We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location - dont need to upgrade!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian to your Saves list
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% off 3 night stays
Ranked #28 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
wakefield, west yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great location - dont need to upgrade!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

A wonderful hotel, great atmosphere and wonderful food and drinks. Ideal for sightseeing, shopping and then chilling!!! Standard rooms are the best value, no need to upgrade and the dinner package is not worth it!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Traveldude02,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am delighted to hear you very much enjoyed your stay with us, in particular the excellent atmosphere and the food and beverage outlets. I am sorry to hear you found the dinner package not worth it, although I am pleased you enjoyed your dinner in our Pompadour by Galvin restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to 'The Caley' in the near future .

Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    346
    135
    52
    17
See reviews for
256
631
38
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Nowhere better to stay, I was completely spoilt by my parents to be able to stay in such a grand and characteristic place, the location and staff make the place come alive with more of an old world feel then some new hip modern hotel, everything here was epic

Room Tip: The higher up the better I'd say, awesome views towards the castle and city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear DFG606,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. It is a pleasure to read your positive and kind feedback regarding your stay at ‘The Caley’. I am pleased the staff members delivered five star luxury service and you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with your parents!

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next visit to Edinburgh !

Kind Regards

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed in a deluxe room with a king bed. My only comment, and no one else seems to have made it, is that the grey decor (walls and curtains) with contrasting white (bed linen and lamp shades) is not the cheeriest colour scheme for a winter's night in Edinburgh. However, our room grew on us.

Like most other reviewers, we found the hotel's two restaurants excellent and Peacock Alley very pleasant for a drink. Its piped music was, for once, an agreeable accompaniment. The young Scottish bartender also deserves mention for being so knowledgeable about whisky.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Allan T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am delighted to hear your overall stay at ‘The Caley’ was excellent, in particular our two restaurants by Galvins and Peacock Alley. I will pass on your kind comments to the bartender for his fantastic knowledge on Whiskies. I certainly value your feedback on the decor in the bedrooms. Many of our bedrooms have a different decor design; however I am pleased your room grew on you throughout your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Nice hotel, quiet, comfortable room but as five star hotel go, sadly lacking some basic needs. Most frustrating was the lack of free Wifi in the rooms. This should be a must have in most hotels these days, never mind a 5 star hotel. Even the Premier Inn gives you this. Also lack of a pen in the room was just annoying. Everything else was fine. Good sleep in a nicely furnished room, if a little small.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Graeme_trips,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am pleased your overall stay was brilliant; however I am sorry to hear you feel certain aspects of the hotel are lacking five star service. All of our rooms are provided with pens, I will personally follow up with our housekeeping team regarding this matter. We offer complimentary WIFI in our public areas and outlets and are currently reviewing our charges for the bedrooms.

I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Just a quick line to say a massive thanks to the concierge who was working on Saturday night (16th November) He kindly made a quick phone call to Le Piazza and booked us a table when our previous booking let us down at the last minute - broken kitchen fans apparently!! This brilliant guy sent us on a 5 minute walk along the street to a fabulous restaurant. We had a superb meal and subsequently a fantastic night.
We looked for him when we came back to the hotel but he must've gone off shift.
So instead of a tip, you're getting a great review!! Not so good for the wallet but great for the ego!!
Thanks a lot, our evening could've turned out VERY differently!!

Room Tip: Don't book through a third party, book direct with the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Sandra L,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am delighted to hear you very much enjoyed your stay with us! It will be a pleasure for me, to share your kind and positive feedback with our Head Concierge Karl for his quick thinking and five star service ensuring you had an enjoyable and memorable evening!

We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel. After a horrible journey with Scotrail we were delighted with the friendly and efficient welcome we got. Our room was lovely and comfortable - no, we didn't complain about not having a view etc. because we hadn't booked one - I really don't know where some previous reviewers are coming from in this regard. The breakfast service was outstanding, thank you to all the staff who made sure we had everything we desired - especially Lukasz.
We also were lucky enough to eat in the Brasserie on Saturday night - outstanding! I could go on - cocktails in Peacock Alley whilst listening to live piano music, the mix of contemporary and historical decor.... but I think you should all go and experience the Caledonian for yourselves.
Also, although I hesitate to bring this up, we were booked on a deal and in no way were we treated as second class citizens as has been suggested by others.
Thank you to the Caledonian for what was a rare and memorable experience for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Holsinsun,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. It is a pleasure to read your kind comments with regards to your stay at ‘The Caley’. I am pleased after a difficult journey to Edinburgh; you were greeted with a warm welcome by our staff members! I will pass on your thanks to the entire team who provided five star luxury service to ensure your stay with us was memorable. I am glad you experienced our Brasserie De Luxe and our Peacock Alley for cocktails and thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast service especially from Lucasz.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Wife and I stayed for 2 nights in a junior king suite. Reading reports about road noise in castle view rooms, I asked for a room on a higher floor undisturbed by external noise - and I got just that! We had room 454 whith views to the west over roof tops, and utterly silent, but who needs castle views in November? We thought the a la carte breakfasts, cooked to order, were very good. I was going to drop a point on the rating because a misunderstanding on the package we were booked on looked like making us financially out of pocket, but this was resolved with grace and without hesitation and we left with an extremely positive "feelgood" mood from our experience at the Caledonian. Just wish five star hotels realised that charges for in room internet connections (£14 here) are as inappriopriate as charging for TV usage - or hot water!!

Room Tip: Romm 454 - a junior king suite room. Comfortable, spacious, very quiet indeed with views over roofto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear XPO100,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am delighted to hear you had an excellent and comfortable stay in room 454. I am pleased you were left feeling extremely positive after a misunderstanding with your room package. With regards to your comment on our WIFI charges, we offer complimentary WIFI in our public areas and outlets and are currently reviewing our charges for WIFI in our bedrooms.


We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walforf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.