refurb and take over by the Waldorf Astoria group.
Wow, what a brilliant makeover. Always loved this hotel but it just got even better. Loved our stylish and spacious room. Best bath robes I've ever encountered ! Service impeccable. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear LondonNomad,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear of your appreciation of the multi-million pound refurbishment, and your kind words mean a lot to the team and I.
I do hope that you will have the opportunity to return to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Despite our room having a constant lingering smell of roast chicken, and the pool being small and shared with non-guests, our 2 night stay was lovely! The friendly yet every so professional service provided by the staff won us over, and they were only too pleased to carry out our every request. Would love to stay again.

Room Tip: Room 181 appears to be very close to the kitchen, and without a view. But lovely nevertheless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Keith1981,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. It delights me to read your glowing feedback on the friendly and professional staff who looked after you throughout the duration of your stay. This is certainly the standards which we aim to set, and I will certainly pass on my gratitude to them.
Moreover, I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Good service, rooms were luxurious and clean. The service during breakfast was invaluable, we even got offered lunch boxes for our trip back to Madrid. I will definitely recomend it. The quality of the food was not as brilliant, the day we arrived we sat in the bar and ordered some sandwiches for lunch and it took the ages to get the order, aparently someone in the kitchen burned one of the sandwiches? anyway they didn't charge us with the food due to the delay so it was compensated

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear rossanav446,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that your overall experience with us was to your satisfaction, and I do hope that you had a pleasant journey back to Madrid.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walforf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.