We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel! awesome view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian to your Saves list
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel) (West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #34 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel! awesome view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

my wife took me on a weekend break to the Caledonia for my Birthday
and wee booked into a Queen Deluxe room with a view of the Castle, the view we had was absolutely stunning ( especially at night when lit up).

the room was immaculate, and the food was beautifully cooked and presented at Breakfast
and Afternoon tea in Peacock alley is a must.
the staff at this hotel must rate as one of the friendliest ,and courteous we have encountered
over the last few years and are a credit to their employers.
we also used the Spa facilities and they were spotless!
we would certainly recommend a stay at this Beautiful hotel , you are treated like royalty

Room Tip: spend that little bit extra for a room with a casle view, you wont be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you chose to stay at the 'Caley' to celebrate your birthday, and by all accounts it appears that you had an enjoyable experience!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    412
    164
    71
    24
See reviews for
315
776
44
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dalgety Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Brilliant location, excellent service, beautiful room, comfortable bed and the BEST bathrobe I have ever used. Really, I know it's not something to get excited about but this was fantastic!
Bit of noise at throwing out time from the nightclub across the street and the Christmas decorations were VERY understated, but these were small things.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to see from your review that you have departed feeling satisfied overall, and I do hope that you will have the opportunity to return to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights to go Christmas shopping and have a little pre Christmas luxury. This is a great hotel. Room was lovely, bathroom very impressive and everything spotlessly clean. The service was really good - I asked for soya milk and green tea at breakfast and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The breakfast was also lovely. We went to the pool/ gym for a couple of hours as the weather was terrible and it was fantastic - really luxurious - the gym equipment is state of the art and the facilities immaculate. Situated at the end of princes st the location is perfect for shopping and restaurants. All in all we loved it and hope to return for the rugby in the new year.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable experience with us, and I shall pass on your thanks to all of our team members, including the breakfast team.

Moreover, I hope that you choose to stay at the 'Caley' again next year to do your Christmas shopping!

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Weekend stay lovely hotel well placed for shoping and restuarants.
Room was well presented although view from window was office block opposite.
Friendly helpfull staff caley bar nice place to relax after shopping.
Can see were money was spent on refurb all public areas stunning

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read of your positive experience, and that you were able to relax, as well as shop!

Moreover, I do hope that you will return to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

A good location and recently furbished ,but even the new carpets have not been able to get rid of the squeaky floorboards!
Bath tub with a standing shower already needs attention!
You get a welcome letter but no chocolates-just two bottles of water.
TV is not in front of your bed,but to one side-check this point before taking your room!
Nice cosy dressing gowns.
We tried to check in early,but this was not possible.
Did not have breakfast-felt this was overpriced at £20 per person!

Room Tip: higher floors more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Unfortunately however, it does appear that you have departed feeling not entirely satisfied with your overall experience. I would like to ensure you that we shall certainly take all of your points into consideration, and I appreciate your constructive feedback.

Moreover, I do hope that you choose to return to the 'Caley' in the future should you decide to visit Edinburgh again.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stay in a lot of hotels, in particular with the Hilton chain.

I can honestly say this is the best Hilton I've ever stayed in, the revamp to Waldorf class has changed it beyond belief. The rooms are first class (at least the ones I've stayed in, and I've tried a few) and clean/tidy, the pool and fitness area really great, and all the other locations (bar, breakfast etc...) maintain that 5* status.

Also, I'm surprised about the comments regarding staff, I found anyone I interacted with showing the utmost care and attention.

This is a really, really great hotel (very conveniently located too, if you want that).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. You have obviously enjoyed the time spent with us, and I am extremely pleased to read your kind remarks. Moreover, it will be a pleasure to share your feedback with our team members, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Beautiful hotel in a great location. The staff were all fantastic, particularly regarding our 2 young children, it was great to stay in a luxurious hotel that was also so family friendly.

We were within a family party of 18 and nobody had a bad word to say about the hotel, simply could not fault it.

Room Tip: Beautiful scenery from the 'castle view' rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I must say that it was a pleasure looking after you and your family, and I am delighted to hear that the entire party was satisfied with their experience.

Hopefully you will all be able to return to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walforf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.