We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited for 2 nights on the Orient Express” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian to your Saves list
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% off 3 night stays
Ranked #28 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Wigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Visited for 2 nights on the Orient Express”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited this marvellous hotel at the west end of Princess Street whilst on a Tattoo weekend on the Orient Express.
We thought the train journey was fantastic however when we arrived at the Waldorf Caledonian our weekend got better.
The hotel was beautiful and spotlessly clean. The food could not have been better. The management should be proud of their staff selection. From cleaners to restaurant staff. From reception to bell captains. All deserve our highest praise. They were pleasant, helpful and professional.
I spend many nights in hotels around the world and often feel embarrassed by UK hotels for foreign visitors. I will certainly be recommending the Caledonia to my foreign friends.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear BrianC,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and you were able to experience the fantastic military Tattoo. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our professional and helpful staff, we are all proud to be part of The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel and I am happy to hear it shows through our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to 'The Caley' in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    346
    135
    53
    17
See reviews for
258
632
38
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We thouroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Great communication from the hotel leading up to our stay. We enjoyed a very warm welcome from hotel staff upon arrival. Our room was very grand and comfortable. The location is perfect for visiting both Old Town and New Town. We will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear James K,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am delighted to hear you very much enjoyed your stay with us, in particular the convenient location and the warm welcome from the hotel staff on your arrival.

We look forward to welcoming you back to 'The Caley' on your next visit to Edinburgh!

Kind Regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at The Caledonian, Waldolf Astoria Hotel for a few days break. We paid extra for a room with a castle view and the view was excellent. The room overall was pleasant however the bathroom was a bit on the small size. Cleanliness etc was good Unfortunately, we had to wait around 20 minutes to be seated for breakfast on the Monday morning of our stay and when seated, we had a further wait to be served our coffee etc. The Tuesday and Wednesday morning breakfast was much better and we would make special mention of the excellent service from the Scottish chef at breakfast. The Pool, sauna etc was good, however very small and when a family is in at the same time it can be overcrowded!. Perhaps a couples only hour would be good. We ate at the Brassiere on.the Sunday evening ,sadly did not find this anything special and found better restaurants nearby!! Overall, good location but nothing exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Robert & Gillia... T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am glad your overall stay with us was enjoyable and you were able to appreciate the magnificent castle view from your room. I am sorry to hear you found your bathroom on the small size, due to the structure of the hotel the majority of the bathrooms are a large size, it is unfortunate that on this occasion the bathroom was smaller than you had liked.. I would like to apologise for your long wait at breakfast and for your coffee to be served, this is of course not the usual standards of service we are proud of, as A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I will certainly pass on your comments to our breakfast chef for his excellent personalised service.
I am surprised you mentioned you found the swimming pool on the small size, our award winning spa is a very popular hotel feature with our guests, and it is unusual to hear of the spa being overcrowded. Our Brasserie restaurant, one of the two Galvin restaurants in the hotel is again, very popular amongst hotels guests and outside guests, we would have been more than happy to accommodate your requests or adapt the menu to your liking to ensure your meal was a more memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to 'The Caley' again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our family of 8 adults had 4 rooms of varying price points---all were beautifully appointed. There a couple wonderful bar/seating areas for drinks and/or snacks and the entire hotel was First Class. It is in a prime location for visiting Edinburgh--right across from Princes Street Gardens. Our room had a magnificent view of the Castle.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Castle or the Princes St Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear duncansmom89,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am delighted to hear you and your family had a fantastic stay with us and you were able to enjoy the brilliant view of the castle from your room. You are correct; the hotel is centrally located to many of Edinburgh’s attractions and to Princes Street.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ again soon.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Spent 5 nights at the Caledonian and in general found the experience very pleasant. The Concierge staff were fabulous, even to the point of arranging for our hire car to collected from the hotel, rather than us having to fight the traffic to return it to the Avis office. We were fortunate enough to be in The Robert Louis Stevenson suite. This gave us brilliant views of the castle and fireworks each night following the Tattoo. The suite was spacious and the bed comfortable. However we needed to keep the windows open to get some air into the rooms as they were very stuffy and hot. This made the rooms very noisy with the frequency of buses and other traffic. Turning on the "air conditioning" sounded like we had a jet engine in our room and offered no cooling so the traffic noise was preferable. As a female I found the lighting, particularly in the bathroom, dreadful. Made applying makeup impossible. Other mirrors in the suite were no better.
For a hotel of this standard and for the price being charged I would have expected more.

Room Tip: Rooms with views of the castle would be preferable, however they may be noisy due to high volume of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Anne F,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Overall, an enjoyable experience was had, and I am very pleased to hear that you had a brilliant view of the castle and fireworks from the room in which you were allocated. On the other hand, I am sorry that you felt that the lighting was not up to standard, and this is certainly an issue that I will raise with my Maintenance Manager. With regards to the air conditioning unit, once again I would like to offer my apologies for the inconvenience caused due to the noise levels, this is by no means the level of standard we wish to offer as a Waldorf Astoria. Moreover, I would be extremely grateful if you would give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed for two nights and had three different rooms. The first room was on the first floor and we wanted to change it because the traffic was too loud. We got a new room higher up, still a queen deluxe with amazing castle view. Excellent, if the AC had been working... it was too late to fix it the first night so instead we got a f an. When we got back to the room the next day we noticed it still hadn't been fixed so we had to ask about it again. It was too late in the afternoon to fix it again, so we got yet another room! At least we got an upgrade and had a beautiful, huge king deluxe room with castle views, complimentary wine and chocolates, a walk in closet etc etc. Even if it was a bit stressful to change rooms all the time, the staff was super friendly and helpful and always tried to sort it out the very best way possible.

The free valet parking was wonderful, we just pulled up in front of the hotel, left the car and went inside to check in. The bags were delivered to our room.

Whenever we went outside there was a man ready to hand us an umbrella in case there would be rain. The concierge was more than happy to help out with activities, restaurants etc.

The building itself is beautiful and an icon in the city. Double (or even triple!) glazed windows would of course help reducing the traffic noise a lot, and the swimming pool wasn't the cosiest we've seen, but otherwise this place was just immaculate. For example, Salvatore Ferragamo products in the bathrooms and bath robes to fall in love with - so wonderful that we had to buy one! Would love to come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up in the building to reduce the traffic noise. The windows are not very sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Anna J,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Although disappointingly you had to move bedrooms on three occasions, I am delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy one of our king deluxe castle view rooms for the majority of your stay. I shall certainly pass on your praise to our wonderful Concierge department who assisted with the valet service , recommended numerous activities and restaurants, and even helped out with an umbrella should it have dared to rain in Edinburgh!
Moreover, I certainly agree that the Salvatore Ferragamo products in the bathrooms and bath robes are to die for, and the robes are a very popular purchase by many of our guests, including yourelf!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the ‘Caley’ in the future, and hopefully you do have the opportunity to come back.

Regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My daughter dragged me to the Fringe Festival and we were seeing some late performance so what better place to stay than here.
It was a pleasant place, service was attentive and clean. Our room was spacious and clean but to pay for the wifi was laughable but still we needed it.
Breakfast was good and enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Cosmicroy,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular your spacious room and amenities but also the entertaining Fringe Festival. I am sorry to hear you were not aware of the in- room WIFI charges however we offer complimentary WIFI in our public areas and outlets.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ on your next visit to Edinburgh!

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walforf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.