We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“21st spa day for my daughter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian to your Saves list
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel) (West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #34 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“21st spa day for my daughter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The whole stay at The Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh was first class.Total luxury all the way.Made us feel really special.We were upgraded to a castle view room .The view was amazing.All the little things just made it amazing for us.P plate in the room decorated with chocolate saying happy birthday was lovely.Then there is the spa sooooo relaxing and top class.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Deborah R,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. It is a pleasure to read your comments regarding your ‘first class, luxury’ stay with us! Five star luxury service is certainly what we aim to provide to our guests as a Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am glad the small personalised touches helped to make your daughters celebration memorable and enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    413
    164
    71
    24
See reviews for
315
779
44
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, Scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We had an overnight stay here for my birthday which was booked using our Hilton points. We got an upgraded room overlooking the castle. The room was very nicely decorated, quite spacious and nicely appointed. The bathroom was large with big walk in shower, no bath. The toiletries were luxurious.
My only criticism is the lack of light. The 2 windows were very small which made the room quite dark but given it was winter this didn't bother us. We had a drink in the bar downstairs which had a piano player, the atmosphere was laid back. The valet parking was £20, which was just £5 more than the self parking, the valets were very nice and down to earth. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Seeling17,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am pleased you chose ‘The Caley’ to celebrate your special occasion! I am delighted you had an excellent stay with us and very much enjoyed your complimentary upgrade. As the hotel is a very large and historic building many of our rooms have different sized windows, however I am pleased this did not affect on your stay. Our private hotel car park is charged at £19.50 per night for hotel guests and our doorman offer a free valet service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Great stay at the Cally, it was my husbands first trip to Edinburgh and the location was perfect for accessing the sights.
Our room was spotless and very comfortable.
The staff were all charming and couldn't have been more helpful.
breakfast on the first day was Excellent and so filling that neither of us could manage lunch!!
Not so great on the second day as the condition of the food on the buffet was poorer, however we were fairly late down (9.45am) and I am sure that if I had mentioned it to the staff it would have been dealt with immediately.
Overall a Fab visit and a superb place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear sandy l,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. It delights me to read of your superb stay with us, and particularly pleased with your praise for the staff who looked after you throughout.
Moreover, I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed in the Caley at the end of December 2013. We were a family of four and had reserved two rooms and requested them to be connecting rooms. Natalie responded right away and put our request on record which was granted at check in. She was helpful and I appreciated her promptness. We were given an upgraded beautiful connecting room with views out to Edinburgh Castle and Princes Street.

The Room: big, airy and beautiful bathrobes (one of the best I have ever come across) and very nice slippers. The Amenities are Ferragamo (also quite unique in terms of hotel amenities). The bed was comfy and although one window looked out onto Princes St. the noise did not bother us one bit. It was nice to wake up and see the Castle and check out the weather every morning and it was just as atmospheric and almost eery to see the lone light on at the Castle each night perched up on the hill.

Food: We ate at the Galvin Brasserie, ordered room service, had breakfast buffet and had a light meal in the hotel lobby. Everything was delicious although wish the lobby menu would be a bit more extensive like the room service menu.Even though it was not on the lobby menu, I asked for something from the room service menu in the lobby and it was no problem. I especially liked the fruit smoothies on offer at breakfast every morning. Galvin has a very nice atmosphere and I enjoyed the food.

Service: top-notch. Check in was smooth and although we arrived early the room had been made ready and we were able to settle into our rooms and head out to explore Edinburgh. The hotel is walking distance from Waverley train station, the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle as well as Princes Street. The Concierge recommended us a very nice seafood restaurant for dinner one night. On the last day we had a late train (midnight) and had requested a late check out (1pm) which was granted, however one member of our party came down with the flu and was feverish as it poured buckets outside...there was no way to have been out and about from check out til the train and knowing full well the hotel was full for Hogmanay, we asked if we could either keep one of the rooms for another night or have another room so the person could rest...All done on the phone within 5 minutes. Exceptional service when you are far from home, you are sporting a fever and its pouring rain outside.

Edinburgh is a beautiful city rich with history and so much to see...our memories of this trip will definitely include the great service we received at the beautiful Caley.
Thanks to all staff at the Caley!

Room Tip: If you have questions, ask the hotel, they are very helpful. We requested connecting rooms and were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear CosSwitzerland,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to read such a lengthy and constructive piece of feedback following your time in Edinburgh, and even more pleasing is the wonderful comments from your arrival at the hotel to your departure. Natalie, and our Guest Relations department certainly pride themselves in the organisation of our guests stay from start to finish, and this has been the case here. I also appreciate the compliments on your dining experience in our Galvin Brasserie De Luxe, as well as the service received by our front office team, and delighted that you noticed the unique Salvatore Ferragamo amenities available in your bathroom!

All in all, a successful stay was enjoyed, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Victoria
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We were absolutely delighted by this magnificent old "railway hotel" with its combination of historic charm and tasteful decor. Comfort and class - service that simply flows as you would wish it to. A marvellous location in the heart of Edinburgh: it's not cheap but if your pockets can afford it, treat yourself to the Caledonian, enjoy a G&T in one of the wonderful bars or dine in the truly great bistro. Oh, and admire the gentlemen at the door in their cheeky tartan pants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Hawks2008,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Such a glowing review is a joy to hear to me and my team. ‘Comfort and class’, is exactly what we aim to produce in this luxurious, historic environment, and I am further pleased that you are in favour of the decor throughout the hotel.
I will certainly share your wonderful feedback with all of the staff at the ‘Caley’, including the gentlemen at the front door in their cheeky tartan pants!!!

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Lovely hotel in a fantastic location.
The room was beautifully furnished and had a lovely view of the castle.
Staff couldn't be more helpful.
Breakfast was plentiful, however I thought food at peacock alley was expensive.
I do have a few issues though- a daily charge of £15 for internet access is not appropriate in a 5 star hotel.
I had booked a spa package only to find out that the pool and jacuzzi were both out of commission, not ideal when selling spa deals.
Despite the few negatives I thought the hotel was lovely and I had a very relaxing break.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Excellent hotel. We chose a room over looking the castle on the first floor. The hotel was nicely decorated just before Christmas. The breakfast was first class with plenty of choice. All staff were helpful and cheery. Hotel located next to shops and a 10 minute walk to the old town I will go back but stay on the second floor.

Room Tip: Avoid some traffic and merriment noise and stay on upper floors. Or have a whiskey night cap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Colin A,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I appreciate your compliments on the breakfast choice throughout the duration of your stay, and delighted to hear that you had a wonderful view of the castle from your room. Please feel free to contact me directly at chris.logan@waldorfastoria.com, and I shall endeavour to provide a room on the 2nd floor on your return to the ‘Caley’.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walforf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.