We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paying for the location and the view,some shabby but no chic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Save Saved
You added Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Receive £50 credit !
Ranked #22 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Ayr
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Paying for the location and the view,some shabby but no chic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed in deluxe twin room. £200 per night for two including breakfast but excluding parking which was £20 per day. Cannot book parking in advance- first cone first served although the hotel has an arrangement for overflow to use a nearby multi storey car park. Wi-fi access £15 per day. Excellent location on Princes Street and the view from our room, which was of the Castle, was magnificent. The room was a good size and well appointed with comfortable beds. There was no separate shower in the bathroom. Some of the furnishings were worn. The £4 bottle of water left out for our delectation (not) was covered in a layer of dust and this rather represented the overall experience in this hotel. Laid back rather than efficient business hotel. Breakfast was OK although not wonderful - self service buffet-but the room it was served in was shabby and truly dismal so I would not pay the £20 extra to breakfast there again . There was no porter at the door and the car park barriers and ticket machines were broken. I witnessed the distress this caused an elderly client with evident mobility problems as did the reception staff who did apologise for the state of affairs but it gave a very amateurish and odd impression. Perhaps management were enjoying a well earned break after the Christmas and New year break .

Room Tip: You are paying a premium for the view of the castle so make sure your room has this view and not one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Although you have found many positives with your experience, including the location and view from your room, I would like to apologise for the negatives mentioned.

With regards to the dust issue, I agree that this is completely unacceptable, and our Executive Housekeeper has been informed and shall act upon as a matter of urgency. I can assure you that this is certainly not the standard that we aim to provide for our guests and this will be treated extremely serious.

I am also disappointed to hear of the broken car park barrier ticket machine. Our Head Concierge, Karl Wendland has already actioned the issue, and a repair is imminent. However, I do apologise for the inconvenience already caused and I do hope that you choose to return to the 'Caley' again should you return to Edinburgh in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    602
    273
    91
    33
    10
See reviews for
191
470
25
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I booked this hotel when it was still at Hilton, it has now been “upgraded” to part of Hiltons Waldorf Astoria collection of hotels. I was a guest when it was a hilton about 1.5 years ago and everything was fine as a Hilton Diamond I got the normal perks, free Internet, Free Breakfast, upgrade and a welcome gift. Now as the hotel stuck a new name on the door, raised the prices, and took away most of the VIP Diamond perks. It is a fact that they are following the Hilton Corp rules and only providing Diamonds with lame discounts or a free movie.. No more free Breakfast. The upgrade was weak, they wanted more money for anything, I was offered a “discount” on breakfast, not worht it at all. I told the front desk I booked the non-refundable reservation when the hotel was still in the Hilton brand and was expecting the perks I was told too bad. The hotel is nice but not worth the price! Hilton corp thinks the Waldorf brand is soo much more but I do not see it. I will not be back to this hotel or any Waldorf until they give better perks to loyal Hilton guest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Unfortunately however, you have obviously departed feeling somewhat unsatisfied with your overall experience, and as a valued Hilton Honors Diamond member, I am deeply disappointed by your comments that you may not return. As mentioned, we have recently undergone a multi-million pound renovation which has seen an overhaul throughout the hotel, including the wonderfully decorated Peacock Alley. Most of our feedback has been extremely positive since our transition to a Waldorf Astoria, however I do understand that some of the changes in benefits may not be to your satisfaction, and I apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Moreover, should you wish to provide us with more feedback directly as we certainly do not want to lose you as a customer, I would appreciate if you would contact Robin Stewart, our Director of Business Development as it is only through your feedback that we can improve on the service that we provide for our guests. Robin can be contact on 0131 2228890, or alternatively via e-mail to robin.stewart@waldorfastoria.com.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Wonderful stay - Andrew in Peacocks very helpful. super room with view and great amenities both in took and in leisure club. first time ever cold towels in a chiller. It was quiet so not all facilities open.

They must have spent £10m on this although some of the. Grand rooms appear to have been lost - the bathrooms lacked a quality soap like Gilchrist or similar

Room Tip: book breakfast inclusive its not free even for Diamond members and ask for a castle view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the majority of your experience, including the service received by Andrew in our wonderful Peacock Alley area. With regards to the Salvatore Ferragamo bathroom amenities which are available in all of our bedrooms, I am sorry that these products are not to your taste. However please be aware that these are the preferred bathroom amenity for all Waldorf Astoria hotels, as well as the complimentary Nespresso coffee machines and digital alarm clocks with ipad/iphone docking stations.

Nevertheless, I certainly appreciate your feedback, and hopefully we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just back from a weekend break at the hotel had a great stay, all the staff we came in contact with we're very pleasant and welcoming had a lovely room with stunning views of the castle. Next time I'm in Edinburgh this again will be my hotel of choice.

Room Tip: Queen room with a view gives you views of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. By all account it appears that we have more than met your expectations. Moreover, I am delighted to hear that you intend to return to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Waldorf Astoria overhaul of the Caledonian Hotel gave this hotel a 5-star look and feel but it is a combination of the service, the Galvin restaurants and the beautiful spa and gym facilities that really blow you away and have us for one family, planning to return. We have a 1 year old daughter and she was made as welcome as anyone in the Guerlain Spa and in Brasserie de Luxe as an "equal" paying guest - actually she got treated better than us! This is our current barometer of good service and the Caledonian Waldorf sailed through with flying colours. Don't miss it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the taxi rank - especially if staying on a Saturday night. The Scots like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you were able to make full use of all of our facilities within the hotel, including our Guerlain SPA and Galvin Restaurants. By all accounts it certainly appears that all were to your satisfaction, especially for your 1 year old daughter!

Hopefully you will all be able to return to the 'Caley' again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I would definitely recommend the Caledonian Waldorf Astoria
the staff are fantastic and go out of their way to help you and make your stay a memorable
one.The food on Christmas day was exceptional and was also great every other day.
The rooms and decor is outstanding.

JUST STAY HERE YOU'D BE A FOOL NOT TO

Room Tip: all the rooms are fantastic 275 is really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read of your fantastic Christmas at the Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria, and I shall certainly pass on your remarks to all of the team members involved.

Furthermore, I do hope that you will choose to stay at the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel is in a good position in the West End of Edinburgh. Our room did not have a view of the castle and overlooked some offices. I could see into the office and not sure if they could see in the room. The is only a curtain, so if it is open people can see in.

The room was a king room but was very small. Two of us couldn't walk about at the same time. The tv was also strangely placed in the corner which you couldn't see from one side of the bed.

Heating in the room was from air conditioning which was very noisy - no chance of sleeping if it was switched on. The floors also creaked whenever anyone walked past outside.

The bathroom was quite large but only had heating from a towel rail so was cold. The bath seemed a poor quality for a top notch hotel. Towels and bedding were of a great quality.

Service from staff was friendly. Did have an issue with the Internet not working and was resolved by giving another voucher.

Breakfast was ok.

For the rates they were charging I would expect a lot more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Unfortunately however, you have obviously departed feeling somewhat unsatisfied with your overall experience, and I would like to apologise for the inconvenience which has been caused. With regards to the castle view rooms, these are allocated according to availability and in line with our business levels within the hotel. I can only apologise for the noise issue mentioned from the air-conditioning unit, and I will arrange for our maintenance team to investigate further as this is certainly not the standard that we aim to provide our guests.

Moreover, should you wish to provide us with more feedback directly, I would appreciate if you would contact Robin Stewart, our Director of Business Development as it is only through your feedback that we can improve on the service that we provide for our guests. Robin can be contact on 0131 2228890, or alternatively via e-mail to robin.stewart@waldorfastoria.com.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walforf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.